We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived late at the hotel (10pm approx) and the hotel was fully booked, so the polite and friendly lady at the check-in desk advised us that she would like to upgrade us to one of their more expensive rooms from what we had paid for (this has unfortunately never happened to me before - so was very excited to see my room as you can imagine)

Due to the above I can't comment on the room we paid for or value for money as I don't know how much it would have costed for the room we stayed in, however the room has two double beds, a living/dining area and two bathrooms. It was very clean and nicely decorated, the main bathroom was very large and fearured a separate bath and shower. The beds were very comfortable and we couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms which lead us to have a good nights sleep.

The hotel itself I thought was beautiful, the hotel lobby is quite grand and the decor is quite traditional. I am led to believe the hotel is one of the oldest ones in Washington DC and has lots of history (though I am not from the US and cannot verify this).

the bell boys were very helpful and all the staff at the hotel were friendly but without being intrusive - perfect really.

The hotel has a perfect location, its so easy to walk from here to quite a few of the main Washington DC tourist sites, particularly around the Mall, e.g. the washington monument etc. Its also just around the corner from the W Hotel which has a rooftop bar/good nightlife (but I wouldnt choose to stay there because I still want to be able to sleep when I choose to go back to my room)

check-out was also easy.

If I ever visit Washington DC again, I would definately stay at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    609
    157
    63
    39
See reviews for
763
814
108
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here last week because we had to attend an event in DC.
Location couldn't be any better! It is very close to the White House & the mall with all the museums etc. etc.
Front desk people are very friendly. Check-in & out was super easy.
Hotel room itself was average I thought. Good size room with a king-size bed.(room 518) Could be updated though. Windows were very dirty (from the inside!!!) but room itself looked clean.
Bathroom is also average size and has good lighting.
Overall had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice, once in Feb and once in April '14, and were met with a warm genuine experience both times. The front desk seems to go out of their way to extend a genuine welcome to each customer, despite crowds and distractions, and provide a attentiveness during the check in/out. This can be a problem at hotels in D.C. as often times the staff is aware of when "big shots" are around and will service them first... We never got that feeling on either occasion. We didn't interact very much with other staff, aside from room service delivery (which was fine both times). The rooms we stayed in were essentially the same type of room, different floor lay outs but same bed, desk, bath, etc. There were some slight variances in the cleanliness of room two in April, i.e., not as thorough of vacuuming etc, February room was spotless. I understand that in huge hotels it must be a challenge getting all staff to meet same standards and the state of the room on our April stay didn't detract from the overall experience (just constructive criticism). We stayed via Amex FHR program and received upgraded room, $100 dollar food credit for use in room or in restaurants, as well as complimentary breakfast (again either in room or in restaurants). Definitely makes this a great place to stay for a night or a weekend. Moments away from all major D.C. landmarks and not too bad to get to Reagan National (DCA), Washington Dulles would be a bit of a haul. We definitely recommend the Willard for families, groups, and couples (we were on a getaway and didn't feel significant overcrowding and it was Easter). Valet parking can be chaotic if busy... Street out front is filled with traffic, cabs, and those trying to valet. If you are arriving at the same time as a rush of party-goers (wedding, etc) can be crazy.

Room Tip: Rooms higher to avoid the noise from street, Keurig in the room, watch out for random diplomatic/pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice ,good service and people. But is expensive hotel ,but is one of the best hotel .i stayed there in Christmas and is really good hotel and also has a good location .despite if u select a room of $500 matching with one of 700 I will select the one of 500 because have 2 beds but the one that is 700 doesn't have to much .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It has been around for quite some time now. In those days people din't bother too much about neighbors taking a shower and you listening in. They didn't bother that one room certainly does not resemble the other one. They just asked for another room when the one offered didn't meet expectations. So did I, and they gave me a decent room that didn't have an aircon-installation-view. A very spacious and nice room actually, with helpful staff around when you wanted them. A great bar for pre-evening drinks. Breakfast restaurant is quite small possibly resulting in a wait. Location is absolutely fabulous. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for another room when the one offered doesn't meet expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the Willard during the Cherry Blossom Festival. The city was very crowded and the hotel was very full. As a Royal Ambassador on a return visit, I was looking forward to my upgrade. After a few hour wait upon my arrival I was informed that the room I was scheduled to get was unavailable due to the guest staying an extra day. No worries! Gayatri at the front desk took care of everything, breakfast, roll away bed,late check out! Thank you for the amazing customer service, GAYATRI!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucejkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental and for being a loyal IHG guest. The blooming of the Cherry Blossoms is an annual tradition commemorating our relationship with the Japanese as they gifted our city with the beautiful trees. I apologize that we were unable to upgrade you and am glad that Gayatri was able to assist with all of your needs; she truly is a gem! Thank you for your understanding and we hope to welcome you back from “The Golden State” soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Loads of fascinating history in this hotel. Great location. 5 min stroll to nearest metro station, really close to the White House, Washington monument and Museums etc on the National Mall. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity at all pricing levels as well as the bar, restaurant and cafe within the hotel. An excellent choice for a business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejenkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for recommending the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We are very fortunate to be placed in such a prime location and are delighted that you felt the same way. It truly is easy to navigate around this beautiful city from the hotel, whether for the attractions or the numerous culinary offerings. Should your travels bring you across the pond again, it is my hope that we are able to create more memories with you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing