We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time. The service was exceptional. The concierge, John Johnson took a lot of time yo plan out our itinerary for our first trip to DC. The doormen were extremely helpful with directions and even housekeeping took the time to make us feel welcome. The only issue was breakfast. Although it was free, it wasn't worth it.

California Dream Team

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 12 June 2014
How nice that your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row provided you with an amazing first time experience in Washington, DC! Our focus on customer service is definitely one of our top priorities and we’re thrilled that the attentive service you received fully impressed you. On your next visit to the area, we hope to be your choice of accommodations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    619
    194
    74
    39
See reviews for
439
509
120
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Fairfax for a family wedding. We encountered an issue with our room the first night, through no fault of the hotel's staff. I reported the issue and requested that we be moved to a different room for the balance of our stay. The front desk and managerial staff immediately assisted with my request, without hesitation or resistance. They proceeded to be more attentive to me and the process than I've ever experienced at other hotels (and I've stayed in many, of all levels of quality). In particular, Ertug Ersoy, the Front Office Manager, and Roy, who was the night desk manager the night that the issue occurred and who was there in the morning when I requested the room change, kept me informed throughout the process and made the room change as seemless as possible. Being a large family affair, other issues came up (again, nothing to do with the hotel -- sandals left in the room we left, etc.), each of which Ertug and his staff tended to with promptness, grace and courtesy. Thank you to Ertug, Roy and the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben2inns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We certainly do regret hearing that your stay was not impeccable, but are thrilled to know that our dedicated staff worked promptly to create the most comfortable and memorable stay for you and your family. Your kind acknowledgement of their efforts is sincerely appreciated and we will be sure to share your review with them. The pleasure would be all ours to have you return and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for a long weekend. Great location very close to Dupont Circle, Phillips Collection and many embassies. Beautiful hotel with an "old-world" feel to it, and very a comfortable room. The staff was friendly and very helpful with suggestions about placed to eat and places to visit. Wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
How nice that your recent stay with us gave you the chance to enjoy a long weekend full of relaxation and fun. It was a delight to welcome you to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we are grateful for your kind comments for our staff and property. We’d love to have the opportunity to welcome you back and we hope it’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had never stayed here before when we booked, but had seen online that it came highly recommended. From the minute we checked in, we were treated royally. Quatina, at the front desk, was exceptional. She was like our personal valet. Phenomenal. As a Platinum SPG member, I must say I am used to being treated well, and the Fairfax did not disappoint. - upgrade at check-in, advice on everything from sightseeing to dining, everything was great. Hotel was first-rate. With all amenities. Rooms, clean, well-appointed and service was impeccable. Only slight criticism is that sound- proofing between rooms was not perfect. We heard early morning babies and kids next door quite clearly, unfortunately. Otherwise, great. And buffet breakfast was great. Location is just off DuPont circle, in a safe and high class neighbourhood 1 block from subway, and lots of shops and restaurants in easy walking distances. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are truly grateful for the wonderful comments expressed within your review. At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we continuously strive to create an exceptional experience for our guests from check in to check out, and it seems we met that goal with your stay. We hope you will stay with us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 days during Georgetown's graduation ceremonies. Could have been hectic and impersonal. Instead, we had one of the most personal and personalized experiences we have had at a luxury hotel. From the front desk to the concierge - to the rooms management and staff - to catering and hotel dining, we were taken care of beautifully. The location is excellent - just two blocks from Dupont Circle and surrounded by wide boulevards and embassies. It is easy to get anywhere from here - by foot or by subway. And there are a plethora of restaurants and services nearly.. We stayed in a suite on the top floor with spectacular views of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors facing Massachusetts Avenue have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnifred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyment of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Ultimately, personalized service is at the top of our list of priorities and we’re thrilled that our staff’s dedication made your stay so exceptional. Your kind review has certainly made us smile and we look forward to having you and your family return to stay with us again and again. Congratulations to the graduate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went to D.C. for a weekend shopping trip, and was extremely happy to come across this hotel. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Very quiet and well maintained hotel. Easy walking to Dupont Circle shops and restaurants. Walking distance to shopping in Georgetown. Loved the Jockey Room, their onsite famous restaurant. I had breakfast and dinner here. Food and service were exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It’s a joy to read that while staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row you were able to enjoy the stylish comfort of our guestrooms, the friendly service from our staff and our delectable dining options. Dupont Circle and the surrounding area is a great place to shop and we’re thrilled you had that opportunity while here. Please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a really fantastic stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a fabulous location in Embassy Row with Embassies surrounding the property. It is a safe location and near the DuPont Metro! The hotel itself is beautiful and the attention to detail is outstanding! the room was spacious and clean, the bed was super comfortable, the small gym was very nice with water, towels and magazines. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant had wonderful hot and cold choices. Also, all hotel staff went out of their way to help with any requests we had! They were wonderful staff! This hotel stay made our trip to DC wonderful! I would not even look for another hotel on my next visit....

Room Tip: we had an upgraded room with a huge separate bathroom, king bed. very roomy and wonderful on the 6t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was our pleasure to have been able to provide you with the perfect place to enjoy your visit to Washington, DC. We’re delighted to hear that the comfort, service and location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row added such value to your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,201 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,031 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing