We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked this hotel a few months back and we're not disappointed for the money we paid
Pros: beautiful bedroom, well appointed
News papers delivered to your door every morning
Good location but not great
Very clean hotel
Valet service is excellent
Cons: Some of the bell service personnel were not attentive and were often seen on their cell phones, some times they were missing in action from the entry way
Outside of hotel is dated and looked like an older brick building, and not outstanding in appearance
Conceirge were not very helpful
Dupont circle was often frequented with homeless people and not well kept.

Room Tip: We arrived early, but room was not ready, please enquire as after as it takes to get the room ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

While we are very happy to hear that many aspects of your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row were enjoyable, we do regret that you felt the surrounding area and exterior of our hotel were lacking. Built in 1927, our hotel is indeed an older building, and our hope is to capture the historical charm of a by-gone era both inside and outside of the building. Please note that Dupont Circle is a lovely area, and offers a myriad of exciting attractions for every visitor to Washington, DC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very average hotel. This was advertised by Starwood as a 4.5 star hotel. Not even close. Its a 3* on a good day. Generally clean, but very dated. Peeling wallpaper, 1 inch gaps at the bottom of the room door, and old windows that don't keep the sound out. Dead spiders in the window pane.

On a positive note the staff and management were great. After I called Starwood guest services about my unhappiness, they spoke with management, who gave me an immediate refund (I prepaid the week at SPG.com).

Guess I should have known that a suite for $144 is going to have issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtsmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We sincerely wish that your experience had been a better one and do apologize for the stay that you have described. It is clear that we missed several opportunities to create an enjoyable stay for you and we thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. Our housekeeping staff will be notified of your concerns in order to improve upon the care they take in each room. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A mile away from the business district and tucked among Embassies the hotel is a throwback of wood paneled elevators and lush beddings- excellent sleep quality in this quiet corner yet around the corner is Dupont circle withits restaurants and bars- Although some of the younger staff at the front desk could be testy- confidence is returned by some of the older more traditional hotel front desk officer. definitely a starwood luxury hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kundiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are so glad that you noticed our efforts to preserve the rich history and elegance of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and are delighted that your time spent at our hotel was so enjoyable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another visit and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a little worn, but nice. The staff was very good. The location is great for DuPont Circle, and not that far from the major DC attractions. I would stay there again. It is very close to many embassies, thus the name!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSUDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

What a wonderful compliment to learn that you would consider staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row on a return visit to Washington, DC. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the area and we appreciate that you mentioned our convenient location in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely hotel with helpful, friendly staff. I cannot say enough about the service - door held open, taxi's secured immediately. Well appointed, comfortable rooms. Wedding reception was held on-site in an elegant room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It is our highest priority to provide the utmost in care and consideration to our guests and we’re excited to learn that your stay fully impressed you. Thank you for your kind comments for both our dedicated staff and for The Fairfax at Embassy Row itself. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I want to start off by saying that The Fairfax is a lovely boutique hotel located in the heart of Dupont Circle/Embassy Row area. Also, the staff is professional and tried their best to deal with overwhelming situations. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a lovely corner suite on the top floor. However, the room smelled of heavy cigarette smoke. Staff tried to fix that issue and offered us complimentary breakfast for our entire stay. The next morning, there was a water main break in front of hotel. No water for approx. 9 hours that day. We went sight seeing for most of the day. Upon our return, the water was back on but this impacted the air conditioning in many rooms, including ours. We had no air for 2 days and 2 nights during the hottest days of the year with extreme humidity. The second night was the final straw. Woke up at 3am in a pool of sweat. Our last day/night was the only time we had air and no further issues. Unfortunately, all of this negatively impacted our vacation stay. Again, I give HIGH marks to the staff trying to deal with such unfortunate circumstances but I will have to rate an overall poor rating. I do thank Ahmed for comping one night and for returning our points for the second night. Would I stay at this property again? Probably not. While I appreciate the "old world" feel of the hotel, it needs an upgrade to rise to the level of "Luxury Collection".

Room Tip: If you are an SPG Gold/Platinum ask for a complimentary upgrade on the 8th Floor. Corner rooms are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind patronage to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and for your detailed and candid report. We are glad to see that we were able to accommodate you with a more acceptable room and apologize for our strict no-smoking policy not being honored. We can certainly understand your frustration when inconveniences out of our control impacted your stay and we do hope that you will reconsider your decision and stay with us in the future. We are pleased to hear that our staff worked tirelessly to provide our guests with as much comfort as possible during a trying situation and we thank you for acknowledging their efforts. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My partner and I enjoy a lovely weekend at the Fairfax at Embassy Row. Both of us live in the region but wanted to take a weekend and make it special. We arrived and were greeted by the welcoming hotel attendance. We made it to out hotel room and decided to take advantage of the full service concierge service. We ordered room service which was amazing and fast. The amenities were great too. highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C.W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

How wonderful that you had the opportunity to get away for the weekend and treat yourselves to a bit of extra attention and luxury at The Fairfax at Embassy Row! We appreciate hearing that our staff helped to create a memorable experience for both of you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
1,442 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Upper Northwest
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £71 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing