We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice ,good service and people. But is expensive hotel ,but is one of the best hotel .i stayed there in Christmas and is really good hotel and also has a good location .despite if u select a room of $500 matching with one of 700 I will select the one of 500 because have 2 beds but the one that is 700 doesn't have to much .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 3,160 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

It has been around for quite some time now. In those days people din't bother too much about neighbors taking a shower and you listening in. They didn't bother that one room certainly does not resemble the other one. They just asked for another room when the one offered didn't meet expectations. So did I, and they gave me a decent room that didn't have an aircon-installation-view. A very spacious and nice room actually, with helpful staff around when you wanted them. A great bar for pre-evening drinks. Breakfast restaurant is quite small possibly resulting in a wait. Location is absolutely fabulous. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for another room when the one offered doesn't meet expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the Willard during the Cherry Blossom Festival. The city was very crowded and the hotel was very full. As a Royal Ambassador on a return visit, I was looking forward to my upgrade. After a few hour wait upon my arrival I was informed that the room I was scheduled to get was unavailable due to the guest staying an extra day. No worries! Gayatri at the front desk took care of everything, breakfast, roll away bed,late check out! Thank you for the amazing customer service, GAYATRI!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucejkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental and for being a loyal IHG guest. The blooming of the Cherry Blossoms is an annual tradition commemorating our relationship with the Japanese as they gifted our city with the beautiful trees. I apologize that we were unable to upgrade you and am glad that Gayatri was able to assist with all of your needs; she truly is a gem! Thank you for your understanding and we hope to welcome you back from “The Golden State” soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Loads of fascinating history in this hotel. Great location. 5 min stroll to nearest metro station, really close to the White House, Washington monument and Museums etc on the National Mall. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity at all pricing levels as well as the bar, restaurant and cafe within the hotel. An excellent choice for a business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davejenkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for recommending the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We are very fortunate to be placed in such a prime location and are delighted that you felt the same way. It truly is easy to navigate around this beautiful city from the hotel, whether for the attractions or the numerous culinary offerings. Should your travels bring you across the pond again, it is my hope that we are able to create more memories with you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

.The check in was a bit of a mess, and we had to wait for a couple of hours, as we had requested joining rooms which we eventually received. However, all the reception staff was very very friendly and they paid the drinks bill without us even requesting they do so.
The rooms are wonderful and very clean. The beds are the best I have known in a long time. The location can’t be surpassed.
Getting a table for breakfast can be a bit of a problem, but there are lots of places very close.
I cannot wait to return to a great friendly charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for staying at the Willard InterContinental. I am pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls that you encountered. The team strives on great service and ensuring that our guests have a great start to their stay. I hope you enjoyed the drinks in the Round Robin Bar and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've never stayed overnight in DC and wanted to find the perfect hotel for my anniversary. The Willard exceeded my expectations and was everything and more! The room was spacious and clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly. We were able to walk to the cherry blossoms and see many of the memorials. I will definitely be staying again! I recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: King bed overlooking Pennsylvania has a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyssajeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Hotel for your anniversary. We are truly honored to be described as “perfect.” We understand that it is the little things that make a big difference and are delighted that they were appreciated. On behalf of everyone at the Willard, we sincerely wish you many more years of happiness and good health. We look forward to seeing you for future anniversary celebrations or just a future staycation.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Arriving here during the hectic Cherry Blossom Festival weekend, made the hotel a respite from the crowds. When we arrived, our room was not ready (we were early), so the bags were stowed by the friendly bellman. When we returned, waiting to check in took a bit long due to the line. Our room was at the end of a floor and spacious and extremely quiet. All of the furnishings and amenities were of the finest quality. The bed was ultra soft. The staff cleaned the room a couple of times per day. The only drawback was the coffee maker which made very weak coffee. The Round Robin Bar made drinks with a flair and was popular and fun. The location of the hotel is perfect and within walking distance of most everything in DC. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to DC whether on business or as a tourist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hall near the back elevator. Is more convenient and the crowds are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,123 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
454 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,954 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £157 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing