We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DC weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“DC weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a great stay. We like to walk, so location was great for us. The surrounding neighborhood had great restaurants. Parking fee excessive for area, 119. for 2 nights. Staff was great. Room very nice :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Wendy G,
Thank you so much for reviewing your DC weekend visit with us. I’m happy it was a great stay, and thank you for detailing some of your highlights including our staff, rooms and ideal location for walking to several popular DC sites. Regarding parking, we offer come and go privileges, which means guests can use their car anytime with just one overnight parking rate, unlike some city garages; we do conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city.

Thank you again for your review, and for choosing to stay with Loews Madison! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    688
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
676
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel one night to see a show at the nearby 9:30 Club. The location was easy walking distance to attraction, nightlife and good restaurants. The room was clean and neat. In terms of comfort, the bed was just ok. Service overall was acceptable.

The big disappointment was the fees. Overnight parking with tax is $59. Want a room with a nicer view? $15. The hotel offers free wifi, but it you want "enhanced wifi" (what is that anyway?), that's there's another fee. When we were asked if we needed more than one room key, I was afraid to say yes in case there was yet another fee.

Overall, I expected more comfort, better service, and an more inclusive rate.

Full disclosure, as this was a last-minute, one-night trip, we pricelined the room. I don't know whether this would have impacted how we were treated as compared to full-paying guests.

While I likely wouldn't return to this hotel. I would be comfortable recommending it to other who were looking for a good hotel with an accessible location. I would just add a few caveats to be prepared to pay more than just the room rate and taxes.

Room Tip: We had a room on a low floor. The view was just fine and the noise level was low. If you wll be spen...
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a recycling bin in the room, did not notice anything else.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Charleen M,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. I am glad to know you enjoyed our convenient location in DC for access to attractions, nightlife and more. That said, I am disappointed we did not exceed your expectations in terms of our service and value. Please know that we do list our overnight parking rate on our website in an effort to give guests this information up front. Still, we are currently looking into ways we can make the information even more visible, on our own site and through various channels for booking our property. Regarding the other fees, the upgraded room offering is provided to our guests simply as an added option; we do offer complimentary WiFi in all our guests rooms which works well for the majority of people’s needs, however, as you mention we do offer an upgraded option for a small fee for guests who want to stream things or require more bandwidth. Please know that providing superior service to all of our guests is the top priority! I appreciate you offering a recommendation of our property, and I thank you again for your review –we take very seriously all guest input including where we are doing well and constructive feedback. I hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to host you at Loews Madison.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
202-862-1600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have lived in DC and now travel there often for work. Having stayed in hotels all over the city, I now only stay at the Madison. The staff is friendly and helpful, there's a decent gym in the hotel, a new restaurant with a good menu, and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear John V,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s always so nice to hear from loyal guests and get your feedback. I am delighted to know our friendly, professional staff and ideal location are among the top reasons you stay here! We work hard to provide consistently excellent service. I’m glad our complimentary fitness center is also a benefit, and I’m excited to let you know we are actively looking into upgrading this area. Finally, you mention our new restaurant – Rural Society is renowned Chef Jose Garces’ new Argentine steakhouse within the Loews Madison. It has a wonderful menu for meat, vegetable and pasta lovers alike and is serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Oh, and a wonderful happy hour with live music on our outdoor patio!

We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Loews Madison and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best!
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I loved their location. It's conveniently location and is very close to White House and other tourist attractions.

The rooms were very comfortable and were recently renovated.

I would certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naweed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Naweed L,
How wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed our central location in downtown Washington, DC! We are just a few blocks from the White House, as well as a few Metro lines and other popular sites and restaurants. I am so glad you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms and found everything to be very comfortable. Thank you so much for your comments, and for staying with Loews Madison. We very much look forward to welcoming you back whenever you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here as a "layover" on our family vacation. We checked in around 4:30. Jose greeted us warmly as we arrived and helped us with our bags. Our room was beautiful and we were treated to chocolate covered strawberries, white wine, cold milk and warm cookies when we arrived at the room! Tashna took great care of us and made sure our stay was special. Innocent, the concierge, gave us great recommendations for dinner as well! We had stayed at another luxury hotel the weekend before in DC and this experience was so much better! We would definitely stay here again!

Green Features: there was a recycling bin in the room! I never saw one before!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jacinda B,
Thank you very much for your review and great feedback. I’m delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciated the warm welcome from our team members. Our staff genuinely cares about our guests’ experiences and works hard to make them memorable, and I’m so happy you experienced this. Thank you for mentioning you would definitely stay with us again – it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Loews Madison!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is great and I always try to stay here if it is convenient for my business travel needs. The staff is always very pleasant which is nice because it is at times a real pain to get in and out of DC by train or aiplane. When the staff greets you with a smile and a hello sir it kick-starts you relaxation.

The only negative is that the lobby is always packed and you have to maneuver your way in and out and through people to get to the front desk, restaurants and elevators. But one you get to your room things are great.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear toughnlcentral,
We greatly appreciate your review of our property, as well as your loyalty to Loews Madison. I’m delighted to learn that our friendly, professional staff and their personalized service are part of the reason you choose to return here for your business travel to DC. Thank you very much for recognizing our commitment to service. Regarding the lobby, this is helpful feedback as we consider improvement projects in the year ahead. We are glad to be busy but never want our guests to be inconvenienced. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you again for being a guest of Loews Madison.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
370 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the Argentine steak restaurant inside. It is the primary food option. Very expensive, e. g. $42 for ribeye steak, $3 for ice in your drink. Not much selection for food. Service in the mornings is very slow. No salt/pepper or any condiments on the table. Pork tenderloin and sausages, two of the more affordable menu options are good. The side order of two types of mushrooms is the highlight. Everything is priced separately. For dinner, expect to spend $60-$75.
The room was spacious but no coffee maker in room which is always unacceptable for me. Bed was above average but not as good as one would expect for a room costing this much. Find another place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Ralph R,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback – we take very seriously all guest input including where we are doing well and constructive feedback. I am disappointed to hear you felt that you did not receive a good value. We work hard to give our guests top notch service and memorable experiences, from seeing and tasting the best of the city to having supremely comfortable rooms. I am sorry the restaurant was not a fit for you, and do apologize for the slow morning service. Rural Society is our new Argentine steakhouse by Iron Chef Jose Garces, and it is served in a tapas style, or small plates, in which diners can order several individual items to try a variety of the menu. We recently opened breakfast, and I can assure you the slow service challenge was addressed in the immediate days after opening. We are proud of the high marks on service and food quality which we have received from many of our guests and local patrons. Regarding coffee, we have a Barista Bar in our lobby serving several Starbucks Coffee and beverage options.

Thank you again for your comments- we do review all guest feedback regularly for opportunities to reinforce popular offerings and to improve both the property and guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing