We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #69 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Brea, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a bad first experience because the old man working valet was a joke. He kept telling us to move our car around, when that is his job while he talks on his cell phone. We got so frustrated that we decided to turn our car in a day early so that we do not have to deal with him. Once we were in the hotel, it is small but nice. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are small but for the price you pay, it is worth it. Free internet, breakfast, gym and laundry is great and you don't even need a car when you are here because you are in the middle of town. You can hear a lot from the streets at night but it is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    416
    127
    35
    21
See reviews for
284
243
72
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Comfort Inn Downtown DC. The building is older, the elevators are tiny, and only one was working during my stay. The room was small (government rate), but comfortable. Breakfast was better than I expected. Although make your own waffles were the draw, I'm gluten free, so luckily they had boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausace to help me get some protein to start the day. There was a school group there, but it wasn't noisy on my floor.
The best part was the woman at the front desk who did everything in her power to make my stay better, including helping get a cab, carrying luggage out to the cab, and recommending a great restaurant. Daniece, thanks for making the trip easier.

Room Tip: even though the view would be less than exciting, try to pick a room on the side away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Dantise is wonderful asset for our team and she will be excited to read your comments. I do apologize for any inconvenience our elevator may have caused, when travelling to the DC area again please contact me directly: David Brooks, General Manager 202.719.1630
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel couldn't be in a better area and sooooo clean. I found Raj, the front desk associate, to be EXTREMELY helpful. He gave us constant information about the area and was so nice and pleasant. I am a Choice Hotels member and personally choose my hotels based on if they have a free hot breakfast. This one does and out fo all of my stays over the years in Choice Hotels, this was absolutely the best hot breakfast so far. Eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc.......Definitely a cost savings.

Room Tip: the elevator is a bit slow....stay on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that Raj and our entire team will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for our future guests. Please visit us again if in the area.

Sincerely,

David Brooks
General Manager
Comfort Inn DC Convention Center
202.682.5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our room was small but well equipped and arranged nicely. Had two elevators but one only could hold two people. We never had to drive in DC because it was an easy walk to the McPherson Metro stop. We really liked the Metro and one day took the bus to Georgetown for $1.00!! Just loved our location. Raj was so kind and helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. We didn't have time to use the gym but we liked the breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor so didn't hear much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiny1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is not a four-star property, but it is clean, easy to get to, located in an interesting neighborhood and the staff was fabulous

The building itself is interesting - I'd like to know the history of the property

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the most interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room we stayed in was really small. However, considering how expensive DC is, it was still good value, and very central for exploring DC. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we liked the breakfast. There's also a free gym downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaika492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good hotel and services. Stayed with a group of 25 young social innovators from Latin America that came for a capacity building at the Interamerican Developpement Bank. Special thanks to Dantise, who was always ready to help and very kind.
PS: The only negative point is the elevator that scared the hell out of me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
175 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing