We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a quick weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I enjoyed my 2 night stay here for a girls weekend. The hotel has amazing history and, as others have said, it is very conveniently located. We didn't take our car anywhere because it was just so much easier to walk. The room was the size I expected from an older hotel, but clean and well-appointed with an enormous TV (apparently new per the front desk staff).

Room Tip: Higher floors most likely have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LthePoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly placed near the museums and monuments (walking distance). We have had 2 wonderful stays with the Willard. Staff are helpful and courteous, always responding to our needs. The room service breakfast is out of this world. Everything is expensive so just go in knowing that. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Need a little updating to the bathrooms, but overall very nice. Walking distance to many restaurants and easy access to cabs with the valet. Love this place!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

very little more to say. Restaurant was awful. Sent the steak back twice. If it wasn't over hung it was off. Very tired looking surroundings and the staff were superior, inattentive and downright chaotic at times. The restrooms reminded me of those in a railway station. You need to pull your socks up Willard and look to the beautiful, sophisticated Hay Adams as your inspiration.

Room Tip: Nothing to add unfortunately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Narcissus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Narcissus666,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize if some of our services fell below your standards. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured actions will be taken accordingly in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We came back to our wedding spot 10 years later. Our valet and bellman definitely not pleasant. The front desk Ali made up for all of that with his warm sincere conduct. The room on the second floor comfy but VERY noisy. No hot water in the morning ;( had room service for breakfast efficient and delicious but certainly pricy. So overall I think there are better places to stay in the area but for nostalgic reasons we will probably visit again but not soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Anonthego,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here based on location and were very pleased with the services, comfort, and convenience to visit all the nearby sites. Many places to eat nearby, walk to every thing, and relax with a cocktail in the bar.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less noise and potential city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BurritoBandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'm honestly a little disappointed by my stay at the Willard. It's in a gorgeous building in the heart of DC and has a very special history. The last time I stayed as in 2007, and it was one of the most luxurious hotels I had ever stayed in. I had so much been looking forward to staying here, especially now that it's an Intercontinental, but I think I'll be heading back to my other DC favorites--the Hay Adams and the Loews, both of which have been consistently excellent.

I am on night 2 of a 2-night trip that I booked through my office's travel agency. Last night there was cigarette smoke coming in through the vents of my room. The room itself was starting to look a little warn, needing carpet and wallpaper updates to freshen the place up. The front desk kindly switched rooms for me this afternoon, and I swapped cigarette smoke for a dank, stuffy smell. The new room, though on a higher floor, is similarly feeling a little run down, gets a lot of street noise, and the toilet runs. The wifi in both rooms was very weak, making it challenging to get work done efficiently. The linens are clean and nicely bleached, but nothing special. For a hotel of this caliber, there aren't any of the typical niceties--e.g., complimentary bottles of water, fresh fruit in the lobby, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbosusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Jbosusa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that your issues regarding the previous room assigned to you was addressed in a timely manner. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if our hotel fell below your expectations. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Willard for a wedding and will definitely be returning. The history of the hotel is amazing! Very conveniently located to the attractions and the train station. The staff at the hotel couldn't be more accomodating. The room was large, clean and beautifully decorated. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Much2bdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,907 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £187 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing