We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just for fun my wife and I stayed at the Willard for one night despite living in an apartment less than 2 miles away. When we arrived the lady at check-in informed us that they over booked so we were given a larger room with an attached sitting room at no extra charge. One of the cool things about this free upgrade is that they easily could have blocked our entry from the adjoining sitting room but they didn't.

If you are visiting DC, and can afford this hotel, its really worth it. I have not stayed at too many hotels in DC because I live here but to give you an idea of how nice I think it is I recommended it as a good site for one of my friends to propose to his now fiance.

Room Tip: Take some time to get a drink in the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,745 - 2,751 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Willard is a landmark hotel and has probably the best location of any of the DC high end properties.

The lobby is magnificent with a long corridor from the back to the front lined with elegant decor.

The rooms are good sized for a big city, comfortable bedding, nice working space and large bathroom.

Service was top notch. When staying at this hotel, it is not unusual to see heightened security and what could have been Secret Service as it is a frequent destination of dignitaries.

It is a short walk to the mall and the White House. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. I did not eat at the hotel (there are two restaurants part of the complex) but did have a drink at the Round Robin & Scotch Bar - pricey, as you would expect. Did eat close to the hotel at M&S Grill (decent, not too expensive, part of the McCormick & Schmick's chain) and Chef Geoff's Downtown (had a great lunch there, nice place).\

Valet parking was $39, about what you would expect.

DC is a great place and the Willard is the right choice.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Willard in July 2011 on a pleasure trip. Overall we had an enjoyable time, but frankly for the money we put up with some things we should not have experienced. The hotel is beautiful, with a rich history and enviable location. Visitors to DC should try and stay here once - but if you travel frequently or are looking for a 5 star experience you will want to find a better hotel (such as the Park Hyatt or Four Seasons). The snafus we experienced weren't large, but they added up over the stay: a safe that did not work and took hours to replace, a promised gratuity that was never delivered, a leaky ceiling that was never fixed, a promised daily newspaper delivery that did not get delivered 2 out of 3 days, etc. The staff are friendly and unfailingly polite - except for the food and beverage staff. The service and the food and drink at the Bar and the restaurant are barely competitive with Applebees.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LookingToChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Willard in July on a family trip to DC. We have 2 girls (8 and 12) and they loved the hotel. The gentlemen working the front desk was so friendly and gave the girls an activity to play looking at the hotel ceiling. Good location, and close to dining. Pricey but we knew that going into it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mchenry_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Brilliant hotel, right in the heart of Washington DC. A short walk from all major attractions and fantastic service.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else while I'm in DC

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swatson888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Loved it Loved it!! We had just left a timeshare with the grandchildren and we (the grandparents) stayed in the Williard, while the kids stayed elsewhere and we met daily. First of all, the lobby is breathe taking, our room was super and perfect size (king bed) and staff was terrific.

It was very clean. We purchased it with the breakfast package which was well worth it. Your choice of buffet or off the menu. The hotel is alongside the treasury building, you can walk 1/2 block and be in front of the White House, across the street from the Mall, and a little bit of a further walk to the museums. It was perfect !
If I had to think of a negative it would be that in the bathroom there was no place to hang a toiletry bag other than the hook behind the door which was for your towel. The sink top was also a bit small with tow of us and toiletries. But I could live with that! If we go back to DC will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdiuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The location and decore of the hotel is GREAT!
At the heart of Washington with many attractions and restaurants within walking distance.
The staff was very friendly. Gym was adequate but not more.
Two things that I have to comment about:
a. The room itself and specifically the bathroom are not the newest. Its about time to change the shower head.
b. Why charge $13/day for internet connectivity? For the price charged for the rooms, internet should be complimentrary. Not to mention that while paying the $13/day I can only use a single Wifi device while I have several devices that need a connection with me...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,278 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
3,151 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
495 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
2,356 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £152 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing