We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed here with a group of students for a week-long conferance. The location was great-only a couple blocks to the metro and walking distance to the White House.

Our rooms were small (expected for DC) but had everything we needed! Lots of space to hang your nice clothes..suits, dresses, etc. The breakfast was pretty standard-loved the blueberry waffles!

The staff was great and very accomodating! They allowed us to check in early and check out late without any hesitation. I was even allowed to stay and hang out in the breakfast room after I had checked out to do some homework in a quiet area. The best part of our stay was the manager's reception one evening in the breakfast room...there was a great meal provided and the managers really talked to all of the guests to find out how their trip was going. Felt more like a B&B than a chain hotel!

If I ever go back to DC I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is situated near the Museums and government buildings, as well as shopping and restaurants. When we were checking in there was a large group ahead of us but the staff just asked us to come forward and it only took minutes to get a room and answer questions about eating and getting around Washington. The staff were not too friendly but were efficient and when we didn't have towels left in the room, supplied them immediately.
We had made the reservation in advance and were paying quite high rates but when someone needed a room immediately, the rate was $150 lower. Quite a difference!
The breakfast area was large, with different size tables allowing for large groups or singles. There were many TV's showing the news. The food was excellent, hot and cold items presented in an attractive way, fruit, yogurts, juices and of course, the signature waffles.
Our room was small but nicely decorated and lots of light.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room was all windows (with great shades) so lots of daylight and interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

1. Excellent Breakfast- fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, etc.
2. Outstanding friendly staff.
3. Daily weather report posted in elevator.
4. Breakfast room is an excellent retreat at night to watch TV or play games.
5. Efficient use of space in rooms. Rooms are small- a bit tight for family of 4, but doable.
6. Older building with new updates.
7. Bedding is very good.
8. Rooms on the front of building have small balconies and sun, but I would opt to get a room away from the noise of the busy street next time.
9. We bought the Smarttrip card for Metro/buses at the airport- savings on fares. The unlimited may be best if you travel a lot.
10. Business and travel guests.
11. Excellent access to the National Mall via direct Metro bus service on 13th and 14th.

We figured out that this was the only two star hotel offering a breakfast on priceline. Raz is excellent and a hands on manager.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of building have small balconies and sun, but I would opt to get a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazackazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your needs. I will ensure that Raj receives the recognition for his excellent hands on leadership. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights, and could hardly believe this was a Comfort Inn. My queen room would have been a bit tight for 2 people, but that's pretty typical of city hotels. It was very nicely furnished, spotlessly clean, and had all the amenities I needed - safe, fridge, desk, reading chair and coffee-making. Anisha and the parking team very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was good. Wifi worked well. Only complaint - the elliptical machine needs a minor tune-up. You can walk to the National Mall (in comfortable shoes), and this part of 13th ST was very quiet. Will definitey stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was 3rd floor, street side - no problem with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 425MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you very much for your reply. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and I will check out the elliptical machine right away. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the Comfort inn/Convention center during my sons spring break. The location was "excellent" along with the staff. We arrived early and Raj was able to check us into our room. Overall I was pleased with the rooms, staff, location, breakfast, and price. My son loved the crispy bacon on our last day and the juice keep up the good work. To Raj and his staff keep doing a great job and we will be back soon.

Thanks,
Room 802

Room Tip: We had room 802 and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIMEEMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the Confort inn/Convention center Easter weekend. The hotel is walking distance from the National Mall even for a family with small children. Raj, at the front desk was very attentive and helped us get our bus tour going. The kids were excited about the waffles for breakfast and I was overjoyed with the 24 hour coffee!! Our room and the hotel were super clean and even though it was one of the smaller hotels we have stayed at with quite a small room... we enjoyed our room on the third floor right accross the elevator. (never heard a thing) would come back to this hotel, great bargain!
One happy family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeSquare22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed for a week at this location - very convenient to Convention Center/other parts of DC.
The staff were very friendly - specially Raj. They could improve the breakfast - but I guess that is what you get at Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 360Deg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always great to hear that our team members go above and beyond to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. I will be sure to congratulate Raj for his service. Additionally, please know that we are always looking for ways to improve; therefore, should you have any specific feedback about the breakfast that you would like to share with me please contact me directly at 202-719-1630. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
717 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
315 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing