We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel Next to the White House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent a week at this hotel and can't say enough positive things about the place. The staff was friendly and professional, the room was exceptional, and it was very quiet. We dined on the patio of the Occidental Grill and the setting was very romantic (the food was outstanding). One morning we ordered breakfast via room service and it was served in less than 30 minutes. President Lincoln and his family stayed at this hotel the week before his inauguration, and there is a mini museum in the hotel with a collection of historic photos, etc. It also features Elizabeth Arden's Red Door Spa. It's a great place in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluegrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,705 - 2,711 of 3,164 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

Just returned from Easter weekend stay at Willard in DC. Stayed in Exec Suite on 8th floor (Room 800) which had great view of Pennsylvania Avenue. Having been to the area before, stopped by Cafe Du Parc for their wonderful steamed mussels. If you like mussels, these are some of the best we've ever had. Sweet, tender, plump. Easter brunch at Occidental next to the hotel also very good. Accolades to the front desk check in who personally escorted us to a couple of rooms for our selection--what great personal service. Lobby of hotel has real charm with the Peacock alley tea service and the Round Robin bar. Only blocks area from White House or Mall...an excellent choice for a DC weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmbnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

If you want at the doorstep of the touristy stuff in DC, the Willard is about as close as you are going to get. It certainly has a place in the history books and appears to have fared the years well. It is yards away from the Washington mall, White House and a few more yards to the Smithsonian. Very friendly/professional staff. Clean (and quiet when were there).
If you are a frugal traveler you most likely will not like the rates. I certainly believe it is worth considerable more due to the location. (PS canned Soft Drinks from mini-bard are $7.70 each.. internet is not free... great view from some rooms is)
I would strongly discourage renting a vehicle if you are flying in. A taxi is $13-$18 from DCA... even cheaper than most shuttle services.
If you have never been to this area, take some comfy shoes as you will be walking a LOT. The size of the buildings and attractions give deception to the distance between them. If you want to make rounds and see other areas, the hop-on/off buses and trolley stop right in front of the hotel. Metro is just around the corner.
The Willard is a great location and a very nice place to center your visit to this portion of DC.

Room Tip: I got 3 nights free w/ points from Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

As a Priority Club member I participated in the Sweet Dreams promotion they had that allowed me to earn 5 free nights after 10 stays. I had 10 stays at the holiday inn chain to earn my free nights at the Willard. Take into account that I stayed at the Willard for five nights for free.
This is a grand old hotel that is not seen often now days. The lobby has intricate details that give a rich historical feel that this hotel is know for. I attempted to check in at 915 AM as this is when my flight got in, not that we thought we would get in that early but we could at least store our bags there. Not surprising that our room was not ready but the gentlemen at the check-in desk (Ali) was very apologetic and assured us that we would get a room as soon as one became available. He proceeded to give us a couple of ideas of things to do with in walking distance of the hotel and supplied a walking map with the locations circled. Our room was ready in two hours. We got checked in a very timely matter and at no time did Ali make us feel as though we did not belong because we got the room for free and were not dressed in a suit.
The room was one of the more recently refurbished one on the 7th floor. It was of decent size considering the location and the age of the hotel. We had room service one morning and it was inline with the cost of everything else in the area for a similar quality of food.
We were visiting on our anniversary and let the Willard know that in the comment section of the online reservation form. I'm glad I did, they brought a plate of chocolates and dipped strawberries as well as a chilled bottle of champagne.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Stayed for one week in premium view room with view of the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. Two short blocks from Metro station, two blocks from White House, less than 10 minute walk to Smithsonian Museums. Taxis always available, and many excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walk with some only five minutes away. Outstanding service from all staff including reception desk, concierge and housekeeping. Beautiful and historic hotel with modern conveniences. Comfortable beds, plenty of drawer and closet space, and bright lighting in bathroom and sleeping areas, which is rare these days. Quickest bell service I have ever seen, both in checking in and in leaving. Rooms are very quiet -- in one week I never heard any noise in the room, and even the air conditioner and heating was extremely quiet. Outstanding in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayout3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This fine old hotel is excellent in every way. The location enables a quick walk to the White House, and manageable walks to monuments, museums, restaurants etc... While historic, it remains immaculately clean and well maintained. Our suite (through Amex upgrade) was surprsingly spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom updated, shower pressure was good, amenities were great. Reception personnel, Miso and Michael were professional, friendly and welcoming. I was happy to provide a review of this hotel because its reputation is accurate, and I look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: book through american express platinum travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windwardmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Just spent 6 days & nights at the Willard in suite 744. Huge rooms. Beautifully decorated. Staff was very nice and made all dinner reservations and arranged tickets for several tours. I can't imagine any Hotel being better in DC. If you like Grand Hotels and 5 Star service you will love this place. The concierge made sure we got the best tables at every restaraunt. The location is so close to everything you don't even need a taxi to get any where. The front desk even surprized us with a Mercedes to take us to the airport when we checked out. The Willard is First Class all the way!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATourist2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,241 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
3,128 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,955 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £155 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing