We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite DC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This old hotel is beautifully refurbished and has a very historic feel to it. Always stay here when traveling on business in DC. Room was lovely and spacious. Very centrally located for whatever you plan to do in DC. Service at the front desk was a little slow but other than that, no complaints.

Room Tip: I was on a high floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Exceeded our expectations for a 40th anniversary celebration. Long-time fans of grand old hotels, we sought a venue with history and elegance. The Willard delivered! We asked for - and were granted - an upgrade to a suite. And WHAT a suite it was! Huge and lavishly-appointed. We got a glimpse of a "standard" room and saw that we would have been perfectly happy with one of those but the hotel staff was so willing to accommodate us we could hardly refuse. It was fun to watch events surrounding 2 weddings going on during our stay. We enjoyed having drinks in the bar on site and breakfast in The Crystal Room. We were mildly disappointed not to be able to have breakfast outdoors at Café du Parc since it was such a gorgeous morning. Our celebration included dinner at Old Ebbitts Grill (another time we'd opt for something quieter and off the beaten path) and a fabulous performance by The Capitol Steps. The Willard was perfectly-situated for all of this. Special shout-outs to Margaret Rufkowska (a trainee who has more than earned her "wings") MOD, Cintia Becerra, and the concierges. Almost everyone with whom we came in contact wished us happy anniversary. Complimentary champagne was offered, even!

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the last week of July, and I couldn't be happier with my decision! The location was unbeatable for walking everywhere we went. It was my first time in Washington DC so location was of utmost importance. Since my family and I enjoy walking everywhere, the Willard was a perfect fit to go to the museums and monuments. We even walked over to Arlington National Cemetery which was a bit of a hike but so worth the time!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kraye-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have been at a lot of sales meetings over the last 17 years,but to come to such a beautiful historic hotel like the Willard was really amazing. The food was wonderful (I appreciate presentation) the staff especially Alex our server was something right out of the movie the butler. My room was a jr suite, I felt the bathroom could have been bigger, but again I have to remind myself this is an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and my room over looked Washington memorial!!! There some construction going on during the day,but quiet at night. Staff was amazing, location was great, we even got a history lesson from the pr person in the hotel, I went to the round room, drinks and bartender where great, hope I can go for pleasure the next time the spa looked really nice.

Room Tip: Further into the floor anything close to the elevator was a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Within a long block of The White House and there are many wonderful eateries within a half mile.
Walk down just a few blocks and you are at the Washington Monument and you can go either East to the Mall and all of the Smithsonian buildings or West to the WWII Monument, Vietnam Memorial , the Reflecting Pool amd then good ol' Honest Abe!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 14th Street side and besure to keep your windows closed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Willard Hotel, located on Pennsylvania Avenue is a beautiful old world historic, luxury icon. Just one block from the Ronald Regan Building, it is the perfect place to stay when applying for Global Entry known traveler membership. By using your Platinum American Express credit card your $85.00 registration fee is refunded for the membership application. Booking your room through American Express also gives you early check-in and late check-out. Other AMEX perks include a room up-grade when available, a complimentary full breakfast and $100.00 room credit for bar or dining expenses. We were up-graded from a standard room, two levels to a two room suite! My husband and I both enjoyed a delicious dinner of beef tenderloin at the hotel Cafe du Parc. The next morning eggs benedict and smoked salmon by room service were complimentary including tax and gratuity! The Red Door spa is on site as well. My deluxe facial was outstanding. Every staff member went out of their way to give superior service. The only down side was a $50.00 per day parking charge. So skip the security lines at the airport, enjoy a wonderful elegant hotel, fine dining and a special spa treat while saving more than $200!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank tryapepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Elegant with a great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant food
excellent. Breakfast Buffet, although $25 per person was wonderful and included juice and coffee. Café du Parc had inside and outside service just like a French café; it also had great food.
You can walk to the White House, other restaurants, Smithsonian museums and the Big Bus
(on and off type) stops at the corner.
Rooms had mimi bar (beware of the 5second rule) and a Kureg with coffee and tea and twice
daily maid service.
It's not the most handicapped friendly hotel but they try to help with small lifts and elevators.
Would we stay there again, YES

Room Tip: Front facing rooms view the Washington Monument - request floor 8 and above. There are only 12 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £159 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing