We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Willard- elegance, location and history, what a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed at the Willard on Labor Day weekend. The hotel itself is beautiful and steeped in history. Just staying there took us back in time and sparked many discussions about the previous visitors, residents and travelers at this property. The location can't be beat when visiting the sights in DC either. The staff was great, the rooms were very nice and well stocked, bed was very comfortable and breakfast room service was DELICIOUS! If you want to splurge in DC, the Willard is a great choice. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,739 - 2,745 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

We traveled to DC to meet with our Congressman and were fortunate enough to stay at the Willard. From the valet to the front desk we encountered friendly, professional staff. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the rooms were plush, clean and spacious. We ate breakfast in the Cafe du Parc and enjoyed a French buffet that filled us up for a day of touring. When in DC I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackson190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This is a beautiful, historic hotel located near the White House, and a short walk from Metro Center. The lobby, rooms, halls, etc are beautiful and clean.
The staff was helpful and very pleasant.
I have stayed in DC over twenty times, and prefer this hotel to others in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j316mmlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were eager to stay here, reading the hotel reviews. We had previously stayed in the Hay Adams and were expecting even more from the Willard. Although the lobby was beautiful, the people friendly, rooms spacious although dated, the overall experience was less than pleasant. The doormen did not greet you or help with bags. To call a cab, was beyond their duties. We returned in the rain, and I had to jump out and get the umbrella for my wife. We asked for wake up calls, which never came. Breakfast looked much better than it tasted. The service was terrible. First the eggs, then the toast five minutes later, and was delivered cold and toasted on one side. The package included a food allowance, but with such bad food it was useless. On the plus side, the maid service was excellent, the rooms clean and the concierge was most helpful. But, for us, it is back to the Hay Adams.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AHR526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My fiance and I celebrated the anniversary of our first date with a weekend stay. We live in suburban Maryland and wanted a nice relaxing stay in the city. We were not dissapointed. From the time we checked in to our driving away, we loved the experience the Willard provides. I should also mention that we are planning our wedding at the Willard, and this provided us an oppotunity to test-drive the stay. We joined as member's of the InterContinental's Ambassador program, and I will say the $150 was worth it. Our Premium room (the cheapest basic room you can book at the Willard) was upgraded to a corner Executive Guest Suite. The bathroom, although large with a separte tub and stall shower, was not a recent upgrade and reminded me of those typical tile baths in a NYC hotel. These baths are due for an upgrade as we've seen renovated baths for their Deluxe rooms.

We had some friends come visit us one night and ordered room service for some hors d'oeuvres and a bottle of champagne. The food was very good for room service, and this is coming from foodies who are very critical. As we were noshing, maid service came around to fill our ice bucket and provide a handful of chocolates.

As Ambassador members, we receive a late checkout of 4pm, so we had a nice brunch at the Cafe du Parc (loved their brunch buffet!). We were sad to learn that they had closed the Willard Room Sunday brunch as we had always enjoyed this (they have also closed the Willard Room for dinner, etc., except for special occassions. It is now a room for hire for special events like birthday parties, weddings, etc. In fact, a wedding was holding their cocktail hour on a Saturday night.

I didn't visit the spa this time, but I have had services there. It's a small basic spa, but quite adequate. The gym is nice with the rudimentary equipment, but the weather was nice, so we went for an early morning jog pass many of the DC sites. We even did a quick hour through the American History Museum in the middle of our jog! My fiance kept saying how he could see living in such a hotel!

There are more modern places to stay nearby (the W Hotel is just around the corner), but the Willard is still impressive. Some call it stale. I call it historical elegance!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I was so looking forward to staying at the Willard based on the reviews but the service of lack of was the reason for this dissapoinment.
Firstly i was told i did not have my automatic Ambassador upgrade as they were all taken, then after i checked in i was told i had been in fact upgraded and that it was a training issue. Also the hotel information in elevators and rooms still has restaurant details for the Willard room which is now closed and another restaurant which has been sold off but is still part of the hotel. We dined in the one which has now been sold off and when i asked for the bill to be added to the room it became clear. But the worst thing was the service i received in the hotel bar with the most rude bar tender ( a lady) who was unhelpful and agressive we were going to dine in the bar but after this we left and went to the W Hotel next door. Another genral point were most of the staff were pretty clueless on anything asked of them.
But on the plus side the rooms i had was very spacious and comfrotable but the decor is dated if you prefer a more contempary feel, mind you the Willard is an institution so to modern a feel would be detremental to its fantastic history.
All in all a big let down and i wont be back next time i will most likely stay at the Hilton or W Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

As always since I value service much more than the facility, this place gets 5 stars from me. The Willard is a beautiful facility. We had a weekend deal so we stayed here for our anniversary. Since I am picky about my anniversary, I stopped by the day before to check a sample room. The girl who showed me the room was beyond pleasant and warm. Unfortunately can't remember her name but she had beautiful features, light brown hair, I think blue eyes. She sits at the small desk next to registration and normally wears a skirt. She is medium built and had a beautifuly and a warm smile.

they decorated my room with some nice "heart shaped" chocholate before we arrived because I told this very sweet girl about our anniversary. My partner was blown away and this trip made us so much closer to each other. The staff in general is on top of things and extremely professional. This facility had a great gym and nice in-room breakfast service.

Caffe du parc was just average. The girl who sat us told us it was buffet only, because we were late but then many people came after us who ordered fresh omletes from the bar and our waiter did not explain that option to us. But the hotel was so great I will not ding them for cafe du park.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmel110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
426 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £165 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing