We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick clean good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick clean good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel for the price. It is a short walk to union station (I came in from New York) and it is close to everything. I think it used to be a Sheraton Hotel because the logo is still on the back of the hotel room doors. The decor is dated with faux brass fixtures, but obviously they have either repaired the rooms regularly or the clientele have not abused the room. It was VERY dead when I was there. Seemed like I was the only person staying there, which is good for me, probably bad for them. Or it could have been my perspective after coming in from New York where there are people crawling all over you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JPTR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    545
    181
    63
    68
See reviews for
340
326
86
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location, only a short walk from Union station so was really good for us as we came on the train with our suitcases and the Capitol Building is just down the road along with the National Mall. The room was Clean and Tidy and they honored our request for a room as high as possible, we just missed out on the view of the capitol from our room but you could get a good view of it just down the corridor by the elevator so we weren't worried. Staff were helpful and we could leave our bags in storage once we had checked out, until later in the day when we were able to pick them up to go to our next destination. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1506 was up high away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

i would recommend this hotel to anyone. The check in was a breeze and our room was clean. The location is perfect. Within walking distance from the train station. Everything was within walking distance. Definitely 5 stars

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had an overnight stay in this hotel on a business trip. Surpassed my expectations in all regards, especially the restaurant. I'm a picky foodie and don't expect much when I travel, but this was exceptionally delicious, both dinner and breakfast. Had the squash soup and salmon salad for dinner, tender lox and bagel for breakfast- waiter made a point of perfectly toasting my bagel. Hotel makes a nice impression when you enter. Room was clean, modern. comfy bed, nice lighting, big TV but carpet starting to show age. No biggie. This is a very nice place at great price although I was little annoyed the wi fi wasnt free. . I will definitely be back. Very convenient to Reagan National airport and super location too. Staff was superb.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Weekend Getaway Package is the best value I have found for a family conscious trip to DC. From it's central location downtown near the Capitol and museums, to the inclusive valet parking and dinner package, we could not have asked for a more enjoyable, yet affordable stay. The staff were friendly and attentive to any need, question, or concern. The décor was inviting and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the free WiFi was just another bonus. A special thanks to Anthony at the front desk for his valuable advice on local cuisine. There is such a wide variety to choose from and Piccolos was truly some of the best Italian in town! Also a big thank you for easy directions in getting around town, from Target to Georgetown, navigation wise, it made the trip much easier. Would highly recommend and hope to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: For off peak travel, this location and value can not be beat! For a beautiful view of the Capitol b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyW1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was in Washington DC last weekend and my friend and I stayed at the Washington Court Hotel. We had found the deal on Groupon and had never stayed in that hotel before. We were so happy when we got there. The location is perfect; you can see the Capitol building from the hotel. It's downtown and it's close enough to everything. The receptionist and the valets greeted us so nicely. Checking in was easy. Our room was nicely decorated and most importantly, very clean. The beds were comfortable and we had a quiet sleep. I can't think of one thing that I didn't like about my stay at the Washington Court. I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
272 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Washington DC is an expensive city. Imagine our surprise when our daughters booked us a room as a Xmas gift and we found this hotel to be both convenient to the museums, Union Station and Capital Hill, and the hotel itself was wonderful. Rooms were spacious, well equipped (WiFi at an additional cost), and there was a hotel restaurant and bar as well. The staff was great as we checked in early without a problem, and the doorman and parking valet were more than helpful. The only problem I see with this hotel is the cost of overnight parking, which is $45. You could, of course, opt for street parking but I am told that street parking costs $32 a night. Other than this, a delightful hotel worth visiting, and even more so if you arrive using mass transit to Union Station as it is a short 2 block walk to the hotel. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing