We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Nearby Hotels
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lombardy(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel Washington DC(Washington DC)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$498
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$449
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
923
686
227
94
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
686
227
94
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlejockey clubanderson housephillips collectionluxury hotelfront desk staffbeautiful hotelmetro stationlocation is greatper daybusiness centertwo blocksdc areawhite housevalet parkingnational malliprefer
Filter
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel ambience, wonderful DuPont location, attentive and hospitable staff in all departments, comfortable and nicely-appointed rooms, excellent buffet breakfast. My husband and I have stayed at The Fairfax numerous times and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on future visits to DC!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank lextravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hearing that you have returned to The Fairfax at Embassy Row time and time again makes us very happy. We love welcoming you back each time you visit! Please know how much we appreciate your kind words for our staff and property and we look forward to each and every time you make our hotel your home-away-from-home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Washington DC has many fine hotels. For value, accommodations, and service, the Fairfax at Embassy Row is a great place to stay. The staff is especially knowledgeable and friendly. The Fairfax is central to everything and not a bad walk from Georgetown. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Book at least a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind recommendation! We’re very pleased to hear that The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its dedicated staff provided you with an exceptional stay. We look forward to having you as a guest in the very near future and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was classic and in our absolute ideal location - steps from The Phillips Gallery, Dupont Circle shops, lovely neighborhoods, the Metro and restaurants. The room was on the 8th floor, beautifully appointed and quiet with a fine view of Massachusetts Ave (which I had requested based on other Trip Advisor reviews) and the Indonesian Embassy. Upon check-in we were asked our morning newspaper preference. We asked for the New York Times but it wasn't there in the a.m. When we checked with the front desk, they explained that they couldn't get the NYT but that if the Washington Post was okay, they would add that as our #2 choice. The Post was there the next morning. So when you cherk in have several choices.
The staff was very attentive. The doormen were always ready to open doors and get cabs if we needed them (which we didn't). The woman who cleaned our room was very kind and left us extra packets of regular coffee when we asked.

There weren't enough electrical outlets near the bed – all were filled with plugs from radio, lamps, phone, etc., so next time I'll bring a surge strip since I use my phone for a sound machine. The lobby was small so that when a lot of guests were there, it was really jammed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It certainly sounds like your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row created a memorable experience for you in Washington, DC and we appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our staff and property. Your pictures are wonderful and we thank you for sharing them! The Dupont Circle area provides our guests with a wide array of elegant dining and shopping options, along with world-class museums and attractions for ages. We’re so glad you had the chance to explore and have fun. On your next visit to the area, we hope to be your choice of accommodations and we thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely old world hotel. We had a lovely suite, and a very spacious bathroom. Bar area was lovely, very spectacular looking. Staff very friendly. Location was fabulous, plenty of restaurants to choose from. My only issue was the breakfast, waitress never to be seen when refills of coffee needed. Expensive for what we got. She even returned the bill as I hadn't included a tip! ( l didn't feel it was good enough service to include). We went out for breakfast other days which was cheaper and excellent service and value. Despite this, I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re so glad you enjoyed the grace and character of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and had a wonderful time experiencing the surrounding neighborhood and all it has to offer. We do regret to learn that your dining experience was not as expected and we offer our sincerest apologies and assurances that we will speak to our staff regarding the issues you mentioned. Thank you again for your review and please come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A little unorganized at check in, had to call front desk 3 times for bedding for the pull out couch after the hotel changed my room. After situated my room was clean and comfortable. Good location for restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikea168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We absolutely appreciate you taking the time to share not only the areas of your stay that were enjoyable, but also those that may need more of our attention. It’s only through our guest’s perspective that we can know if we are succeeding and we thank you for your review. We’d love to have you return to The Fairfax at Embassy Row very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews