We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, historic luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful, historic luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

The Willard, one of the oldest hotels in Washington DC is a step back in time. We had a lovely suite, all-be-it at the rear. The rooms are enourmous and very comfortably furnished. The two large double beds were fantastically comfortable. I think I particularly liked it for it's very sympathetic restoration. It is not trying to be a modern hotel, but wonderfully old fashioned.
The staff are typically American, that being unfailingly helpful and polite. I know that some people find the 'have a nice days' anoying after a while, I, coming from London, find it refreshingly charming.
Breakfast is everything you would expect, in the lovely Cafe Du Parc, which for the rest of the day becomes a French bistro.
The Round Robin bar if perfect, as is the Occidental Grill (a must visit).
I defy any hotel in Washington to have a better location, almost next to the White House, with the Capitol at the end of the street, and all the museums and the Mall just a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    585
    153
    57
    38
See reviews for
732
779
103
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

I recommend this hotel to anyone! The rooms are fabulous and its near EVERYTHING you could want to see or do in DC

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank meganryan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greene ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

When you pull up you are in luxery from the heated sidewalk overhang where the bellman takes your bags and parks you car, to the extravagant lobby with all the historical items (Ceiling has symbol of each state in the US). This hotel was amazing...the beds were lush, the rooms big...and the fitness center!!!!! amazing...clean, good equipment, with a sauna and steam room in the locker room. my daughter and I spent a nice morning in there.....We stayed a part of a promotion, but were spoiled so well i would pay the price to return. the location was perfect for walking to the national mall with the monuments and museums, and the capitol building. we ate lunch at teh potbelly's sandwichmaker place which was fun for the kids. being next door to the white house has its appeal!! We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Convenient location, comfortable rooms, accommodating staff and mindful security. The front of the hotel is a little hectic, try using the back entrance.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

I guess I was expecting a lot for a 5 star rated hotel.. but really, it was no different to me than the other hotels I've stayed at.

I am, however, grateful that they let us check in our rooms 2 hours early, but the room we got checked into was close to the stairs.. i think they were the emergency stairway... I could hear people going through those doors as well as hear the conversations in the hallway at 2AM...

I should have complained, but I didnt because i was too tired...

The only great thing about the hotel is that it's really close to the monuments and is walking distance to a lot of attractions.

I didn't like the hotel restaurant. too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rasjve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

The hotel did not live up to my expectations. This is a historic building, but the room condition was not suitable for a 5-star hotel. I have read many great reviews of the hotel, and probably the other guests were delighted just being in this hotel forgiving them their negligence or applying the "historic building" excuse to the decaying room conditions. The staff was friendly and helpful enough so no complains there. The location of the hotel is superb for visiting the museums and other historic attractions. I was told that the hotel is undergoing renovations, but as it is now it should not be marketed as a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fil-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

perfect location for a weekend in Washington DC. Tour buses stop right outside hotel door.... Filene's Basement across the street.... walking distance to many monuments and museums - Hope Diamond, Archives, etc. Tried the onsite Cafe du Parc, coffee in the afternoon was horrible, but the sunday brunch was fantastic although I've seen better table service (at an adjacent table!) as we had to ask for juice, water and coffee refills. Frequented the hotel bar twice, very good service there. Front desk staff very friendly and always pleasantly greeted by housekeeping and bell staff.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mapleleaf_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing