We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Got a great last minute deal here on Hotwire for my husband's birthday. Though we did not pay a 5 star price we received over and above 5 start service. This place has the best location and service in DC.Be sure to visit the little history exhibit and get drinks in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

There are a few times in the year we will launch amazing deals. We are delighted you got to celebrate your husband’s birthday here - please extend my belated wishes to him. We are so fortunate to have so many ties to history that the gallery is small but mighty. We hope this stay will have you choose to stay with us in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,031)
There are newer reviews for Willard InterContinental Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,805 - 1,811 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everyone should stay at the Willard at least once when visiting! Truly a grand old hotel. Right by the White House and next to the Treasury Building, the hotel reeks of history. The service was first rate and the room was very large and comfortable.

There is also a Corner Bakery right across the place which proved handy and easy place to east for meals.

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner are best for access to the elevators.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We truly appreciate your recommendation and are glad that you found our location to be convenient. Corner Bakery is a nice place; the Café du Parc also has amazing breakfasts and very tasty coffee - please give it a try next time you are in town. We look forward to having you back with us again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived late at the hotel (10pm approx) and the hotel was fully booked, so the polite and friendly lady at the check-in desk advised us that she would like to upgrade us to one of their more expensive rooms from what we had paid for (this has unfortunately never happened to me before - so was very excited to see my room as you can imagine)

Due to the above I can't comment on the room we paid for or value for money as I don't know how much it would have costed for the room we stayed in, however the room has two double beds, a living/dining area and two bathrooms. It was very clean and nicely decorated, the main bathroom was very large and fearured a separate bath and shower. The beds were very comfortable and we couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms which lead us to have a good nights sleep.

The hotel itself I thought was beautiful, the hotel lobby is quite grand and the decor is quite traditional. I am led to believe the hotel is one of the oldest ones in Washington DC and has lots of history (though I am not from the US and cannot verify this).

the bell boys were very helpful and all the staff at the hotel were friendly but without being intrusive - perfect really.

The hotel has a perfect location, its so easy to walk from here to quite a few of the main Washington DC tourist sites, particularly around the Mall, e.g. the washington monument etc. Its also just around the corner from the W Hotel which has a rooftop bar/good nightlife (but I wouldnt choose to stay there because I still want to be able to sleep when I choose to go back to my room)

check-out was also easy.

If I ever visit Washington DC again, I would definately stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLIDAYoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here last week because we had to attend an event in DC.
Location couldn't be any better! It is very close to the White House & the mall with all the museums etc. etc.
Front desk people are very friendly. Check-in & out was super easy.
Hotel room itself was average I thought. Good size room with a king-size bed.(room 518) Could be updated though. Windows were very dirty (from the inside!!!) but room itself looked clean.
Bathroom is also average size and has good lighting.
Overall had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seekAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice, once in Feb and once in April '14, and were met with a warm genuine experience both times. The front desk seems to go out of their way to extend a genuine welcome to each customer, despite crowds and distractions, and provide a attentiveness during the check in/out. This can be a problem at hotels in D.C. as often times the staff is aware of when "big shots" are around and will service them first... We never got that feeling on either occasion. We didn't interact very much with other staff, aside from room service delivery (which was fine both times). The rooms we stayed in were essentially the same type of room, different floor lay outs but same bed, desk, bath, etc. There were some slight variances in the cleanliness of room two in April, i.e., not as thorough of vacuuming etc, February room was spotless. I understand that in huge hotels it must be a challenge getting all staff to meet same standards and the state of the room on our April stay didn't detract from the overall experience (just constructive criticism). We stayed via Amex FHR program and received upgraded room, $100 dollar food credit for use in room or in restaurants, as well as complimentary breakfast (again either in room or in restaurants). Definitely makes this a great place to stay for a night or a weekend. Moments away from all major D.C. landmarks and not too bad to get to Reagan National (DCA), Washington Dulles would be a bit of a haul. We definitely recommend the Willard for families, groups, and couples (we were on a getaway and didn't feel significant overcrowding and it was Easter). Valet parking can be chaotic if busy... Street out front is filled with traffic, cabs, and those trying to valet. If you are arriving at the same time as a rush of party-goers (wedding, etc) can be crazy.

Room Tip: Rooms higher to avoid the noise from street, Keurig in the room, watch out for random diplomatic/pol...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice ,good service and people. But is expensive hotel ,but is one of the best hotel .i stayed there in Christmas and is really good hotel and also has a good location .despite if u select a room of $500 matching with one of 700 I will select the one of 500 because have 2 beds but the one that is 700 doesn't have to much .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It has been around for quite some time now. In those days people din't bother too much about neighbors taking a shower and you listening in. They didn't bother that one room certainly does not resemble the other one. They just asked for another room when the one offered didn't meet expectations. So did I, and they gave me a decent room that didn't have an aircon-installation-view. A very spacious and nice room actually, with helpful staff around when you wanted them. A great bar for pre-evening drinks. Breakfast restaurant is quite small possibly resulting in a wait. Location is absolutely fabulous. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for another room when the one offered doesn't meet expectations.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £176 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing