We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Ranked #95 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

While touring the Smithsonian, we needed a break for lunch. After checking out the cafeteria in the Museum of Natural History, we decided to look elsewhere! Just a short walk up 12th St will bring you to the Elephant & Castle. A much nicer spot to refuel and rest than the dingy overpriced cafeteria in the basement of the museum!

We sat on the patio watching the goings-on. Nice selection of beers to quench the thirst, and we found the food tasty and generous. We had the fish & chips (large piece of fish) - and roast beef with Yorkshire pudding. Both were delicious.

All in all a good lunch choice when touring this area of Washington!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank optionsottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    361
    130
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great pub in the heart of DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in the ares for a few days. We ate here twice. So, we enjoyed it. Location is great. Walking distance to hotel and DC sights. Staff is great. Made some great food suggestions. Over two visits, the group eat pretzel bits, shepherds pie, chicken tenders, black and blue burgers, and side salads. All were great with no complaints from the group. I had bass (from the bottle) while my friends had some micro brews. Would visit again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a sporting event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stopped in for lunch and to watch a World Cup soccer game. Food was fast and good. Liked the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dukeandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great food and friendly service. We were in Washington for two days and ended-up eating twice at the Elephant & Castle. The location is ideal, close to the Smithsonian Museum, monuments and subway.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Was just okay, wouldn't go out of our way to return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch today at the Elephant and Castle while in DC visiting the smithsonian museums. The service was great, quick and efficient. There was only one error with our order. The children's meals were overly expensive for what you get, and it would have been nice to have an option for a side of fresh fruit. My friend ordered the roast beef, it looked overdone and she didn't finish it. The mashed potatoes were alright, nothing special. The gravy served on the side tasted as if it came out of a jar/can. The hummus appetizer was warmed in a dish (a first time for me having warm hummus) and I thought that it was weird to serve it warm in the summer on such a hot day. I have also never had it with Balsamic vinegar drizzled over the top. It would have been a nice summer option to have fresh veggies on the side to dip instead of warm bread. The children did enjoy the grilled cheese sandwiches. The Salad that we had was the Summer Special and we thought that it was fresh, well portioned, and delicious.
The atmosphere is not trying to be a British Pub despite the name and facade. The inside decor is nautical and nothing exciting. The bar certainly looked more appealing than the dining area.
While it was not a disaster of an experience, we would only dine again if it was a convenience situation, we wouldn't go out of our way to eat here.

Helpful?
Thank botanical_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing