We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed at the Willard for 7 nights. We were able to book 5 of the nights at a conference rate and one night at the weekend rate so only one night was a little painful on the wallet and that was a birthday so it wasn't so bad. We were in room 316 with a king bed. The room amenities were quite nice, we were off of 14th street and we did sometimes hear a little traffic noise, but never enough to bother us.. It still amazes me though that the high end hotels charge for internet access but the lower end ones offer it for free (we both had to work while there since we were there for a conference plus a few days for ourselves). This is the way it is though and we did know this ahead of time. The room was kept very clean, our only complaint would be that the wine glasses from the mini bar area were not replenished every day so we usually had to call and ask for more, they were always delivered quickly. We did not use the mini bar at all, we rarely do, the prices seemed to be about the same as other mini bars, hubby thought that might be why they didn't replace the wine glasses every day automatically. The TV had a wide range of channels and quite a few international channels as well, nice LG flat panel. Cafe du Parc was reasonably priced for take out for pastries and coffee, we did not eat any other meals there. The Willard restaurant was closed for August so we did not get to try that. The bar was very nice, we only had a drink there, no food, it did feel more formal in there. We were able to walk/metro everywhere we wanted to go and we had a good time seeing the sites in DC. The staff were all very attentive and responsive to requests. We felt were treated well by all of them, even when we were dressed in shorts and t-shirts for running around and doing touristy things in the August heat. We did not have time to try the spa so we don't know how it compares with others.

  • Liked — Excellent hotel, good service and nice rooms.
  • Disliked — Pricey, glad we were able to get conference rates so we could stay there.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nparmelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,850
    611
    157
    63
    39
See reviews for
764
816
109
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed at the Willard for 2 nights for our anniversary. This was our first time at the hotel, but we would definitely stay here again. We used the valet parking service and they quickly had our car ready at checkout.
Because we are members of this hotel's loyalty program, we received an upgrade to a larger room with a sitting area. They also provided a bottle of champagne and chocolates for our anniversary.
The room was large but no view. The bed was very comfortable and the flat screen TV was easily viewed from the bed or couch.
The bath was huge with a separate tub and shower. There were two closets, safe, robes and slippers. Intercontinental hotels always provide high quality toiletries, and lots of little items like Q-tips, etc.
The concierge was VERY helpful. I had made reservations in advance at two trendy places but was only able to get late evening time slots. He managed to move one earlier, which was greatly appreciated. He also made some helpful suggestions for lunches.
The lobby of this hotel is beautiful and the attached restaurant, Cafe du Parc, was a convenient place for a quick breakfast.
The location is excellent as it is near the monuments and a number of fantastic restaurants. We walked everywhere from the here.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel, convenient location, excellent service...
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

the willard has a lot of history, which i love. there is a hallway off the F street door that goes thru the history of the hotel. it is beautiful - i wish we had sat in the lobby with a drink and took it in for a bit (we were just too busy!).
you can have pets for a $100 fee, so we brought our dog. the bellhop gave our dog a treat when we got there, which was really cute.
the staff were nice - the concierge on friday night was a little dense (gave us not-so-good directions and said it would be a 3 minute walk when it was really 10 minutes - and this took her at least five minutes with google at her fingertips...).
the room was average. bed was comfortable, but nothing special. bathroom was large but a little bit bare.
the willard room closes every august, so we didn't get the chance to visit. the red robin bar was nice.
overall, nice to have stayed there, in the history, but will probably never go back...the history is only worth the money once.

  • Liked — history
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soapsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The Sofitel put me up here as they had lost my booking, but it was worth the hassle as this is a much better hotel!
It's very unusual to find such an elegent and historic building in the USA. The location is perfect, you couldn't sleep any closer to the White House unless they invited you in!

  • Liked — The fabulous Building
  • Disliked — Hotels of this standard should provide a seperate shower, not a curtain over the bath!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
334 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

The Willard is one of the oldest and most notable hotels in a city full of notable hotels. If you like the amenities of a large, chain hotel, but still like a little character and charm, then the Willard may be your place in DC. It is a very nice hotel, and the price reflects that, so don't go looking for a bargain here. The service is first-rate, as befits a fine old hotel, and all amenities are expensive. I have to admit that it seemed sometimes that some of the staff were "resting on the hotel's laurels" a bit, just sort of an attitude to the effect that, "Hey, you are at the Willard, we don't have to be nice. Just be glad we let you stay here." But that attitude was not pervasive, and for the most part, everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Michael, the concierge, was especially nice and helpful.

Rooms are spacious, and a bit dated, but still nice. The restauraunts are fine. We enjoyed Cafe du Parc most of all. Casual French bistro, with friendly service, very good food, and a nice wine list, both for bottles and by the glass.

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff was very nice, but made a major mistake on my bill that will be a headache to correct. Housekeeping was generally good but rather stingy with fresh soap. Expect to tip someone for every imaginable thing here; for example, there was not even a telephone book in the room. Bottom line: stay here for the beauty of the lobby, the history of the place or the snob appeal. You can get everything else for a lot less elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasLawCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Great stay for my family. Upgraded to a suite, which met reviews that had stated the Willard honors Ambassador status individuals. Excellent location and service. Only gripe would possibly be the price for parking and the attitude of the parking valets. Had two great evenings ending in the Round Robin Bar, great staff there as well. Will definately stay next year for our families 4th of July trip to DC.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank c130andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing