We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were in DC for a weekend and stayed at the Willard for its location. It's right across from the Treasury Dept & literally steps away from the White House, WWII memorial, Washington Monument & Lincoln memorial. It's also located near several highly-rated DC restaurants (Founding Farmers, Old Ebbit Grill, El Chalan etc). We were able to pretty much walk everywhere. We were in room 1122 which was massive in size in comparison to hotels in NYC (where we are from). Everything appeared clean & well-kept. The shower is plumbed incorrectly though as hot water is labeled "C" and cold water "H" which was not a big deal. WIFI is not free which was very disappointing as this is DC and one would expect WIFI to be free, specially for a 5 star luxury hotel charging what they do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rohk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

My fourth stay, but the first is several years. If you enjoy grand hotels this certainly qualifies. The bar and restraunts are very good, but the Willard Room which was one of my favorite restraunts anywhere closed a few years ago. This was very disappointing.

The rooms are very quiet but like most hotels it could use some updates, but nothing that will keep me from returning.

One other issue is that in this day and time wi-fi costs $11 per day while holiday inns are free.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atlas750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Prime location and the one of DC's must stay. Very at tentative staff and friendly. They make you feel at home. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. Prices change regarding the season, if off season very affordable. The lobby and décor are from the great times of old DC. The Round Robin bar is the epitome of DC. You may find all kinds of people there enjoying a late night cocktail. My favorite hotel in DC, we go there often.. Much better than the W.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this hotel is just superb and the historical building is well kept and cared for. The room (Jnr suite) was nice and spacious - what I would expect from an Intercontinental - but no more. Given the nature and location of this hotel I was surprised that it did not have an executive club or lounge. It would have made a big difference. The great disappointments of this hotel are the F&B offerings. The bar is small and always seemed overcrowded, however the biggest failing is the dining room. Breakfast is a nightmare with a crazy layout, staff and guests tripping over each other and a tiny capacity. Dinner was equally dissapointing. Many of the wait staff were going through the motions - seemingly over-attentive, but not really listening to what the guests were asking of them, the kitchen staff were switched off and nothing seemed to work. I would probably not stay here again to avoid having to go back into that mad-house.

This hotel has great potential and tries hard to meet Intercontinental standards, but falls short mostly because of F&B issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear MrL_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the room accommodations you had. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you noticed and the challenges you had in our bar and restaurant fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I knew it was going to be nice but wow. I love the other Inter continentals I've stayed at but the one is over the top. I was blown away from the moment I walked through the door. The lobby is beautiful and really sets the tone for the entire stay. I can't believe I didn't get pictures of it but since you are already online just Google it. The pictures don't lie. The grandeur of the the main lobby was also reflected in the staff. From the valet parking, concierge and reception desk, everyone made me feel like they had just been waiting for me to show up.

My room was mind blowingly incredible and I did take pictures. I stayed in the Abraham Lincoln Suite. I have no idea of the square footage but I have lived in smaller houses. I love the classic decor is warm and relaxing and did I mention spacious? My joke that puts the size into perspective, room service rang the door bell and I answered the wrong door. That really did happen. This room would be outstanding for a small group gathering. The dinning room, yes a separate room, has an 8 place table and chairs. A main/living room, 2 bath rooms, walk in shower. The bed room is larger than most European hotel rooms. (not the intercontinental in Frankfurt GE)

Location, location, location. If you are just touring DC just leave the car. You can walk everywhere. Or if so inclined take a tour bus. However I enjoyed the walk. The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the Washington monument. Once you are there you are about a mile away in any direction form the Lincoln memorial, the White House, the capital, and the Jefferson Memorial. In between all that is WWII memorial, Vietnam, memorial, the Korean War Memorial. And museums galore.

Without a doubt I will be back to the Willard. It is absolutely incredible.

Room Tip: I doubt they have a badroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AHornback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We chose the Willard for its location and proximity to the top Washington sights for a business meeting. This proved to be a great choice as became obvious during a jet-lagged early morning jog past White House, Monument and Jefferson memorial, and the park only a block away.
The hotel is also great, vibes of classy history in every corner and especially the lobby. The rooms (nice but not great upgrade to a junior suite due to Royal Ambassador status) are classic but well maintained with excellent amenities and great technical equipment.
Catering as well as breakfast at the cafe du parc was of outstanding quality, as was the staff in general: always available, never intrusive and very knowledgeable.
Finishing the meeting on the outside terrace of the Cafe Du Parc, breathing in true DC atmosphere was just the highlight of this stay.

Overall, I guess it delivers what Intercontinental promises around the world.

Room Tip: Go for Pennsylvania Avenue or courtyard facing rooms to immerse in Washington DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jl_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Staying at The Willard Hotel was on my bucket list, and the experience surpassed my expectations. It is historically interesting, beautifully decorated, centrally located and staffed by very friendly, knowledgable people. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,281 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
3,152 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
2,357 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £153 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing