We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Good but not great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amarillo, texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Good but not great service”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

On the whole, I think we got what we paid for. The hotel location was wonderful. There were many great restaurants within a block. Easy access to almost all attractions. In my opinion the only drawback was very good and friendly, but not exceptional service. The concierge is exceptionally busy and it takes an act of congress to see him. In four days we were unable to have a good discussion with him because people were lined up to see him and I was always at the end of the line. We were able to get a phone call through and he did take care of us, but the office is obviously understaffed. Upon arrival we had to unload our own bags from the cab and got 1/2 way up the stairs before the bell staff assisted our family of 3. On other occasions, they were superb. I would reccommend staying here, but not if you are use to Four Seasons or Ritz style service. However, the room was beautiful, updated, large and overall value was very good..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dady8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    625
    163
    64
    40
See reviews for
792
839
109
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A great quick stay at the Willard . Room was large,nice in the back of the hotel-view was not good. Service was very good. Location of the hotel was very good for sightseeing. I would definitely recommend but insist on a room with a view towards the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizpaperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I traveled to Washington DC by train from NYC and arrived at Union Station. It's easy to go to the hotel from there by taking metro. Three stations away, it's Metro Center Station. The hotel is easy to find and it's just two blocks from a metro exit. Within 5-minute walking distance, there are a bakery, a CVS Pharmacy and some great restaurants and cafes. The White House is just a turn of the corner! As an overseas tourist, it feels amazing to be staying at a place so close to the politically most powerful man on Earth! I found many homeless people sleeping in the streets but they didn't look like they would create disturbance to tourists. The neighborhood is guarded by the police everywehere because of obvious reason. I felt safe even if I return late at night.
The hotel staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. I could see they were doing their best to exceed the standard for a US hotel but it's still nothing like the Asian hospitality from where I come from.
Overall, I am very much impressed by this hotel and staying here is already one of the 'things I have done' in my DC experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel was beautiful, staff so helpful, great location to visit the White House, Mall and Monument.

Not really family friendly for meals and both internet and business center charges. Be Prepared.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptakero25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Willard for four nights last week. As a family of history buffs, being in DC is a dream come true. We truly enjoyed the historical ambiance of the hotel, but appreciated that the rooms were updated (for the most part.) My only disappointment was the size of the room/bathroom, though by DC standards I think they were about the same or larger than other hotels in the area. We had a double queen, and those always seem to be a little more cramped, especially in historical buildings. We have stayed in historical hotels all over the country, and some have not done nearly as well with their layout/amenities. We booked through AE Platinum, which provides an upgrade when available. Supposedly we were in the more recently refurbished area, which was our upgrade. I will also mention that the beds were amazingly comfortable, and as a light sleeper, I am very discriminating.
The location of the hotel was excellent. We were able to walk to most places, and the metro was only a couple of blocks out the back door when we needed to ride it. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. All hotel staff members that we encountered were more than friendly and helpful. The busboy actually beat us to the room with our luggage, as we stopped to look at the fitness center (which my husband said was more than adequate.) We had breakfast daily at Cafe du Parc, and it was good. I only had the continental, and must say that the variety of delicious fruit alone was enough to make me happy! Pastries, cereal and yogurt were a bonus! The rest of my family had the hot buffet, and enjoyed that as well: eggs, waffles, bacon, the usual fare. The presentation of the buffet could have been a little better if they had more room to spread it out. Very tight quarters where it was located.
One complaint was that the ice machine on our floor (6th) was broken the entire length of our stay. Also, there is not a refrigerator in the room unless you ask them to trade out the stocked one for an empty one, and they will charge you to do so.
All in all, it was a very pleasant stay. We are going to be back in DC in the fall, and unfortunately the Willard is already booked, or we would stay again.
As for cost, I think we got a good deal, especially as I look at prices for our fall stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agmomtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Booked two rooms through the Amex FH&R program. One room received an upgrade to a king room directly facing the Washington Monument. As such, we saw no need to leave that room for the 4th of July Fireworks.

The other room was a double (both rooms on upper floor) that was recently refurbished. It was huge and very clean. The other room was very clean as well however a bit smaller (the hotel is old so completely understand) and what we lacked in space we gained in view.

Front desk staff were beyond friendly and super helpful. Concierge the same. Had drinks at Round Robin (so cozy!) and dinner at Occidental, which to be honest, could have been a little better, but good none the less.

All in all a perfect location, super friendly and helpful staff in a historic hotel.

Recomend completely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mako32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The room was very clean and had ample space. The bed and pillows were delightful to sleep in. Two blocks from Metro Center and within walking distance to The White House and The Mall. We felt safe walking around, even at night. The staff was helpful, accommodating, and pleasant. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonCharlieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing