We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second stay - dissapointed, poor service, bad room, etc...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“second stay - dissapointed, poor service, bad room, etc...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is not a happy review and not a first attempt to contact both The Willard and Intercontinental Group.

This was our second stay at the hotel, and probably the last one. We selected it because of the area, beauty of the building and previous excellent experience. And what we got was far from expected in terms of treatment.

I have a platinum membership with IHG group and at the check in I was told that we are upgraded to a better room. If that was an upgrade - I don't want to know how normal room looks like.
The bed was half broken, the fire alarm was hanging on a wire above it like in a dorm room. there was barely any coffee or tea. Of course - no sugar no creamer. We did not have time to deal with all that so we let it go.
Next thing - our relatives were trying to call us from abroad using a hotel number. It was a holiday time. They were first told the phone was BUSY and hung up, while i was waiting by the
phone. Next time they called again, they were put on hold, and then hung
up. The third time , they called, they were asked weird questions after
they got my name and room number, such as : Can you spell his last name?
what country did he come from? etc.. and then put on hold, and again.. HUNG
UP.. I had to call the reception and make an angry complaint, not
surprisingly, I was put on hold for a while, and I had to hang up and call
back, and i was told the manager stepped away ,and he will call me asap.
Well.. that never happened.

After, I tried calling for Room Service, but the button
wasn't programmed !!?? and I had to dial to reception. I ordered room
service and asked for kettle of hot water. I go the meal, but didn't get
the hot water. I contacted and was told someone will be right up, and no
one showed up.
AT night, we noticed the bed was VERY wobbly , and when we
removed the covers, realized the mattress was seriously bent out of
shape,(i have pictures of the bed/mattress). we decided to pass by the next
day and deal with it with reception because nothing was working on the
phone.
Next day, when we came back to the room, which was supposed to be
cleaned, we found the bed barely tidied up, and two dirty mugs on the
table, and two dirty glasses still on the night tables, they weren't
cleaned or replaced, the tea / coffee wasn't replenished, and the
q-tips/cottons/etc.. was not replenished after we used them for shower. We
called reception again, described the situation, and they said
they will send someone right up from the Housekeeping service, Two hours
later, no one showed up, and it was getting Really Really frustrating and
insulting at this point.
I called Reception., and discussed the whole
situation with someone and that this is completely unacceptable service
from the Willard and Intercontinental hotels, and as mentioned above, the
person was apologizing WHILE sounding very insincere and almost chuckling.
He ended the call by saying He will make sure to mention this to someone ,
and laughed and said goodbye.

I sent complaints to both - the Willard and Intercontinental group over 2 weeks ago. No one ever contacted me.

There are a lot of luxury hotels in the area, there is something to choose from that has better then the service we received at the Willard.

Room Tip: save your money, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank alanbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was a pleasure speaking with you. As we agreed, the hospitality business is a world of details. Thank you once again for sharing and enabling us to raise our bar. We look forward to your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,768
    587
    153
    59
    38
See reviews for
736
782
103
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed four nights at the Willard over Christmas 2013, and one month later I am still wishing I was back there. It was everything we hoped - beautiful building and lobby; spacious, comfortable and well-appointed rooms; excellent service; and prime location within walking distance of so many DC attractions and several metro stations. The hotel really is steeped in history and character, and it was a special treat for us to be there over Christmas to see the gorgeous Christmas tree in the lobby and experience the holiday spirit. Thanks to everyone on TA who recommended this hotel for our first visit to Washington - so glad we splurged a little as it was a real highlight of our trip.

Free sign-up for IHG rewards will give you free Wi-Fi access. Our room was on the tenth floor overlooking F St - not a spectacular view but the secondary back entrance was often much more convenient when heading to and from the metro. Check out the Round Robin Bar and the small historical display just inside the northeast entrance, and try the Corner Bakery across the road for a cheaper breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentjm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family stayed for two nights while visiting DC. The hotel is close to the Mall, the White House, and most major memorials/museums. The lobby is grand. As Intercontinental Ambassador members, we were upgraded to an executive suite, which is huge - it is like two large hotel rooms together, with one as a living room/dining room area. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the beds very comfortable. Both bathrooms were marbled (if I am being nitpicky, the shower heads could be upgraded from low-flows). The room (644) also did not have a Pennsylvania Avenue view/Washington Monument view, but we took the grandeur of the room over the view (get front facing rooms for that). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, worth the splurge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My mom sister and I stayed here for 3 nights while hunting for my wedding dress in DC. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful, historic, and peaceful stay, yet right in the middle of everything in DC. Very easy walk to the national mall and many of the museums. They accommodated all our requests with flourish and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful. We enjoyed the round robin bar and room service. The car valet team were helpful and prompt. The concierge made great recommendations. The front desk staff accommodated some room changes we had to make last minute. The hotel is old and historical but beautifully renovated and totally spotlessly kept. It made our weekend all the more magical and fun. The guest rooms were very quiet and peaceful, even with adjoining doors. I stay in DC frequently and this is my new go to hotel, I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurena218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I and our two adult sons recently stayed for three nights at The Willard while visiting Washington. The hotel is lovely and has been fully restored to its original 1850s splendor, only with modern amenities. The small historical gallery is quite worth the visit as you see The Willard through its many years on the Washington scene. The location is perfect for visiting the White House and the National Mall as it is literally two blocks away. Many other sights are also an easy walk. On the weekend, there was coffee in the lobby for early risers prior to 7 am when the cafes open. If you want a bit less pricey option for breakfast, the Corner Bakery is just across the street and delicious. The concierge was very helpful in assisting us with booking an airport shuttle when we completely forgot to do it until the last minute. The rooms are spacious and the beds are heavenly. Bathrobes are an especially nice touch. There is an Elizabeth Arden spa on the second floor and afternoon tea with a harpist on Sunday. The hotel lobby is simply sumptuous and is well worth a visit just to enjoy a step back to a more elegant time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaGirlWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very large group staying at The Willard, in town from all over the world for a wedding celebration.

We used UBER to get from the airport to the hotel. We never use valet to help with bags since we are young.. But they are available to help.

Checkin was a tiny bit complicated due to the large number of rooms we had but not their fault. The rooms were also not ready for early check in. They held our bags for us though so we could go explore the city.

Once we got into the room we loved the accommodations!!! Historic hotel / decor with modern amenities. Excellent location, excellent staff. Comfy beds, very clean.

The night of the wedding, we had a group of fifteen that came back to the lobby to hang out from 2-5 AM. They let us move a few chairs around, order pizzas from their room service menu, and have a few drinks. I can't believe how cool the staff was about it!! We cleaned up after ourselves of corse but being able to hang out with our relatives who live far away in a comfortable setting was amazing.

THANK YOU for such a great stay!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you do not love this hotel, you're the unhappiest or unluckiest person in the world. Everything about it is exceptional: the facade, the lobby, the lovely hallways, the unusually spacious rooms and bathrooms, and the friendly, helpful staff. Close to everything, great restaurants nearby and in the hotel, and a quick ride to the airport.

You will love every minute of your stay.

J + J

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovannainIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing