We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected 5-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpected 5-star service”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I've stayed at many Comfort Inns, and reviewed a few of them as well. This one stands out. First of all, it's completely renovated and the rooms have this spotless clean and shiny new feel to it.

What really got me though was this all-around 5-star service. I've never experienced this at any Comfort Inn before, not that I have any complaints about the service at any other Comfort Inn location, but this one clearly stands out. They always had coffee and cookies at a table right next to the reception for you. Everybody had a smile on their faces, and tried to help me out. I was late for breakfast on Sunday morning (or rather, almost noon would be more precise) and the lady at breakfast politely pointed out that breakfast was only until 10, before giving me a gigantic smile and asked me what I wanted for breakfast. Great! These people are the future 5-star hotel staff - I'm sure they'll end up in some of the plushest 5-star hotels in the years to come.

If I had to think hard about anything negative it was that one of the lifts was not working, I was told this will be solved in the near future because they are replacing the lift.

In a nutshell, this place is excellent value, I'll definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globezipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Globezipper,
Thank you very much for your review, our team is committed to offer excellent service and we are glad we were able to provide you with a great experience. Your comments about the future 5 star hotel staff made everyone smile and it was very kind and generous. Thank you for staying with us and please come to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    418
    130
    35
    22
See reviews for
286
244
74
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife, 20-year-old daughter and I stayed at the hotel for six nights in March on a vacation trip to D.C.. The staff was very helpful, friendly and professional; the breakfasts were great, the location is excellent (not too far to walk to the tourist sites or the Metro); the room was very good. It was very obvious that hotel management and staff care about their guests' experiences. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimFulton590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle E, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear JimFulton590,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you found our location great. We hope to see you again at the Comfort Inn Downtown DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Attended a conference at the Convention Center and this was the closest hotel, about 6 blocks away (less than 10 minutes to walk, or a $5 cab ride). The hotel was terrific - the room was very nice and always immaculate when I returned in the evening, the front desk staff were extremely helpful (especially Raj, who seemed to virtually live there), breakfast was excellent with many items to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear DanielleSyracuse,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I’m glad you took advantage of our hotel features and services. Raj is a great employee and believe or not he is in vacation with his family in New York, He was very happy that you mention his name. Please come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in conjunction with an event at the convention center. Conveniently located, good room (albeit a bit small, but efficient) and wonderful staff---everyone pleasant, and helpful-especially Raj at the desk. Couldn't ask for more at the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Ida P,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review, Raj was very happy with your mention, Please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference at the DC Convention Center. The staff were wonderful, attentive and helpful. They even called my room 10 minutes after I arrived to make sure everything was okay. The price was right, the room was spotless, the water pressure in the shower was awesome, my car was safe and sound, and there are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. As others have mentioned, the free breakfast was a huge plus since everything else in DC is so pricey. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to my friends and family in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurE027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear LaurE027,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing a review, I’m glad our team was able to accomplish their goal of serving our guests with excellence. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is conveniently located, accessible from public transport as well as for drivers. It's very clean and provides the most comfortable sleeping. Besides wifi connection in rooms it provides 2 free computors in the lobby plus a printer, so anybody can print their airline ticket on time.
But most remarkable is the friendly, cordial and helpful service. Exceptional were Raj and Mario who went out of their way to help us in a timely manner and a smile, at a very busy time, swamped with guests. Thank you, will reccommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here on business; while it would have been out of my personal price range, the price was within the budget for my company. Compared to prices of other hotels in the vicinity, the value was excellent, especially considering the nice free breakfast and fast free wi-hi. The room was compact but made excellent use of space and light. The room was comfortably furnished and impeccably cleaned. Free cookies and coffee in the afternoon were a nice touch. Business center was cleaner and more organized than most - the computer I used was fast and not buggy at all, printed off my boarding pass and tour tickets very quickly. Considering you are in downtown DC, noise from outside was not bad and I experienced no noise from fellow guests. Staff did a great job. A great find and I plan to come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansascitystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle E, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear kansascitystar,

Thank you for your review of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC. We are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of the great amenities we have to offer to our guest. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White HouseWebsiteDirections
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
800 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing