We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with history but some minor irritations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The grandness of the hotel, its history and location make it a great place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and we received a nice upgrade to a suite as member of the chain.

So we recommend staying here. But there are a few minor things that suggest that it may need to be more attentive to guests. There was a line both at checkin and checkout with only two people there, one being on the phone often and not very welcoming. Our room was an hour and a half late, perhaps because of the upgrade but it was still a little annoying. One bag brought to us was not ours. And I share the frustration of other reviewers that it costs ten dollars to print a couple of pages since you have to pay for internet at the business centre then about a dollar a page. Penny pinching that is unnecessary and out of fashion. Perhaps they have just taken their eye off their customers a bit.

But overall the stay was very good and we look forward to going back again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,864 - 1,870 of 3,147 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

What we loved: gorgeous regal property, inside and out; Large clean rooms, historic feel, friendly staff, amazing central location right down the street from the White House!

What we didn't love: No free wi-fi. Really, Willard? You charged $11.00 per day PER DEVICE for wifi that was spotty and slow. Really poor and disappointing for a hotel of this calibre.
Also, the mini bar is stuffed to the brim with overpriced junk we never would use. We would've loved to put our own snacks and water bottles in there but, of course, there was a FEE to have everything removed from the bar so we could do so. Again, really?
The business center wanted $8.00 for 15 minutes of use of the computer and printer.
All of these things were free at the Plaza in New York - with a concierge that was eager and willing to print out our flight boarding passes for free.
The Hotel is wonderful but I had to take off a star for all of the "nickel and dining." THAT is not luxurious. Take a lesson from the Montage or the Plaza Hotel.
We will probably stay somewhere else on our next DC trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The history of this hotel is a part of our nation's past & present. Lincoln stayed here the nights before his inaugnaration. Grant used to read the paper in the corner of the lobby while President. This hotel looks like it did when all this occurred. It is elegant and the service is outstanding. The location is amazing; 2 blocks from the White House and conveniently situated near good restaurants and the sites of our Capitol city. This is not a small hotel but the service makes you feel like it's a high service boutique one. Don't miss the Round Robin Bar up a few stairs from the lobby. The bartender has been there since the Willard reopened in the late 80's. It's not inexpensive but a place this special needs to be enjoyed and you get what you paid in service and great memories.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived late and asked for upgrade. Was awarded with the honeymoon suite. Great room with fantastic views. Staff are the best ever. Had a few drinks and snacks in the bar which again were a joy to be served by some of the staff. Headed off the following day after lunch of the front terrace to meet friends in old town but wished we stayed.....will be back.....best hotel I have stayed in ever due to staff and the history location of the hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel and enjoyed staying here with my family for spending some tourist time in Washington DC. The hotel has quite a bit of character and touch of luxury , a nice step up and change of pace from a typical hotel room. Great choice for anyone who wants to stay in the middle of it all and walk to the White House, memorials and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly-or-drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great historic hotel in a great location! I am an Ambassador member, so as always, I got the perks and they were more than happy to make sure you got them, the late check out, upgraded to 10th floor Superior King, beautiful, looked right out at the Washington Monument. Hotel did a great Kentucky Derby party down at the Round Robin bar, which was sooooo much fun, complete with Mint Juleps! Walking distance to everything almost. Right around the corner from the other historic, Old Ebbits Grill! Had a fantastic time seeing all the major sites and loved Georgetown, which is only 10 minute taxi ride away. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a family trip that included my 11 year old son. Everyone loved it! The location, beauty, and history alone are worth it. The staff was available anytime we had questions, and were always willing to help. We will stay no where else when we visit Washington D.C..




D.C.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhgodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,238 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,120 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
449 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,951 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £156 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing