We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing club lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel great
Nice upgrade to suite.
Very good front desk and concierge service with so friendly staff
The hotel does have a club lounge
I do not if they have health club
or Spa
They offer me as aroyal ambassador. Free breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental while on your trip to Washington, D.C. I am happy that you were offered an upgrade to a larger room and found it suitable to your needs and that the staff were efficient and meet your expectations on service levels. The Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa and health club is located on the second floor with state of the art equipment and plenty of natural lighting. We would love to welcome you back to the Willard on your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went to DC for my daughters college graduation and wanted to stay near the historic section and we did. The Willard is walking distance to The Mall, The White House and many other sights. The hotel itself was great, we had reserved a junior suite which was not available when we got there they upgraded us to a much larger suite at no extra cost. The staff was very friendly and the bar in the hotel was very historic and fun. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental. You certainly chose the right place to be embedded in American and international history. Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation; you must be proud parents. Your loyalty to the hotel is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a remarkable property--full of history and opulence of ages past. I was particularly thrilled to see all of the state seals painted into the ceiling of the lobby. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The rooms are quiet and gorgeous. Nothing is left to chance. It was a great experience staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Willard InterContinental. We are very fortunate to work in one of the historic buildings in Washington, D.C. and are glad you felt the same way. I am glad you enjoyed the state seals on the lobby ceiling; were you able to find Alaska and Hawaii? They are above the steps in Peacock Alley. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My sister took me to tea at the Willard. It was a lovely experience. Beautiful ambiance, harpist playing in the corner, attentive wait staff. Take my advice; skip the cucumber sandwiches and ask for extra clotted cream and lemon custard to go with the scones. Deeelish. Lovely, but pricey. (I didn't find a way to rate just the tearoom, so I rated the hotel.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend the afternoon at our afternoon tea here at the Willard InterContinental. I’m so happy that you and your sister had a wonderful experience. No need to skip the cucumber sandwiches; you may ask for extra clotted cream and lemon custard anytime! Throughout the different seasons we specialize the menu, décor and music so please come back and visit soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We loved our stay. We were on a upper floor with a fantastic view. This historic hotel has been beautifully restored and has the best location in Washington

I have just 2 minor complaints. There is no excuse for charging for the Internet. Also the cafe serves average food with poor service. We did enjoy the bar. We had the Park and Stay package.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful, historic building that is located in the heart of the city and are glad you felt the same way. I apologize that some areas of the hotel did not meet your expectations and will address them with the staff. Please sign up for our IHG Rewards program to receive complimentary internet usage. We have created so many great guest experiences and memories at our Cafe du Parc restaurant and therefore I am disappointed we fell below your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our nation’s capital and the Willard in the near future. Please let me know when you are coming this way to invite you to a luncheon on our open terrace of the cafe.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location, restaurants and lounges, and welcoming reception area are all fabulous. The outdoor cafe on a lovely spring day in DC cannot be beat. The lobby has over the top luxury and finish. The staff are courteous and very helpful. Shout out to the bell staff. Thanks for helping when you might have looked the other way. The room was very nice, not as lux as the lobby, but clearly the Willard invests in the shared space. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and well stocked. I stayed on business and could not experience all the wonderful dining and spa options. Definitely a strong value when all things are considered. I hope to return soon when I have more leisure time and can truly luxuriate in the graciousness and beauty.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your business and for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental. I am pleased that you had such a pleasant experience while staying with us. The bell staff truly are one of a kind and I’m glad you felt the same way. Our bell captain who has been with us since the reopening of the hotel is also known by some as the "Mayor of Pennsylvania Avenue," always seeking to help our guests as a mayor should be. A leisure trip to D.C. is fabulous with all of the sights to see and of course a much deserved pampering at the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa is a must after a long day of venturing around. Food on the terrace of Café du Parc with a view of the monument, a Mint Julep at the Round Robin Bar and a massage to sooth the body and soul sounds like a well deserved break. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

There is no other word for this hotel. It is pricey, but the proximity to the White House and the people that you may see while staying there makes up for it and makes it the quintessential DC experience. It is walking distance to so many things that you will want to visit while you are in DC that really helps to make up for the cost.

When we stayed here we took advantage of their breakfast each morning and it was excellent. I have been craving the sticky buns they offer ever since my stay here.

The view that we had of the Washington Monument from our window was another reminder that we were in our nation's capital each day when we woke up. We are actually planning a return trip to DC and plan on staying at least one more night at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jencornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental and for your kindness with this review. I am glad that our service and location made up for the cost. We truly enjoy building relationships with guests such as you and will have a sticky bun waiting for you on your next return. I am rather addicted to the sticky buns myself and my belt buckle reminds of that; yet with all the amazing walks in the city I have no excuse not to burn them off.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 142 in Washington DC
3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,906 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £190 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing