We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel is all about location. Nice, historic hotel with elegant common areas but what makes it great is how close it is to everything. A few blocks away from the White House and the National Mall and within walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. The ambiance is really nice inside the hotel as well and the extra amenities in the room like cotton pads, q-tips, nail file and emery board were great. The room itself was a little dated but extremely spacious, which was surprising given some of the reviews we read, and had a big, flat panel TV. The king bed was huge and very soft and comfortable but too soft for my sleeping habit. Housekeeping did a great job of taking care of the room during our 4 night stay. The room was always clean by the time we got back to it in the late afternoon. The room attendant was also very appreciative of the tip we left for her every day and made a point to tell us one day in the hallway. We were surprised she even knew who we were since we only saw her in passing once before she thanked us. We made sure to avoid touching any of the stuff at the mini bar after reading the advice on this site. Although the front desk efficiently took care of some charges from a couple at the desk when we were standing there that had just moved a few items but did not consume them. So even if you do move items from the mini bar it did not seem to be an issue. The concierge service was also very nice to have and very helpful. They were able to suggest a couple of restaurants, help us get out to union station for a tour, and gave us some information on the metro. We had drinks and dessert out at the Café du Parc a few times but did not have a meal there. We were going to have brunch there on Sunday morning but it was $31 per person and that was more than we were willing to pay for brunch. The outdoor patio was great though since the weather was amazing. The only issue we had during our stay was when we went to check out of the hotel. When we checked in we were told it would be ok to pay in cash when we checked out but when we went up to settle our account they had already charged our credit card the day before we checked out. They claimed it was because we booked an “advanced purchase” through the Priority Club website but we had never had this issue before. We always pay in cash when we stay at a hotel upon checkout but this is the first time there was a problem with it. Strange especially since we had talked to the front desk about checking out with cash when we checked into the hotel and they said it wouldn’t be an issue. They were eventually able to credit our account back so we settle in cash. We would definitely stay again because the location of this hotel just can’t be beat.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kag19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    611
    157
    63
    39
See reviews for
764
816
109
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The Willard is my choice whenever I travel to Washington. I have lived and worked in the city for years, and the Williard is renouned as first class accomodations and VIP treatment. The service is always outstanding, the rooms are comfortable and spacious (for downtown DC), and they are luxuriously appointed. Situated one block from the White House and three blocks from the Monuments, this is the perfect location for a business or vacation stay.
I would recommend trying the Old Ebbit Grille next door (at 15th and G) for a good all-American meal. The food is fantastic, but save room for the "Blondie Sunday", which is to die for. If drinks with a view is on your mind, head to the W hotel roof-top bar for a beautiful view of the monuments at night.
Most of all, enjoy your stay in this historic jem.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdalton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I visited this hotel with my son in early summer. This is the best place to stay when visiting the White House. The hotel runs specials on weekend nights, so it's a much better value for a luxury property than the Ritz Carltons, Four Seasons, etc., and many other inferior properties. We like to rent bikes and cycle - the rental place is right across Pennsylvania Ave. and down a block, as is the entrance to the Metro. The Round Robin bar was a fun place to relax with a drink. Skip the overpriced main dining room breakfast - we paid over $50 for a fruit plate and a bowl of oatmeal, with coffee and juice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We have been in DC for a couple of days and stayed at the Willard Intercontinental. We have experienced a high professionalism and a high level of service with all staff. The price was high, but from my point of view justified. we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkySteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhead GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband's cousin was a decorated Vietnam Veteran and was to be buried in Arlington National Cemetery with full military honors. Our almost 16 year old son had never been to DC. My husband decided to make a nice weekend of it and take us to the Willard, one of DC's most historic and loveliest old hotels. We were not disappointed!!! Our room with 2 Queen beds was expansive, big enough to share with a 6'2" teenager comfortably! The white marble bath was roomy. The hotel staff provided lush bathrobes for all three of us. The breakfast at the Cafe du Parc was prepared perfectly and served with a flourish. The concierge answered questions quickly and efficiently and the Front Desk staff was lovely. Was the hotel cheap? No. Was the Willard worth the price? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcnally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location can't be beat. The service of the desk staff and concierge were great. Housekeeping was lack luster. I got a great rate from the Amex preferred hotels group. The upgrade was also available at time of check in. I picked the Willard for location and the guarentee of two queen beds. The JW Marriott and the W are right next store. For my next visit I will compare rates. The rooms at the Willard are a bit dated and there were several large conventions in house. I hope the the housekeeping staff attends to visiting dignitaries better than the ordinary folk. We left our room at 10:00 am and returned at 4:30 pm to find that the room had not been serviced. On the second day I grabbed for a towel finding that it was soiled. Gross!!! Cafe Du Parc has a great buffet if breakfast is included in the rate otherwise there are several places just around the corner. Starbucks is located across the street on the second floor of the JW. A bright spot was the concierge, Guilliame's restaurant recommendations were spot on. Oya was trendy and the sushi was outstanding. I highly recommend.
While in DC, I had lunch at the Four Seasons in Georgetown. If location and money were not a consideration I would stay there. Also, from the lobby the W looked like a great spot.
As for seeing the sites, The Willard is in walking distance to everything. On trip advisors recommendations we took the DC by Foot free monument tour. It was as good as described. The tour leaves at 6:00 from the corner of Constitution and 14th. It is free and full of fun facts. The guide is entertaining. I would recommend this on day one. The News Museum was a hit with the teens. We had been to the Spy and National Museums of Crime and Punishment before so we skipped on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

You will not go wrong booking this hotel.   Yes, it's expensive, but for the location and the level of service, it was worth it to us.   We traveled with two 7 yr olds and a 3 yr old. We had a good size room, 2 very comfy beds, 2 windows - 4th floor  - view was nothing special.  The frige is stocked, if you take something out it's billed to your room so just remember to let the front desk know what you actually ate/drank.  We had "in room" breakfast from the hotel's resturant one morning.  It was really good, but very expensive.There's a 18% service charge added to the bill and I don't think it was a gratuity so we tipped also.  We ate at Old Ebbitt's Grill twice, it's just around the corner (exit out the back of the hotel).  The first night we ate early around 5pm and it was a 5 minute wait, but the second time we ate there we went around 6:30pm and it was a 45 minute wait.  The hotel is walking distance to the Washington Monument, the White House, US Mint,  The National Mall. We took the cab a few times...to the Capitol...then another time  to Lincoln Memorial.    We walked back from the Capitol to the Museums.   We ate the Native American Museum's Cafeteria - it was good - lots of choices.   We went to the Natural History and American History Museum and walked back to the hotel.   I say all that so you can see that you are walking distance to so much.   The 3 year old faired well - no stroller - he walked.  As I mentioned, we took cab to Lincoln Mem and walked over the Veitnam Mem and WWII Mem - caught a cab back.   Cab fare - family of 5 was $11.   Great trip - can't wait to do it again and see much more when the children are a little older.   We did all that in 2 days with relaxing nights at the hotel. 

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaof3lovesDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing