We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #72 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here recently on a quick overnight for a meeting in DC next morning. Check in was quick and friendly, elevator wasn't working but that was minor inconvenience, room was clean and updated fairly recently. breakfast was good for the price "free" and Christine and David were very helpful at check out and getting me a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMarv911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed one night last weekend. Price and location were good. Hotel was a pit - filthy, unkept, depressing. Only one elevator out of the 2 worked, and it only took 2 at a time. Had to take the stairs to 6th floor, saw vomit that looked like it had been there for weeks. Checkout clerk offered to arrange a car to get to Dulles, said it would "only be $80 and cabs cost $125". I ended up taking the Metro to the Washington Flyer, total cost, $13.75. What a scam. Bathroom fan didn't work, wierd stains on the walls. Breakfast goes to 10:00 on weekends, but beware - they stop serving the meat at 9:30. Cheap, sad place. Put me off Comfort Inns, frankly.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dolores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I hope you received my email and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

David Brooks
General Manager
202.719.1630

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with a party of students from the UK. We booked directly with the hotel and they were very helpful, even managing to room us all on the same floor. This was a good base to explore DC, walking distance to the White House (even in the thick snow) and fairly close to McPherson Square Metro. (10 mins walk?). There was always free coffee and tea in the lobby and in the afternoon freshly baked cookies too - a definite plus for students on a tight budget. There are a range of places to eat nearby and a 24hr convenience store just along the street. The complimentary breakfast is good - they loved the waffle makers and made full use of them. Staff were really helpful and welcoming, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The only reason it's a four star rating is because of the elevators. One had been out of action for a few days and the other packed up before we'd all got our bags up to the eighth floor - Many thanks to another guest who carried my case all the way up. It was in the middle of all the bad snow so I guess it was difficult to get maintenance? I would book there again for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Still at this hotel as I write the review. Needed to make sure people know about this place. I am staying here with 20 students on an educational trip to New York and Washington. This hotel is wonderful. The staff make it for me, from the checking in process to everything about this hotel has been very impressive. Christine who helped me with my group booking was here to meet us, she gave us good rooms which all the students were happy with. May I add here, although it was a group that I was with the students were quiet and did not disturb anyone here. Sound proofing is good as well.
Dantise who was at the reception desk in the afternoon was fab, so helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast is also good and plenty of it with a lot of variety. The added touches was the popcorn served at 1pm and the chocolate chip cookies at 4pm. All down in the lobby. It is about a 10 min walk to the Whitehouse, and 20 min to the Verizon centre. the assistant manager organised transport for us when we needed it also transport to Dulles airport when we leave. It is no mean feat as there are25 of us in all with large suitcases. All very good value. I certainly recommend this place if you want excellent value for money, with fab service and amazing staff. Thank you to the staff at this hotel for making our school trip a very memorable one.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My friends and I took a short trip to DC and stayed one night at the Comfort Inn. All of us were in DC for the first time so it was important that we stayed within walking distance of all of the sights. We booked the hotel 2 weeks ahead of time and got a great rate for it. The staff was super friendly and accommodating, with Dantise as our main agent at the concierge. She was thorough and efficient. Our rooms were clean, the breakfast was good, and the hotel offered free luggage hold the next day when we checked out but still wanted to go exploring. Overall I would definitely book this hotel again. Simple, good location, friendly staff, clean rooms, can't complain!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howellatme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 20 pupils as leader of a school trip. Great hotel - very centrally located for main sights. The range at breakfast was good for hungry teenagers. Rooms have all basic necessities that you would expect. Would use again as it was ideal for our needs!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KLM7920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We went for just 1 night. Nice Comfort Inn, very clean, right in the heart of DC. Staff was very good. They have a very nice fitness room and outstanding free breakfast and breakfast area. I was there using Reward points so it was very economical. I woke up at 3AM in the morning and there is a place in the small lobby to sit with a laptop, have a cup of coffee et al. We had a Kindle Fire in the car, hid it, why we didn't bring it in I don't know. $30 mandatory Valet Parking. But, upon getting the car back it had been stolen. The hotel said, "not our problem." They said they would report it the police. Also asked us for the original slip when we checked the car with them, this is a piece of paper showing if there were any scratches. They wanted it to get the name of the attendant. Anywho, it's a big city, we should of known better or to stay at a better place.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel that doesn't mandate Valet parking so you don't have the same thing happen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HAPPYFTLAUDERDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

First, we want to express our appreciation for your patronage of our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our exceptional staff and cleanliness and that your stay was otherwise enjoyable not withstanding your misfortune regarding your missing personal property. I hope your item was located after your departure and look forward to hearing from you.

Yours in Hospitality,

David Brooks
david.brooks@baywoodhotels.com
202.719.1630 Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
462 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,691 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing