We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a Class of Its Own” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Dakota
Level Contributor
233 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“In a Class of Its Own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Having stayed at various venues in Washington over the past few years, the Willard is in a class of its own.

It has all the elegance of an old style (but refurbished) classic hotel with all the efficiency and comfort of a top of the line brand new property. I was particularly impressed that although the check in desk retained all the old key box pigeon holes behind the counter, the air handling system was one of the quietest and most efficient I have encountered recently.

Although we had a spectacular conference rate I noticed that their online rate for the weekend we checked out was particularly competitive and attractive. Would I pay the rack rate of $400 to $500 per room per night? Probably not. Will I check for last minute online deals the next time I am Washington? You bet.

This is one of the few hotels I've stayed in recently that was, in itself a tourist attraction. You do have to put up with folks wandering through the lobby and common areas taking pictures. But there are amazing real bouquets in the lobby that are worth your time to admire and a splendid harp-accompanied high tea each afternoon.

Glad we were there and will look for an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    585
    153
    57
    38
See reviews for
732
779
103
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Point, MS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel is absolutely stunning! The staff were wonderful, the rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds were comfortable. The food from room service was quick and delicious! I love the location and being able to walk anywhere in the national mall.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

For years I have meant to write a review of this place.

I stayed the first time at the Willard in 1992 and have returned dozens of times over the years. I am here today and thought I should finally write a review while I am thinking about it!

From the normal guest rooms to my favorite, The Oval Suite, the rooms are elegantly appointed but with all the modern touches we expect from Intercontinental.

Afternoon Tea is not to be missed going down Peacock Alley. The Round Robin bar is the place to meet and mingle with Washington's power people. Never know who you might run into here.

The Red Door Spa in the Willard is a gem. Once again, not to be missed.

I have stayed in many fine hotels the world over and this one has got to be my all time favorite hotel. The service is impeccable. The hotel is beautiful and the history of the hotel is incredible. In my opinion, this is the Gem in Intercontinental's Crown.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We checked in very late, from an all day drive from Florida. The decor is ornate, comfortable and opulent.

When we entered our room, our first sight out the window was the Washington Monument and the Ellipse, with Lincoln memorial visible. The White House is in the next block over. Very impressive view. The bed was extremely comfortable with a featherbed - I could have slept for even more hours than I did.

This hotel is a historical landmark and it knows it. Fortunately, the room we had matched the surroundings, comfortable and elegant.

Now, this is not the place where jeans and sneakers are exactly the profile that the Willard serves, but it is welcoming without being snotty. Despite being an older hotel, the showers have great pressure (although cheap shower heads), the towels and guest robes are as comfortable as can be.

Gripes, I have two small ones: I despise the goody trays that have built-in sensors. We took nothing and yet were billed (which management removed from the bill), but this silly system doesn't work well in any hotel I have stayed in that has them.

Second, I found the valet a little "non responsive" and no one came rushing to help up with our bags. Parking is $39.95 a night with no practical option for self-parking, so they should brush up on this a bit.

There is a comment elsewhere about a secret-service contract. The history of the hotel, displayed near the F street entrance, indicates that the government owns the hotel, but that the hotel is managed by the fiercely fantastic Intercontinental brand.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Warning: This hotel has an agreement with the Secret Service to take rooms for visiting dignitaries at a moment's notice. I arrived at 11pm and was told my room had been taken. Although they gave me (actually my company) a free room at the very adequate JR Marriott nearby, it did mean that I was much further away from the rest of my party staying at the W.

I asked why they did not try to contact me, and they said that they had just found out two hours previously (at 9pm) Assuming that that was even true, an attempt to contact me would have allowed me to go to the JR Marriott straight away and not deal with the hassle of schlepping my bags over to the JR Marriott from the Willard. For $400 a night you would think they could afford at least an email.

On other oddity. I first went to a door which was locked, which had a mat which said "Willard Hotel." I rang the intercom, and the person was clueless about why a guest would be ringing the intercom. (She kept asking me, "What company do you represent?" and "Who are you visiting?" Would it be too much trouble to have a sign that said that after hours, hotel guests should go to the next door to the left?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alycara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

the willard is probably the most famous hotel in DC, beautiful, historic, gracious, and simply a classic!....i've lived in this city for 22 years, and after several visits there as a tourist, i was lucky to spend a weekend as a real guest, and it lived up to its high expectations...actually, it exceeded some of my high hopes, too!...absolutely nothing to complain about....the location is ideal....we were given a deluxw room on the 8th floor, where everything seemed brand new , and everything was very comfortable...christmas season is especially nice with the lobby decorations and choral groups singing....my only disappointment was the lobby fireplace was never lit, but perhaps it is too dangerous or something?...the front desk staff was absolutely flawless at all times--afternoon, night, and morning--even with changing faces, they were so welcoming and friendly...they are used to the rich/powerful'famous, and we were none of these, but they treated us like we were special....the only hotel i've stayed in with real class of this level was the dupont in wilmington, delaware(another grand classic)...also, the cleaning lady struck the perfect mix of helpful'friendly...there were so many holiday season parties that just sitting in the lobby and people-watching was entertaining!....if you are planning a trip to wahington, and you want a grand, beautiful,historic, classic hotel right in the center of the city, then i can't imagine a better place to stay!...it may be in its own class here in DC!?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

There is no better place to be than the Willard, particularly at Christmas. The hotel is so beautiful and festive this time of year. The decorations, the music....it is perfectly lovely to walk into the lobby any time of day. The rooms are luxurious in a very traditional, comfortable way. Lots of space and marble. The beds have crisply ironed, silky sheets and loads of pillows. The location is the best for getting to restaurants, shopping, museums. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkj160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing