We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind, attentive service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our first-time stay at the Fairfax. We were celebrating an anniversary and were offered an upgrade at check-in. Tsegie was especially helpful in choosing a restaurant for dinner and even made the reservation for us @ Bistrot du Coin, where we had a simple but terrific meal, just what we were looking for. After dinner we walked around embassy row and admired the elegant architecture of the buildings. Such variety! The room was comfortable with a nice view and we had a great night's sleep in a quiet, dark room. Dark is important! Not all hotels, especially in the city, provide this. Upon checkout, we were given helpful tips on visiting museums and historic sights nearby. Fascinating facts too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

What a wonderful compliment to learn that you would consider staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row on a return visit to Washington, DC. It sounds like the personal service and attention that you received from our staff fully impressed you and we’re grateful that you took the time to acknowledge their efforts. Thank you for your gracious review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice and quiet hotel located on embassy row. Rooms are cozy and clean. I had an espresso at the bar while I waited for my room to be ready, it was okay, but way overpriced, a double expresso for $10 bucks, that's insane, I would have rather have just found a starbucks, but I was tired from traveling all day and really just wanted to relax and wait for my room to be ready. The front desk was very nice and the bell men were all pleasant too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re pleased to hear you were able to relax with the convenience of our in-house lounge, but regret that you felt the value did not match your expectations. We’d love to have you return to our hotel and stay very soon and we thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While this hotel is nicely appointed and is in a good part of town at Dupont circle, it suffers from the same problem that other so called luxury hotels are suffering with. Services that are part of the service and therefore part of the overall experience at lesser hotels, somehow attract additional charges at these places. Charging for Wifi in rooms at $12.50 per day is the thin edge of the wedge. We d\would have been lucky to spend 2 hours in our room per day that wasn't sleep time, and I am expected to pay for wifi for that time - crazy. Everywhere we have been in the USA has included at a minimum a continental breakfast in the room charge, not here, it's extra.
If you can move past the price gouging, the place is very nice and friendly. As I mentioned the location is excellent. The room and amenities have been first rate. The bed, though small for a double, is very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go to the lobby for the free wifi, a small inconvenience, but better than paying their ridiculous pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew_Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re happy to hear that our central location worked out so well for you and that the service levels you received fully impressed you. Your frustration with Internet charges is understandable, but we hope you can appreciate that our fees are comparable, if not lower than many other Washington, DC hotels that charge for the same service. We hope that we can look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a really wonderful spot for a family vacation. Great location, wonderful staff. Special thanks to the front Office Manager Mr. Ertug Ersoy, he made sure that our small family enjoy every bit of our stay at the hotel. Overall, it is just a perfect spot to explore the city. Walking distance to the White House and you've got the whole world embassies around you, what else an you ask? Suite 545 is quite and has a terrific view. Definitely we would like to go back any time.

Room Tip: Best view rooms that face Massachusetts avenue. Just be polite and ask, and leave everything else to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zizosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We are delighted to hear that your family’s stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was so enjoyable and we thank you for your great review! With so much to see and enjoy, our convenient location makes it easy for our guests to fully explore Washington, DC and the surrounding areas. Your thoughtful acknowledgement of our staff will let them know what an impact they have and we sincerely appreciate your compliments for them. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family and we can’t wait to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time. The service was exceptional. The concierge, John Johnson took a lot of time yo plan out our itinerary for our first trip to DC. The doormen were extremely helpful with directions and even housekeeping took the time to make us feel welcome. The only issue was breakfast. Although it was free, it wasn't worth it.

California Dream Team

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

How nice that your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row provided you with an amazing first time experience in Washington, DC! Our focus on customer service is definitely one of our top priorities and we’re thrilled that the attentive service you received fully impressed you. On your next visit to the area, we hope to be your choice of accommodations. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Fairfax for a family wedding. We encountered an issue with our room the first night, through no fault of the hotel's staff. I reported the issue and requested that we be moved to a different room for the balance of our stay. The front desk and managerial staff immediately assisted with my request, without hesitation or resistance. They proceeded to be more attentive to me and the process than I've ever experienced at other hotels (and I've stayed in many, of all levels of quality). In particular, Ertug Ersoy, the Front Office Manager, and Roy, who was the night desk manager the night that the issue occurred and who was there in the morning when I requested the room change, kept me informed throughout the process and made the room change as seemless as possible. Being a large family affair, other issues came up (again, nothing to do with the hotel -- sandals left in the room we left, etc.), each of which Ertug and his staff tended to with promptness, grace and courtesy. Thank you to Ertug, Roy and the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben2inns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We certainly do regret hearing that your stay was not impeccable, but are thrilled to know that our dedicated staff worked promptly to create the most comfortable and memorable stay for you and your family. Your kind acknowledgement of their efforts is sincerely appreciated and we will be sure to share your review with them. The pleasure would be all ours to have you return and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for a long weekend. Great location very close to Dupont Circle, Phillips Collection and many embassies. Beautiful hotel with an "old-world" feel to it, and very a comfortable room. The staff was friendly and very helpful with suggestions about placed to eat and places to visit. Wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

How nice that your recent stay with us gave you the chance to enjoy a long weekend full of relaxation and fun. It was a delight to welcome you to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we are grateful for your kind comments for our staff and property. We’d love to have the opportunity to welcome you back and we hope it’s soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
1,459 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £91 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing