We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dc weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dc weekend”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We came here a week late for the cherry blossoms. Staff at the hotel were all super friendly, and the room is very spacious as well. I like the little things when staying at a really nice hotel like this, for example almost all staff at the hotel smile and says hi. They open the door and elevator for you. Calls over the bell to help you with luggage as well. They did forget to bring me the newspaper though, but when I mentioned it at the front desk, the guy immediately went and got a copy of the Sunday Washington post for me. All of this for only 180 a night for Friday and Saturday. Money well spent, we missed the cherry blossoms but this hotel more than made up for it.

Helpful?
Thank aircow33
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    647
    166
    63
    40
See reviews for
822
861
112
714
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The Willard is in the best location for anyone visiting the city. The rooms were well-kept, clean and the service was impeccable. We reserved our rooms through Priceline, so we got a really great deal and we still managed to get rooms that provided a view of the city. On our last night in the city, we did a walking tour and actually went through and learned more about the Willard's long history! I wish we would have explored the hotel more while we were there. I would definitely stay at the Willard again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fieldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We absolutely loved the experience. The cleaning staff was friendly, professional, and did a fantastic job keeping our room clean and fully stocked. The concierge provided excellent directions and a smile each time. The front desk attendants went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were handled, that we had the precise type of room we wanted and that our business was greatly appreciated. We ate at the Round Robin bar a few nights because we were sightseeing until late into the evening. The drinks were potent, the food delicious and the staff always smiled and could not do enough to take care of us. On each night we were asked by no fewer than 4 waiters if there was anything else we wanted. I highly recommend the Willard for the quality, the history, and its location...right in the center of everything!
If you're going to spend the money on a luxury hotel (and spend you will)...I promise you will appreciate the value you receive from the Willard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental during your recent visit to Washington, D.C. I am thrilled that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel and truly look forward to sharing your kind comments with the staff. I’m glad that you could leave us with a “money well spent” feeling. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a very good hotel. It is unusual in that it has lots of beautiful features that you would expect in a hotel that is much older but all the features are in excellent condition, a testament to the money spent on keeping the hotel in perfect condition.

It is also perfectly located for the White House, the monuments and the museums.
The gym is good with the latest equipment in it.

It's not cheap thorough but if the others in DC are similarly priced, well worth staying here.

Also note that it is mostly filled with business people. Whilst this is fine when I'm on business it can feel a little too formal for a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinetnal. The hotel is constantly investing in projects as well as searching for ways to improve guest experiences and services. While the hotel may be historical, we still have to keep up with the times. D.C. is certainly packed with businessmen and women but we warmly welcome families. It is my hope that we are able to welcome back you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny So Cal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Willard is an amazing hotel. I have been able to stay there on several occasions and it doesn't get much better. The front desk staff is terrific, the rooms are great, amenities and the service both top notch. It is expensive but worth it. The location is superb too. Be sure top have a drink at the bar, place to see and be seen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolingGal949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental during your trips to the east coast. We appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and enjoy building strong relationships with guests such as you. I hope that you were able to enjoy the cherry blossoms whether along the Tidal Basin or Peacock Alley.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a wonderful hotel. What a return to a bygone era with modern conveniences. The front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. We haven't experienced such nice customer service in a very long time. Our room was roomy and the beds were comfy. And, the best part was it was close to everything we wanted to see and do. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebella_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you are headed to DC to see monuments, cherry blossoms, the White House, Holocaust Museum, National Aquarium and/or Smithsonian Museums this hotel has the perfect location. The staff go way over and beyond to make your stay comfortable and we were greeted with a smile and a hello by every staff member. The front desk staff was helpful in getting us to our tour destinations and were so happy and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful and a wealth of history, being a stones throw, one block to the right out of the front door of the hotel, from the White House that shouldn't be a surprise. The restaurants within the hotel were beautiful and had an interesting selection but were a bit pricey for what we wanted on this trip so we chose from the variety of choices with a wide price range within a few minutes walk from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel highly and will stay again on future visits to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J.S. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,259 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,837 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,098 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing