We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation ”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #103 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Spring break in DC...for an educational respite? We chose this hotel because it was in an area we had stayed in and liked before -Dupont Circle. The Hilton turned out to be a wonderful choice. A central location that is an easy walk to the Dupont Circle Metro access. A large selection of eateries of every cuisine within a mile radius. Hotel grounds landscaped nicely, with a beautiful terraced outdoor patio area complete with fire pits. We(husband & I ) had a double room on the ninth floor to share with our ten year old son. Rooms were clean, well maintained and spacious. Housekeeping did a fine job replenishing towels, toiletries and coffee. Front desk staff courteous, professional and efficient. Lobby, restaurant, coffee house, indoor pool, exercise facilities all modern and updated. Prices in the restaurant, sports lounge, and coffee shop were eqivalent to the surrounding area's prices .Outdoor pool being set up for the season and the pool chairs/surfaces were being power washed. All the amenities you could want and use . Consierge available to arrange tours, trips, and handle emergencies. At the end of a long day of sight seeing it felt like we were coming home. We will definitely recommend and return in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of the Washington Hilton! We will gladly have you back on your return trip to Washington DC. It is very nice to see that you enjoyed so many things about your stay and we were able to provide a “home away from home” experience for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,887)
There are newer reviews for Washington Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,224 - 2,230 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and rooms were well-appointed. The service was quite good, although housekeeping did not replace complimentary amenities for second day. They also didn't replace my face cloth..not sure why. My one gripe was the executive lounge. It was too small and understaffed. There weren't enough tables at breakfast time or in cocktail hour. There was limited choice for breakfast. By my second morning they even stopped putting out yoghurt and berries. There was only one staff and so tables were dirty and the place was in chaos. Also, there were children EVERYWHERE! I really believe the Hilton needs to create family friendly lounges or make a separate area for business people to do work and meet with one another. It used to be that the executive lounge fit this purpose..but now it's like trying to do work at Chuck E Cheese. It's not worth the extra price tag to have access to a family play room if you're on business.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank AussieCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experiences at the Washington Hilton. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and well-appointed rooms, I am very concerned regarding your comment about the executive lounge. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and assure you this is not customary at the Washington Hilton. I will personally share this feedback with our team in an effort to improve on our service. We hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Rahel Gossa checked me in and she was very pleasant. I experienced a slight hiccup with my travel passport but she quickly spoke with her supervisor and honored my request to speak with a manager in an effort to rectify the situation. During the entire conversation Rahel was very helpful and always had a smile. She explained that she was a new Team Member. The way she handled herself left the impression that she was a seasoned Team Member with years of experience. I even observed how she interacted with the guest before me. She answered all the guest questions with a smile.

Rahel truly exemplifies the Hilton Brand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 534KGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks you so much for reviewing the Washington Hilton! Rahel is an excellent team member and your comments have been shared. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write and recognize her. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the site of the assassination attempt on Reagen, not that it affects one's stay! It is an enormous concrete block with over 1000 rooms on the heights above the city. It is a longish walk to the Metro at Dupont Circle but lots of buses stop outside the hotel, including the tourist tram and open-top bus. It is impersonal and professional. The staff are polite, efficient if sometimes disinterested but the Concierge was helpful over a problem I had with a Super shuttle booking. There are lots of fast lifts so staying on a high floor is no problem. Our room had 2 large beds, crisp, white linen, plenty of storage space and a coffee making machine. The bathroom was unremarkable but clean. The toiletries were OK and not always replenished.

Its not like staying in the centre of town in that the selection of eating places near by is more limited but even so most people would find somewhere within 10 to 15 minute walk. The breakfast menu had all the usuals but also a set American breakfast for $24 or continental for $18 which seemed a lot. In the evening the a la carte menu was quite varied and well cooked. There is also a coffee shop but its hours are quite limited.

This is a place to lay your head, possibly have breakfast before setting out to meetings or sight seeing. It takes time to get to the centre, but it is quiet and set in an upmarket area of Washington. You won't feel any great urge to return but it fulfils a need with professional efficiency.

Room Tip: There is building work at the moment so check
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experiences at the Washington Hilton. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, I am very concerned regarding your comment on the quality and level of service you experienced. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and assure you this is not customary at the Washington Hilton. I will personally share this feedback with our team in an effort to improve on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

30 minute line to check in. They only had two people at the front desk at 7:00 pm. I should in all fairness point out that the two people at the front desk were very friendly and professional.

After check-in we wanted to get a recommendation for a restaurant but by 7:30 the concierge went home. When we tried to hail a cab, the bellman was nowhere to be seen. It was as if half of the staff didn't show up for work.

HERE'S THE WORST PART:
The two beds in the room were tiny. We had 3 adults and there was no way for 2 adults to share one of these two small beds. It's beyond me why this hotel accepted a reservation for 3 people into a room that can accommodate only 2. They advertise rollaway beds but when we asked for one they said they can't put a rollaway into a room with 2 beds. They actually had the nerve to suggest we rent a second room.

The maid did an awful job of cleaning the room. Toiletries were not refilled and towels were not replaced.

The bottom line is that this is not a 4 star hotel. And rooms with two beds do no accommodate more than two adults.



Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

I am so sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and I have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the Washington Hilton for work - as the conference we were attending was being held in the hotel as well.

The hotel is lovely, the staff were all great, and the room was fantastic! Great view of the cherry trees with really nice amenities.

The breakfast menu is nice, although, as per usual for hotel buffets the price was high.

The hotel is also located about a 5-10 minute walk from all of the shops and restaurants on Dupont Circle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevators. This hotel has the longest hallways I've ever had to wal...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for the great review! We are so proud when our guests have such an excellent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Hilton in April 2014. The rooms are very nice, although overall the hotel is expensive, especially breakfast. Fortunately the coffee bar is good and more

We would very much like to commend the Eritrean concierge (unfortunately we did not get his name), who was hugely helpful when we left some things behind in a previous hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review. It's great to read you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel including our concierge service! We look forward to your return on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
3,111 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
999 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#89 of 141 in Washington DC
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,162 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
6,965 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £83 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing