We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great service, well-located.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great service, well-located.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. Its location was perfect for what we wanted to do and see. Lots of good restaurants nearby as well. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and looked stunning. It was very easy to be in the Christmas spirit! We had fantastic service from the moment the cab arrived until we left. Service was not only polite but friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here when we return!

Helpful?
Thank SMutchler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,758
    585
    153
    56
    38
See reviews for
731
778
103
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here before but what really struck me this time is their consistency. You always know what to expect. Unlike airlines, who used to have good service but now are more like buses, the Willard has stuck by its core values and continues to provide excellent services. Luggage is still brought to your room, there aren't signs asking you to reuse your towels, when you enter the building there are people there opening the door and welcoming you inside.... There are always different activities going on to entertain you or you can just relax in one of their many comfortable seats and enjoy the beauty of the hotel itself, however you choose you will enjoy your visit here!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reh037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was fine in my three day stay in late October.

But the folks in the valet garage creased my new car down there. What did they do, you ask? They told me about it immediately even though I might not have seen it. They put me in touch with their insurance people who promptly paid for repair of the damage.

The contract parking firm is Laz Parking; nice job, Laz!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BertLahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Wow what a difference a few years makes. Last time I went to a tea at the Willard during the Christmas season we sat in Peacock Alley and feasted on a wonderful selection of sandwiches and treats for tea--ending with a chocolate carved minature sleigh. This year no tea in Peacock Alley we were seated in the Nest with low ceilings so it was LOUD, we could barely hear each other. We were served stale uninspired sandwiches and bagged tea. Go to the Ritz Tyson's instead!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lv2tvl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental. I apologize that your afternoon tea experience was less than favorable compared to previous years. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We hope to be able to greet you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Willard Hotel several times and can say it is one of Washington's finest. While there are other luxury hotels, the Willard excels in comfort, service and location. This time we had a large king room with a beautiful view of the city and National Mall. The hotel is elegant and the staff helpful and friendly. Other reasons to stay at the Willard: the Parc restaurant attached to the Willard serves an excellent breakfast buffet; the Old Ebbit Grill is a half block walk and one of Washington's favorites; a short walk down Pennsylvania Avenue brings you to Paul Bakery for excellent French style sandwiches and tasty treats. Paul Bakery's onion soup rivals the best Paris has to offer at half the price.

More reasons to stay at the Willard. It is close to everything you might want to see in Washington; stay out of the Metro, stay out of taxis, stay at the Willard.

Room Tip: Ask for a king deluxe with a view. Check weekends for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental and your kindness with this review. I am pleased to hear that we continue to meet you and your husband’s expectations. Gaining loyal customers such as you is what we strive for. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I loved the Willard DC , very nice hotel clean helpful staff location to shopping and attraction like White House , taxi always around you , great breakfast , big bus next to the hotel one step away ,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zezekhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for recommending the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We are very fortunate to be placed in such a prime location and are delighted that you felt the same way. I'm happy that we were able to get your mornings off to a great start with a hearty breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just retuned from an amazing visit at the Willard. Thanks to Mr. Almutairai, the Guest Relations Manager our stay was excellent! He truly should be commended for the efforts that he puts forth in behalf of his guests! He should be regarded as a most valuable member of the IHG family!
What made this review less than 'excellent' was the inconsistent service provided by the evening housekeeping staff...not offering consistent thorough care to what needed to be done for the evening turn down service. The day time hoiusekeeping crew was excellent!
Also a bit annoying that the hotel did not yet have the guests folio accounts to review in the room s TV sets. When I checked out the day wer left and paid what my room charges were..this total did not match with the charges that appeated on my CC bill..There was about a $283 incurease in charge. When I called the accounting Dept of the Hotel the day after I checked out, they advised that ' that these were only temporary charges posted in addition to the actual charges incurred daily.' A bit confusing ...at least to me. If the Hotel's policy is to impose additonal supposed interim charges, what would show up on a guests' CCs statement on line, they then should advise their guest of this 'temporary charge and let them know that when the charge will be posted as a debit on the guests credit card, it will match what they agreed to pay upon check out!

Another issue, we were most saddened to see that the Hotel's formal dining room/restaurant no longer exists and now has become a room to be used as a meeting room. More cost effective for the hotel?
A hotel of this stature, needs something more formal than a Cafe Du Parc. which is basically a noisy coffee shop; good for alternative diniing but not as an only dining venue!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing