We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graduation 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #61 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Graduation 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Staff is very friendly and the hotel is well located on Embassy Row between the White House and Georgetown. Peter at the front desk made it a point to remember my name and make sure our stay was enjoyable. The room was a little small but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your time spent at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and that your accommodations met your needs. We hope to continue to welcome you back again and again and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    599
    185
    70
    36
See reviews for
426
487
118
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton(Boston), MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel because of its terrific location just outside Dupont Circle and its history. But because it is an historical hotel, rooms are very small and decor was very nice but didn't feel luxurious. Bed extremely comfortable, plenty of fluffy towels, and best of all, couldn't hear people above, next to us, or in the hall. The solidness of the walls really contributed to a good night's sleep. Also loved that you can open the windows and aren't trapped in air conditioning on a beautiful spring day. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun&sea lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We certainly have had the privilege of welcoming many distinguished families and dignitaries to The Fairfax at Embassy Row since we opened our doors in 1927 and we’re very proud of our history. Your gracious compliments are deeply appreciated and we’re very happy to learn that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've been staying at the Fairfax at Embassy Row for several months now while traveling to DC for business. While the property itself is fantastic, what makes the stay even better is the exceptional service. The hotel staff have been wonderful in accommodating a large group of my colleagues that all travel with me, especially Kevin Siu and Front Desk Manager, Julie. Everyone is friendly and polite and will go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_C1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are thrilled to read such wonderful compliments for our staff as we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and are grateful to have such dedicated people working with us. It certainly was our pleasure to provide your group with the utmost in care and comfort and it makes us very happy to learn that your experience exceeded your expectations. We’re looking forward to greeting you again soon and we thank you for your gracious review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

With very little effort and cost it should be far above avrrage. People were polite but seemed to be confused on the management policy .
The bathrooms are very poor condition really unacceptable for a hotel like this, pity .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steokt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
While we’re very happy that our dedicated staff made your stay enjoyable, we do regret to learn that your room was not as it should have been when you arrived. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us immediately if there is ever a problem that we can assist with. It is unfortunate that we were unable to live up to your expectations and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

With its excellent and gracious service,The Fairfax is an old-school hotel in the best sense of the word (Julia was especially gracious and helpful.). The location at Dupont Circle was perfect for walking around and also for its proximity to the metro. A bonus was the Sunday morning Farmers Market at Dupont Circle (try the empanadas).
A restaurant we loved (and were able to stroll to) was Diplomate. Noisy by delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejgCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to explore our wonderful city and experience what makes Washington, DC such a great place to visit. Thank you for sharing these details about your visit and for your high praise of our staff. We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I tremendously enjoyed our recent stay at the The Fairfax at Embassy Row. This trip was our first extended time in the DC area (while also celebrating our wedding anniversary) and the accommodations at The Fairfax at Embassy Row hotel were major contributors to our enjoyment of our visit.

When planning our trip some months earlier, all questions about our reservation were answered in advance and very well with my request of a room with a view easily accommodated - and the room was very comfortable, spacious, and clean and we enjoyed the corner location views.
Also - upon our arrival and at several times during our stay, Quatina Rosser at the front desk was extremely helpful in answering questions and providing us with information for planning our day trips to various sites in Washington - Quatina's assistance with our arrangement for tickets for the Old Town Trolley tour on Saturday was much appreciated - and when we checked out on Sunday, Tsegie Kassahun was very helpful with wrapping things up and printing our boarding passes for our flight home - please pass along our thanks to both Quatina and Tsegie.
All of the staff at the door were welcoming and very helpful when we requested taxis.

In summary - we had a great time in Washington and The Fairfax at Embassy Row was a superb 'home away from home' - we are already thinking about planning another trip to Washington and will have The Fairfax high on our list.

Room Tip: When making reservations, suggest checking the room descriptions on the hotel's web site and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
How exciting that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row not only met your needs, but far exceeded your expectations! We’re absolutely thrilled that our dedicated staff made your experience second-to-none and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your amazing review and Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

very classy, old school hotel with manners that match. Great location of Dupont circle with restuarants and metro easy walking distance, yet in a quiet neigborhood surrounded by embassy's. The staff was eceptoanlly firendly and polite from the doorman gretters to Ms. cassidy at the front desk who was delightful. When was the last time a maanger came out of their office to thank you for staying at the hotel?? actally happened.
Rooms are clean, beautifully furnished, and spacious and reflect the quiet elegance of a much more expensive hotel. Highly recomend it for our next stay back in dc!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 May 2014
It was our pleasure to provide you with an exceptional experience and we truly appreciate the kind words you’ve shared regarding our staff. We love hearing that our staff was able to accommodate your needs and create such a pleasant experience for you. We will be sure to share your comments with those staff members specifically mentioned. Thank you for your gracious review and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon at The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing