We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This historical hotel was amazing. The rooms are very large, clean, and upscale. The service is very well also. Very good location to all of the attractions....The only complaint I have: they really need to monitor the Taxi line. Our ride back to the airport had no A/C, Duct tape holding the handles on the car, and was really torn up. At a property such as The Willard, taxi cabs should be up to par.....

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side and was able to see all of the secret service escorting the President...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114AmyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,033)
There are newer reviews for Willard InterContinental Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 3,033 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I stayed in a deluxe king room with a rollaway bed on the ninth floor. The room was spacious and clean and the rollaway bed comfortable. The location was fantastic and within walking distance to all of the major attractions (museums and landmarks) and nearby DuPont Circle. However, during our stay a foreign dignitary was at the hotel and as precaution we had to have our baggage scanned (including purses) every time we entered the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRoberts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Willard has an amazing history which only adds to the experience. What impressed us the most was the attentiveness of the staff. From the concierge to the desk staff and housekeeping staff everyone was totally focused to ensure that our stay was the best. They have a boulevard cafe that we sampled cheese and wine in the afternoon and later for dinner. While the afternoon was sunny, the evening turned rainy but remained warm and humid. We finished our meal under umbrellas without getting wet. It was quite sublime.
I would suggest not having a room over Pennsylvania Ave or at least have a higher floor. DC wakes up early. The Hamilton behind the Willard has a very good restaurant and apparently a good jazz room in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 days on a visit from Australia. The history of this building is amazing - take the time to view the clippings and memorabilia they have collected and exhibit in the back of the building. I enjoyed spending time in the public areas taking photographs, soaking in the history of it. The bar was brilliant - very cosy, sophisticated, great finger food and really friendly staff - such a chilled atmosphere. Our room was simply stunning and had a great view. After travelling for almost 24 hours, it was a welcome comfort - really comfortable bed, fairly small but very well appointed bathroom. Beautiful furnishings that fit the hotel, rather than stock standard, which I really appreciate - especially the wing chair by the window where I could look out on the Washington Monument. The staff were all very friendly and so helpful, even for late room service. The location was perfect as I spent most of my time at the museums and galleries, and this was walking distance to everything. Certainly a luxury, but worth it. If you aren't able to stay there, at least have a look in the public areas and have a drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From check in I was greeted with professionalism & given a beautiful room & floor; I was even offered & shown 2 which I loved!! Rooms were outstanding completely lived up to the expectation of what u had seen & read! I would have no heatstion to stay here again & would 100% recommend it to my Aus & USA family & friends.

& the location was perfect for my first time in DC :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Willard has set the highest standards (for more than a century) in DC, and possibly the USA. It continues to do so.

The location, across from US Treasury and 5 minute walk to White House and Lafayette Square, is unbeatable.

The rooms are kept up to date, but with period furnishings. Rooms range from compact (Holiday Inn size), to quite large (at least for a standard room, non-suite). Bathrooms are clean and up to date.

Front desk personnel are ready to assist. We needed a rollaway in our room, and it was delivered within 15 minutes. (one of the best rollaway beds I have ever seen, by the way!)

It's hard to go wrong with thise Grande Dame of DC!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'Willard room'
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereUg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The grandness of the hotel, its history and location make it a great place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and we received a nice upgrade to a suite as member of the chain.

So we recommend staying here. But there are a few minor things that suggest that it may need to be more attentive to guests. There was a line both at checkin and checkout with only two people there, one being on the phone often and not very welcoming. Our room was an hour and a half late, perhaps because of the upgrade but it was still a little annoying. One bag brought to us was not ours. And I share the frustration of other reviewers that it costs ten dollars to print a couple of pages since you have to pay for internet at the business centre then about a dollar a page. Penny pinching that is unnecessary and out of fashion. Perhaps they have just taken their eye off their customers a bit.

But overall the stay was very good and we look forward to going back again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £176 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing