We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn Downtown DC/Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #72 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel had excellent service, led by Raj at the front desk. He answered every question and solved every problem. At the moment I checked in, there was a problem with the elevators. Raj immediately found a first floor room and seemed genuinely concerned that I would like the room. The problem with the elevator was quickly fixed, but I was glad to have been given a convenient room right away. It was a small room but clean and entirely satisfactory. Breakfast offered good variety including several sources of protein and fresh fruit. After I had checked in, I sat in the lobby briefly enjoying the free coffee and cookies. I saw several other guests ask Raj for individual help, and he gave everyone the same high level of effective attention. This hotel has hired excellent help.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small but not unreasonably so. Ask to see the room before you agree to take it. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalaPetrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Tala
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and Raj will be very happy to that you recognized his excellent customer service.

We are currently installing new elevators and hope you will stay with us again upon a return to the DC area.

David Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

The room was rather small but had everything we needed, with new amenities. If we wanted a larger room we would have paid a lot more. Large breakfast area with meats & eggs...good enough. Excellent bed. I was new to the Metro, being from So.Ca where we don't have them, I had a lot of anxiety. Dantise, the front desk clerk, was so very helpful. She taught me the metro in 3 minutes and we were off. BTW - the closest Metro is .66 miles away, and it's uphill (not steep) coming back to the hotel. Dantise had great ideas, like a 4 hour night tour what was excellent. Dantise had the personality that all hotel clerks should have. She made our stay so nice. One elevator was broken so that made the stairs necessary to use.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Kathy D
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, Dantise is truly a great team member and will be thrilled to know you appreciated her services. We hope to see you again very soon and I assure you our elevator renovation project will be done shortly.

Have a great day !!!

David Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is no great shakes, but it was a good price and located where I needed it to be. The staff was very nice and quite helpful. Breakfast was pretty at or below average, but it was free. Knowing how expensive most things are in DC, I might stay there again if I needed that location, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherekhan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing both positive and negative comments, we hope to see you again very soon. Contact me directly so I can handle your reservations.

David Brooks
General Manager
202.682.5300 ext. 732

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For the lower price seemed fair. The breakfast was nice, the room small and the people polite, almost all of them. The ice machine broken, the front desk person did not provide the regular nice greeting, formal recommendations or advice for tourist, like city maps etc until we ask for it... She wasn't there to help you but to check you in and keep texting on the phone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Milton A.
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast but I must apologize for the subpar service you received from our front desk staff. I hope you will stay with us again upon returning to the Greater DC so we may provide you with Exceptional Service throughout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we had a great stay here, the rooms were clean, tastefully decorated. breakfast was good with hot and cold variety. the breakfast lady made me some scrambled egg when i could not eat the other hot stuff. The assistant manager Raj was a great person, who helped me locate my missing parcels that had been misplaced, he was also very flexible and since our flight was late we got a late check out.

Room Tip: we had a higher floor and it worked out perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hawa - We hope you arrived back home safe and sound, Raj and our team take great pride in customer service and he will be very excited that you mentioned his name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are just in town for a short trip, and want an economical room then this hotel is for you. Nothing fancy, but very clean. The staff was friendly, but slow due to the fact that there is only one employee working at a time. Breakfast was convenient but they ran out of coffee, and there were no employees available to refill the coffee station. The location is not very convenient either...you have at least a mile walk to the tourists attractions and/or restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shutz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I’m saddened to hear your stay was just okay as our team takes great pride in superior customer service, I’m sorry that our front desk staff failed to inform you of all the great restaurant / lounges, metro stations, White House and other attractions which are all a maximum 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. I welcome you to contact me at david.brooks@baywoodhotels.com to further discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed one night w/ husband and 2 kids for an event at the Convention center. PROS- convenient location to the Convention Center (about a 6 minute walk); well stocked hot breakfast with a variety of options; clean hotel/room CONS- rooms are small, not a lot of space for a family; double beds are too small for 2 adults; elevators are small, only allowing 5 people at a time; 1 of the 2 elevators was broken causing long waits, which seems to be a recurring issue; rooms are over-priced, but maybe par for the course for this area of DC. This hotel is average, but was good enough for our short stay. I wouldn't book it for a vacation or longer length of stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again once our elevator renovation is complete (Summer 2014)

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
462 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,691 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing