We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay with above average price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #93 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Traveled to DC on business and was assigned this hotel as it was within walking distance of our conference. Very surprised that something so close to the Capital was so "average." Considering the price the room had few extra amenities... the tv worked only periodically even after the maintenance folks replaced the remote twice... had to call to get an iron... it was clean and the bed were comfortable but it just seemed more like a budget hotel trying to impress it's date... Ease of access to DC and suitable if you plan on spending zero time in your room...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, great rooms, well appointed, comfortable, with all the amenities (except, strangely, any sort of in room safe, which is pretty rare these days not to have one), even a decent fitness center. But, from minute one the service was mediocre. The bell captains couldn't be bothered helping with luggage when we arrived, nor even holding the doors open, and that was pretty much the case throughout our stay. Check in time was 4pm, but there were dozens of people waiting in the lobby right up until that moment and then suddenly all the rooms became available - that's just poor time management and not good guest relations. Over a three day stay, housekeeping never once came to our room - late on the second day I called to see what was going on and a housekeeping supervisor came to the room to inform me that there was no record of the room being occupied, so she apologized, but, no housekeeping. We went to eat breakfast in the cafe one morning - the two waiters were grouchy the whole time, brought us coffee and juice, but then never came back to take an order, despite attempts to flag them over (and very few people in the room, so it wasn't that they were busy), finally after about half an hour we just gave up and asked for a check, then suddenly they wanted to take an order. I wouldn't bother to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at Washington Court for three nights and had an excellent stay. I got the Amtrak from New York and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Union station. The staff were lovely, I arrived a bit early and my room wasn't ready for another hour or so but I waited in the lobby and when my room was ready before the check in time the receptionist came over and gave me the keys etc so I could get in early.
The room was huge and had a view over the street at the front of the hotel, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby downstairs and the bar opens onto the sofas in the lobby so there always seemed to be people around which made for a nice atmosphere.
There is a small shop selling snacks and souvenirs which is handy and I used the gym which has a variety of equipment and weights, I only saw one other person in there so there's no problem getting onto the machines.
The location is close to Capitol Hill and it was about 20-30 minute walk to the White House and museums, although as a solo female I didn't feel safe walking around on my own at night so would get a cab back after dark.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amyloui89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a decent location, accommodations including lobby and room were nice but nothing exceptional. Lobby space needs to be updated, it still has a 1994 look to it. Rooms were clean but not spotless. A little more attention to detail needed to be get a five rating.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Wes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Room was big and have a nice bathroom ,nice location we are very pleased with Our stay It is closed to Capital and Union statiion ..and inside The Union station they have a Food CourtToo I Will recomended this hotel for everyone Thank You....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent hotel and location. Employees were all polite and courteous. They were very responsive to your needs. It is close to the Capital and all transportation, Union Station is within walking distance. Rooms were very very nice. We dined in the restaurant, menu was very good, reasonable and the food was delicious. The waitress was very nice and accomodating to us. I would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: My room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and Amtrak hotel recommendations. We were pleased with our stay. It's more of a businessman/woman oriented hotel (no pool, mini fridges, or complimentary coffee), but was good for a couples quick weekend trip to DC. We took the Amtrak train to DC and this hotel is just a short couple of blocks walk from Union Station. It's definitely removed from the hubub of DC nightlife, but that was fine for us, we didn't go for the nightlife. It's very close to the Capitol, which was the area in DC we intended to sightsee. We would definitely stay there again for a quick weekend in DC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redhedsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
708 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
383 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,651 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing