We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
1 review
“Unpleasant Staycation”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the Love at Loews package for a special weekend as newlyweds. This should include flowers upon arrival, a room upgrade, and a dining credit. When we arrived, I reminded the front desk staff of our package, and she confirmed the dining credit. When we got to our room, it was tiny and there were no flowers in sight. When I called to confirm we were in the right room, I was told we were in the right place, and I felt very unwelcome with the tone of the staff. I had already brought up the issue twice, so we proceeded to make the best of it and go to our dinner reservation.

The next day, when I brought up the issue again when preparing to check out (when they asked me how my stay was), they confirmed in the system that we were put in the wrong room, and shared that someone else had even called down about receiving our flowers! We did receive an additional dining credit for this hassle, but arriving in a disappointing room and with a staff person twice being dismissive to me, it really ruined the romantic vibe. Add to that the unclean toilet and previous guests dirty socks and other garment (underwear, undershirt...I didn't touch it!) left in the dresser, and you could say we would've been better off staying home or at an even higher rated luxury hotel that might have provided better service the first time we asked (or at least the second time).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ali F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, and please know we highly value all of our guests’ input. I am extremely disappointed in reading about your visit. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the frustrating experiences during your stay. I can certainly understand your excitement in booking this package, and you are absolutely right to have expected more from us. We take great pride in providing memorable experiences for our guests, down to the smallest details, and I am sorry we did come through for your visit. In addition to our mistake with your flowers, the fact that you did not receive accommodating, friendly service from our staff, I am beyond dismayed. I have discussed this with our Director of Rooms, and we will be taking retraining opportunities with team members to ensure our standard of excellent service and attention to detail is experienced by all guests.

Regarding the room issues you mention, these are clearly unacceptable, and I personally addressed your concerns with our Director of Housekeeping. As a result we will increase our room inspections to prevent any re-occurrence of this situation. I can assure you comfort and cleanliness are top priorities. I would welcome a call from you to discuss your stay further. We would like to make amends with you and hope you would give us an opportunity in the future to host you, and to regain your confidence in Loews.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
202-862-1600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    700
    239
    93
    62
See reviews for
533
543
78
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding. The wedding was beautiful. The hotel is nice also, but to pay 50.00 to park at hotel where you have already paid to stay is ridiculous. They may need to rethink the parking. The hotel staff was ok, the tried to charge me twice for a room, but that was a simple mistake that was corrected right away!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware of the parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Trina C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We understand our overnight parking rate can seem high to some not used to city parking, but please know that we conduct regular rate checks with local hotels and are confident our rates are in line with other hotels in the city. I apologize you felt surprised by this. Although our overnight parking rate is listed on the hotel’s website, we are currently looking into ways we can make the information even more visible. Regarding the charge you mention, I am sorry for the inconvenience but am very glad it was corrected right away!

I hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Madison if your travels bring you to DC. I thank you again for the feedback as guests’ input is critical to our success and continually improving our property.

Sincerely,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Front desk was down to one working computer and person who was actually checking people in. Our room had to be switched 3 times. The 2nd room smelled like someone had cooked garlic in a wok. They couldn't get the smell out of the room! The rooms were very dark and furniture needed repair. The tv controls need to be fixed. We arrive at abt 5 pm and didn't actually get settled in the 3rd room until abt 10 pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Momoknibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Momoknibbs,
Thank you for providing this feedback about your Loews Madison stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences and frustration you endured with getting settled in to the hotel. I am so sorry that a technology issue caused you a wait at the front desk. Regarding the cooking smell, while our new restaurant was being opened, we experienced some challenges with the ventilation system and restaurant odors, which I can assure you we are addressing and monitoring closely to prevent discomfort for our guests. I’m disappointed our rooms were not up to your satisfaction, and please know we will certainly take your feedback into account- Loews is continuously looking to improve and update our properties, and guest input is very important to planning how we will invest in Loews Madison. Thank you again for sharing with us. I sincerely hope you will consider giving Loews Madison another opportunity to host you at a future date.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
202-862-1600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Centrally located - spotless - staff was exceptionally professional and friendly, and, took the time to learn my name - room service very good - concierge most helpful in suggesting sightseeing options

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Andrew E,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. I’m thrilled you found our staff exceptionally professional and polite, helpful and knowledgeable about the city. We do enjoy being in such a central location, and I’m excited this was a great feature for you. Thank you for highlighting our room service too!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with Loews Madison and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My home away from home. Great staff. Rural Society restaurant is excellent. Comfortable rooms and always quiet. I highly recommend this as the place to stay in DC. Romeo the bellman is the best. In town.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Dean E,
We very much appreciate your loyalty to Loews Madison , and your time to review our property. It’s exciting to hear such wonderful feedback. I am delighted we could be your home away from home, and that our comfortable, quiet rooms and top notch staff keep you coming back!

Thnnk you for highlighting Rural Society! It’s been a lot of fun hearing from guests since we opened the restaurant in July 2014, with Iron Chef Jose Garces. For others considering trying it, it is an Argentine steakhouse concept with wood-fired meats, fish and vegetables, as well as pastas and pizzas. We also have a fantastic lunch menus which includes sandwiches and salads, and breakfast too. The wine list and whiskey selection should not be missed.

Thank you again for your loyalty, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best!
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Tashna Seaton checked me into my room. I had the pleasure of having her check me in while I visited the Loews in Philly as well. The entire staff at the Loews Madison is very helpful an dkind. The rooms are a little dated- they still need to do a reno in my opinion as the room interiors have not changed since this hotel becamse a Loews. The restaurant downstairs is casual romantic with some of the best locally sourced food I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesnowtachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear minnesnowtachris,
Thank you very much for your time to review Loews Madison. It’s an absolute pleasure to hear your great feedback about one of our team members. Tashna, our Front Office Manager, is a gem, and we are fortunate to have her at Loews Madison. I’m glad you experienced friendly, polite service from all of our team members.

Our guest rooms were renovated in the past couple of years. We very much value and appreciate your feedback, as we do look for ways to continually improve the property. It’s great to hear how much you enjoy our new restaurant – Rural Society by renowned Iron Chef Jose Garces, a master of Latin cuisine. Our menus have great dishes for meat, veggie, pasta lovers and more- not to mention our selection of wines, hand-crafted cocktails, whiskeys and beer.

Thank you so much for your comments, and for staying with Loews Madison. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from a great 4-night stay. Room was clean; bathroom was spacious and modern. Great location for getting around DC! Service at front desk was excellent at check-in and check-out - employee went out of his way to accommodate the length of time it took to get me checked in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLoews, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear DcF,
We appreciate your time to review Loews Madison and comment on some of the reasons you had a great visit. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious and updated rooms and bathrooms, as well as our central location for exploring DC. We are just a few blocks from the White House and convenient to other sites, as well as being quite accessible to popular areas like Dupont Circle and the restaurants on 14th Street.

Thank you for recognizing excellent service from our team members! I’m delighted they went above and beyond, as this kind of service is our goal! Thank you for choosing to stay with Loews Madison! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Cheraz Ecker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
893 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing