We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Elegant historical hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A splendid hotel in which to stay whether just for its location (close enough to all the main tourist attractions - national mall, Smithsonian’s, white House etc) or for its sheer elegance. The rooms are huge for a city centre hotel and by far the largest I have ever stayed in (two doubles plus a rollaway and still plenty of room left over). The throne size toilet in the bathroom just adds to the feeling of grandure!

The downside is that if you are on a budget the rooms don’t come cheap and you are better off looking to eat outside of the hotel, however its great just to feel that you have stayed in such a historic venue.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    609
    157
    63
    39
See reviews for
763
814
108
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agana, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I loved the W. What a beautiful facility & best of all it is walking distance to all the sites we wanted to get to. The only thing was that there was a heat wave when we were there so walking in the daylight was out of the question. Thank goodness there were lots of taxis to be found at a hefty price (with all the add on charges for each passenger). We only ate at the hotel when we were too lazy to get up early & we had a tour schedules first thing on the morning. So we had room service & even that was excellent. At other times we ate breakfast at the CORNER BAKERY that is just across the street if you go through the back entrance of the hotel. Other meals were eaten out, usually in Georgetown.
The beds were very comortable & the rooms were very well appointed.
And we loved the staff. They were so charming, attentive & willing to serve.
My family would love to stay here again if & when we return to DC.

Room Tip: We had the Standard Room with two full beds for my husband, my 13 y/o & 9 y/o sons. It was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexadel671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We recently visited the D.C. area for a weekend getaway. We wanted to stay somewhere nice and we also planned some sightseeing activities . This hotel is amazing. The rooms were beautiful, the staff very friendly, and the restaurants great. You can't beat the location. You can walk to pretty much every main site in the D.C. area. I would highly recommend and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Staff were incredibly helpful. The concierges meal recommendations were spot on and you can't beat the location if you are doing some site-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I chose the Willard Hotel for it's location and it was a great choice. The hotel was gorgeous with a lovely foyer and our room was classic and stylish, The staff were very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay there. It was wonderful, being able to walk to a lot of the attractions including the White House. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I loe that Lincoln slept here as much as I love the all-wood and upholstered decor of the Willard dining room. It's big, it's metropolitain, it's historic and my room had a sunken tub with a mesmerizing view of the Washington monument through a picture window. It made me feel so lucky for my life! Great food, great people working there. Now, that's a good hotel.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SqueegieBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is a grand and historic hotel located almost next to the White House. it is just one of these Washington classics.

However, I was disappointed by the hotel as rooms are in need of refurbishment. For me the hotel was a bit stuffy. I know these things are personal but everything in the room was a bit dated and didn't really present any atmosphere or personality, it was just a very flowery room.

Service was good, but then you are in a 5 star InterContinental.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing