We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Heritage Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kolkata
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Heritage Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

A very historic hotel that exudes old world charm. The hotel is very centrally located and all the tourist attractions are located very nearby. The Smithsonian Museums are within walking distance.
The hotel is well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly The room was spacious. The breakfast was very good and sumptuous. I had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anindo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful, historic hotel and enjoy building relationships with wonderful guests such as you. I am delighted that our rooms met your expectations and that we were able to start your day off with a warm and hearty breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    603
    155
    61
    39
See reviews for
754
799
106
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I loved our stay at the Willard. The location is perfect for all of the D.C. sites. Our standard room had lots of space and the bathroom was lovely. One evening the regular Round Bar was full so we wandered into the "Scotch Bar", didn't order scotch and the service for us was less than what it should have been. Perhaps they suffer from a touch of scotch snobbery. You should be aware that the room rates are very expensive. But as they say, you get what you pay for. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefferyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Willard is a fantastic hotel in the heart of DC. While expensive it is exudes old Washington with great class. It is centrally located to the White House, and the National Mall. The service is what you would expect from this type of hotel. The rooms on the upper floors can be funky due to the round windows. I typically like to stay on a higher floor if possible since it you are less likely to get street noise, but the configuration of some of the rooms are not great. Overall, this is a great hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gottaluvflying
Level Contributor
270 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband & myself stay nowhere else in DC as we just love the location of the Willard Intercontinental .......across the road & just around the corner you have the White House & at the end of Pennsylvania Avenue you have the Capital Building....which just looks so impressive. A great base for touring the various Smithsonian Museums....most of which are around the Mall area...a short walk from the hotel. The lobby of the Willard is just stunning...the ceiling with all the various US state plaques is very impressive and there is just such a feeling of history here, unlike most DC hotels which could be anywhere really. The hotel has been there since 1850 & has several displays towards rear of the hotel about many of their most famous guests. We have had varying experiences in relation to our rooms on our various visits....seems to just depend on luck mainly...as a few times our room has been beautiful and very spacious and on others nice but nothing special....for the price you are paying. This hotel certainly doesn't come cheap and is a real treat but we love it and when we visit DC there is nowhere else we would rather stay. We find the beds to be extremely comfortable & most staff in the hotel are extremely helpful & friendly. Food is ok but very overpriced for what it is. If location in DC is important to you then the Willard Intercontinental cannot be beaten....also you always have the feeling you are staying somewhere quite special....different....historic. There are better places to eat than the Cafe du Parc...although I aways have enjoyed my breakfasts there. Our one main gripe...hence not giving an excellent rating ....is that whenever they have large groups/conventions in the hotel (& it does appear to happen quite a lot!) you feel very much overlooked as individual guests....everything seems to be focused on the large groups & their needs. Not good enough...not for what you pay to stay there for a week or more. All guests should be treated equally......take note Willard management please!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

A friendly receptionist did a smooth check in. All perks for a Platinum Ambassador were provided (unlike many US hotels). Room was big, nice and looking directly at the Washington Monument. Bathroom was not big but still adequate. In room and bathroom amenities replenished daily. There was no newspaper provided in the room but available at the lobby.

Breakfast was adequate but of very good quality. Attentive staff even on the busy Veterans Day weekend.

The hotel is a classic with plenty of history. Try and get to know more about it during your stay.

The location makes this an ideal place to stay in DC.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank arnab1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honaunau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our 'upgraded' room just had a view of the back and side of the hotel. Could not order tea leaf tea unless we ordered a full 'High Tea'. Only place to eat was the Cafe du Parc: unpleasant atmosphere and dour staff. (The Occidental Hotel, next door, was fantastic, though.)
Bathroom...no where to put your 'stuff'. Had to ask for a kettle to boil water for the tea bag: no where to put the kettle!
Some of the staff, such as at Receptioin, were charming: others very unfriendly. Hotel seems to pitch to conferences and other guests are in the way.
Oh, and when I booked in Feb 2013 for a Nov stay, the hotel charged the entire four-day cost. They said it was because I got a 'special rate.'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular stay. We strive to make each guest leave the hotel with beautiful memories of the city and the hotel and I regret that we fell short in a few areas. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you allow us to regain your trust in the Willard in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

On balance, I really enjoyed my stay. I noticed another reviewed did not recieve a newspaper. This happened to me and from when I called the hotel, I recieved 3 newspapers every day for the rest of my stay! Its an old hotel, but my room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It had an excellent coffee machine in the room and an iron and ironing board.

Room service was very fast and the New York steak is one of the best I have had.

The gym is open 24 hours, which is really handy. They also have ice machines on every floor.

The spa is ro die for. I had the best facial of my life - thoroughly recommend the spa.

The location is oustanding , the staff are friendly - I felt very welcome. Would I go back - yes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing