We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice part of DC”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #104 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The service was fantastic, the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. It in a safe, friendly neighbourhood close to the Dupont Circle Metro station as well as plenty of places to eat or have a few drinks.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank JJK1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thanks so much for that great review! You hit on the many reasons why our guests love the Washington Hilton. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,888)
There are newer reviews for Washington Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,373 - 2,379 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just a few blocks from Dupont Circle Metro stop and near all the great food you could want. This historic hotel has large outdoor areas, a great work out room and a large outdoor pool. The rooms are nicely appointed but the beds and pillows are "Hilton" standard and that is great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks so much for the review Ryan! Our location is great and there are indeed many great restaurants right outside our doors. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a good stay at the Washington Hilton with the exception of the persons next door. I could hear every word spoken and even the intimate actions in the room next door. The room service was very good. The locaton of the hotel was good. I was happy to be able to control the room temperature becasue the weather did change.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Hilida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton! We are so grateful for your review and I'm happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to you returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Hilton and we were pleasantly surprised - from the outside it looks like a big unfriendly corporate hotel and yes whilst it clearly caters for the business person (and there were certainly a few conferences on for our week's stay) we were not made to feel out of place and we were welcomed by some lovely door and reception staff.

This was our first time in Washington and the Hilton provided the perfect base for sight seeing - it is at the top of Connecticut Avenue and we did find the walk up the hill a little tiring after a day wandering round all the sights but the room was comfy, with a decent sized bed and round the back of the hotel which was way from the noisy traffic - so we were able to relax and sleep off the jet lag in peace.

The only downside to our room was the strange light near the light switch in the bathroom which we could not switch off...we ended up fashioning a cover for it using a towel!!

Even though we stayed at the end of September the pool outside was still open and we had great weather so made use of it - even though the water was a little cold for my liking.

No free WIFI in the room so you have to use the free wifi in the lobby bar, (note that it is only available in the bar and nowhere else in the hotel including outside on the terrace and sports bar)This was a bit of a let down as it meant everytime we wanted to research our plans we had to trek downstairs. In this day and age, the big hotels should offer free wifi to paying guests.

There are some great restaurants nearby and it didn't take long to get to the National Mall, approx 45 mins by foot.

All in all a great stay, good hotel with lovely staff - please just sort out the wifi!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton! Glad you enjoyed your first trip to Washington! We look forward to you returning soon and staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Girlfriend and I stayed there for our convention. Received a very reasonable group rate. Clean, updated and centrally located. Can walk to any kind of restaurant and museum. Main DC attractions are outside of walking distance. Lots of nostalgia associated with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton! We want our guests to feel valued and provide them a good value for their stay. Great to see we accomplished both, please return on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is literally the ugliest hotel I have ever seen. It combines all the worst elements of 60s/70s architecture. When we arrived, the room wasn't available. No offer of 'free drinks while you wait' or anything. I did overhear one of the 'members' getting an identical room, right away, in the next lane, though. So, if you like being treated like a second-class citizen, this may be the place for you. Then we bought the overpriced wifi only to find out they charge per device - we had to buy it separately for each of our laptops and pay double. Then some random hotel staff person tapped on the door and immediately barged in without waiting to 'see if the room was okay.' Well, it's small, smells funny, the lamp shade has a stain on it, and some of the upholstery is literally coming apart at the seams, soooooo - it's crap, actually, thanks for asking. Exactly what you would expect from a hotel owned by the family that gave the world Paris Hilton. I will not stay in a hilton hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room at another hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. We appreciate your comments and we will address our staff to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Again, we are very sorry for all of the issues and if there is anything we can do for you, please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Sheets were clean, bathroom was clean. Not a huge room, we had a suite which was nice because we could spread out into the next room with a couch and extra bathroom. Annoying that so many things cost extra, parking, wi-fi etc. Gym shower room was clean and large. Never used the outdoor pool. Big hotel, went for an event. Front desk person that we got was very nice and accommodating. The continental breakfast served in the room on the 10th floor was only so-so.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton! It's great to read that you found your suite and our entire hotel so clean. Our front desk works hard to be the friendliest in town so I'm glad you noticed! We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,113 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
999 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,163 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
6,967 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £85 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing