We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better place to stay in D.C..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“There is no better place to stay in D.C..”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a family trip that included my 11 year old son. Everyone loved it! The location, beauty, and history alone are worth it. The staff was available anytime we had questions, and were always willing to help. We will stay no where else when we visit Washington D.C..




D.C.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhgodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    627
    163
    64
    40
See reviews for
792
841
109
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

For the sense of history alone, the Willard is well worth a stay (Lincoln, MLK, "lobbyists", etc.). This was my 4th or 5th time staying at the Willard and it simply underlined for me why I choose to come here whenever I can. Stayed for business purposes, didn't have much time so spend around the hotel, but the service as always was exemplary, great fitness center which is important to me. The room itself was a deluxe, very spacious and comfortable, nice and quiet. Round Robin bar is a highlight and each time I'm here I find myself more than happy to eat a light meal in the evenings and enjoy a glass of decent wine and take in the surroundings -- always interesting characters around there! Overall, another great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything about this hotel is positive The service excellent, the rooms comfortable. We stayed here as part of a tour so don't know about the value. They handled our group of 23 very well. We also enjoyed their breakfast buffet and bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at The Willard has been exceptional. The staff goes above and beyond to make the customer happy. Not only is the hotel beautiful, it is within walking distance to the National Mall, the Smithsoniian buildings, and the White House.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Abbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. and for sharing your feedback. I am happy that you were satisfied with all accommodations as well as service received. hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at the Willard over the years but unfortunately sense a decline from when the hotel was refurbished in the 80s or 90s. When it reopened, it truly was an elite hotel. My last stay, last weekend, will be my last, however. When we arrived Saturday afternoon at about 5, not only was the room not ready, but I had to stand in line at the reception desk for more than 15 minutes to attempt to check in. They had two clerks and one trainee watching and clearly were not organized to make the check-in process be prompt and efficient. When it was my turn, I was told my room was made up, only awaiting an "inspection," would be ready in 15 to no more than 20 minutes, and that the desk clerk would come find me. 30 minutes later I had to go to the desk and work with another clerk (after standing in line again for the front desk) before getting the keys. And the room -- a suite on the top floor that was supposed to be "very nice and worth the wait" -- has seen better days. Poorly decorated, not up-to-date furniture, a panel into the ceiling and put back in with drywall screws. It is sad to see a grand old dame of a hotel not be kept up in terms of guest service and the quality of the rooms because I like older hotels that keep their character as opposed to newly built hotels. But, as the title suggest, in my view the hotel is no longer the elite hotel it once was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. We apologize that your room was not ready at check-in. I have no doubt that the front desk and housekeeping departments tried their very best to get your room turned over as quickly as possible and apologize for the delay. During our rooms renovation three years ago, our interior designers spent months on the decor; they try their best to maintain the historic charm while keeping up with the present times. I am saddened that your room was below your expectations. We certainly have an enormous array of suites and decor and I am sure that many would appeal to your taste. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Washington. We would be honored to be given another chance and I will personally handle your reservation and make up for our shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, MD
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I love this place. It has the history and ambiance of an era gone by. From arrival to departure, it is always a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. There are a variety of rooms to stay at and just lovely old world charm as you walk in. We had tea on Peacock Alley and it was so sumptuous. This hotel has easy access to all the sites and sounds of Washington. If you can afford a night or two and love history, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Willard and for your kindness with this review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy a cup of afternoon tea in Peacock Alley. The last day for afternoon tea is June 22nd but will resume this October. We would be delighted to have you back when we resume tea with our new Fall offerings. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of the summer.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a 9th floor suite (30th Anniversary) with a view of the Washington Monument. The view was gorgeous. The staff, to a person, was welcoming and helpful. The Cafe du Parc for breakfast is a must - I had THE BEST EGGS BENEDICT, ever - freshly made english muffins and Virginia ham....perfect. Walking distance to every attraction, except possibly Arlington Cemetery (we took a cab). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Willard and for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. There is something breathtaking about going to sleep and waking up to a view of the Washington Monument or the “big pencil” as locals like to call it. I am so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings in Café du Parc - we all know the importance of a great breakfast to start off a busy day! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,806 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing