We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel - FANTASTIC Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel - FANTASTIC Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

Great location! A couple of blocks from the Union Station subway, so getting anywhere around town is simple. I recommend getting a day or week pass for the subway - easy on - easy off. Simple to navigate, but you can get a little turned around coming out of the stations. Union Station also has a variety of restaurants at different price points and styles, so you have many options nearby. The capitol is about a ten minute walk from the hotel. Chinatown is about a 15 minutes walk, although you can get there on the subway from Union Station.
The hotel itself was okay. Nice, definitely not a luxury hotel, but not a pay-by-the-hour type of place, either. It was reasonably clean, but we had some pretty icky mildew / mold in some of the lower crevices of the shower and tub area. The room was nice, but tired-looking. Yummy scents on the soaps and shampoos. We were an interior room, overlooking the atrium - no view at all. It was quiet enough, except for an occaisional rude slam in the hall. Front desk were nice, but didn't necessarily inspire confidence in their knowledge of the immediate area and its amenities. Morning doorman was great - always had a smile and cheerful greeting. Some renovation work was being done, but nothing that got in the way or was annoying.
I'd pass on the restaurant. We came in during the breafsat / lunch changeover, and the service was lacking. 5 minutes for a cup of coffee, pancakes came quickly, but the one (1) egg I ordered came 10 minutes after the pancakes and were still runny, so they were sent back. It took another 10 minutes for the replacement eggs, and they weren't much of an improvement. We barely got a grunt from the waitstaff. The food was okay, but not worth the prices they were asking. I think we could have done better elsewhere - maybe in one of the museum cafes.
Overall, we got a great deal through Priceline on the hotel plus flight, making the room about 125 a night - much less than the 200 I was seeing for the room alone. Had I paid more than what I did, I would have felt like I paid too much. As it was, the room was clean (enough), the location couldn't have been better if I tried, and the price matched my expectations.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Mold/Mildew
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank palmyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    546
    182
    63
    68
See reviews for
341
326
86
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a convention and I was pleasantly surprised. My room was extremely spacious and comfortable and clean....Very well lit bathroom (important for us women). I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — Avearage room service menu
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msjeannettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West jordan, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

This place was great. Both my son and I loved it. The location is close to Union Station which is great since a lot of the tour busses are picked up there. The front desk was very professional. The hotel lobby was very clean and attractive. The room was very nice and clean as well. The only downside was the bathroom. There was some mold on the walls and paint peeling. Other than that we were very happy with everything we had. Especially thank you to the bartender at the bar that filled our empty 2 liter bottles full of cold water. A tip, don't wander the streets around the area at night.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The fire station next door.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UtahCivilandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Ok, it isn't The Perfection. The neighborhood isn't wonderful (although near the Amtrak station and the Capitol) and probably it needs a slight renovation, but I can say that overall it's great.
The size of the room was normal, but space was well used. The view was nothing special, but some rooms have better views (ie Capitol). The style of the whole hotel is nice mix of modern (not contemporary) and old: the wonderful lobby is the example of modern (50s ?), while the rooms are the example of old with a very nice "country" touch (particularly the bathrooms).
The personnel is very kind, particularly the guy at the front desk (not remember the name) and all the doormen.
Really a great stay and DC is a wonderful city.

  • Liked — Staff and hotel style
  • Disliked — Lights
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ItalianLibertarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

I stayed here for a little less than a week, and I had a very nice stay although the service was a little bit hit or miss - some people were truly excellent and went out of their way to help, and a couple were singularly unhelpful.

Most of the staff at the hotel are very nice, with a couple of exceptions. The bartender at the bar in the lobby was really friendly and helpful - when my group wanted daiquiris and they were out of strawberries, he actually hunted some down for us! However, when we called to inquire about the wireless, someone at the front desk gave us misleading information about billing and who would be charged if two people were sharing a room. The gift shop lady was also pretty dour and unhelpful.

In terms of accommodations and location, however, I loved the hotel! The rooms were absolutely immaculate, the bed was super comfortable, and there was ample space to get work done. Someone had complaints about provisions in the bathroom, but when I was there it was very well appointed - all toiletries, of course, a hair dryer, even a TV. I also liked the little gift shop - dour manager aside, it had everything - nail polish remover, aspirin, knick knacks, etc.

The location is unbelievable - literally across the street from Georgetown Law and Starbucks, a block from an excellent pub called the Dubliner, and three blocks from Union Station and the Postal Museum. Can't beat it!

Overall, I really did have a lovely stay - there's always a couple of bad apples on any staff, and everyone at the Washington Court really goes out of their way to insure a nice stay.

  • Liked — Location, luxe room
  • Disliked — Inconsistent service, expensive internet
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lntrullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

A very nice hotel for the most part... large bathrooms, very comfortable rooms, prompt and polite service. Outstanding location... barely a five minute walk from Union Station and very close to the Capitol and Mall. Small shop in the lobby has great hours (7am-11pm) and was a lifesaver when sunscreen & advil ran out. When we arrived, our window was leaking from the rain. Maintenance responded almost immediately but we were moved to a different, equally nice room just to avoid any further problems. My only complaint was with the business services... internet is $10/day and limited to your room (will have to pay again in lobby). But this can easily be dodged with other internet providers.

  • Liked — Location and polite staff
  • Disliked — Stingy with the Internet!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

We got to the hotel and thought "Wow!" about the lobby. Our room was decent. This experience reminds you not to judge a book by it's cover. We go to take a shower and realize there in NO HAIR CONDITIONER, but there is shampoo. We thought it was just forgotten so called for it and was told if we needed it to go down to the store and buy conditioner.
Room service was only until 11pm and of course we were hungry after that time.
We valeted our car and when we would come late, there would be no one to valet the car, yet we paid for overnight valet service.
The service was horrible. The concierge couldn't help us when we asked about possible restaurants to go to, etc. Very condescending attitude with one in particular.

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelqueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing