We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Fairfield with unusual problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Typical Fairfield with unusual problems”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We are already fans of the Fairfield after the great service we got near Denver. The service here was fairly comparable, but the shuttle service was seriously lacking.

Everything else at this hotel was as we expected - the room, the service, the breakfast - but the shuttle was a nightmare. They had a shuttle schedule and sign-up, but they didn't really use it. As a result, it wasn't difficult to get into Union Station from the hotel, but it was "hit-or-miss" coming back. On our first day there, (expecting to take the shuttle from Union Station), we ended up late, and standing up the entire way - against Uniform Traffic Code. We waited for the shuttle, but there was no way to tell who was waiting for what, and, when our shuttle arrived, it seemed like everyone was there for this lone shuttle. A madhouse ensued.

Part of the problem does not belong to the hotel. That part of the problem belongs to poor planning by the city which has a variety of tour buses all picking up and dropping off at Union Station in the same lane the shuttles do. There are two more lanes, but one is reserved for taxis, and the third for civilians dropping off or picking up. The resulting congestion and confusion has to be seen to be believed. It is probably a better option to just pay the $14.00 and take a taxi back to the hotel. The shuttle in is probably safe.

After that, the hotel is just fine. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the value is as good as you will find in the D.C. area. Just note that it's a couple of miles outside D.C. proper, and there really isn't much worth seeing or doing in the area. The only restaurants are fast food, or gas station, and there are absolutely no attractions within easy walking distance of the hotel.

One good thing is that a number of local restaurants serving a variety of food will deliver to the hotel free of charge, and they'll even do it late. One of those is "Z Z Pizza, 202-986-0002" that I will also review. Just know that if you can't get dinner in town for whatever reason, ZZ can bring you salads, vegetarian, (even hummus), dessert, milk shakes, pasta, burgers, subs, buffalo wings, and just about anything else you need to tide you over until breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not count entirely on the shuttle service for transportation. They'll get you to Union Stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We appreciate the feedback and for taking the time to write detailed reviewed. Thank you as well for the compliments for the hotel and staff, we take great pride in delivering exceptional service and we are pleased to see it showed during your time as our guests.

The great feedback you provided regarding the shuttles pick up will help us and future guests. The last thing we want is our guests to be inconvenienced if our shuttle cannot get to them. We will make note of this so we can properly inform our guests in case of unforeseen delays.

We hope to be your choice hotel again when you return to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    61
    43
    9
    16
See reviews for
62
47
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and I must say that when I walked into the room I was amazed. The room decor is absolutely beautiful. Only issue we ran into is that there were not enough chairs at breakfast and many of the guests had to take their breakfast back to their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time as our guest. We apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast time and appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We will look into other options when we have larger groups in house, so everyone can sit down and enjoy their breakfast . It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fairfield Inn by Marriott on New York Ave in DC. Excellent place to stay. Customer Service was Great, rooms nice and clean, room size nice,beautiful bathrooms,comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast better than most w/hot Belgian waffles and turkey sausage (a plus for me&my family). Conveniently located within 10-15min of major mall,convention center,and memorials! !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabMuh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations from the service to the location and everywhere in between. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time you are in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a Nationals Game and seeing Daniel Tosh at the Warner Theater, we got a good rate and it had decent reviews so we wanted to give it a try.

The Good Stuff:
The staff was very helpful and polite and smiled every time we walked up or had any questions, This like never happens anywhere these days... and living in DC dealing with that traffic I would never smile... but the staff there was great. I am not sure on names, but a light skinned guy I think named Evan and a volumptious black woman with short hair were both super cheerful and kind and they deserve some kind of an award (they were both working when we checked in aroud 5ish 6/21-Friday afternoon).
The room was nice and clean
The bed was pretty comfy
The AC works GREAT
The had a free breakfast with a decent selection including waffles and eggs.

The *IFFY*
*If I had known the actual location in relation to everything we were wanting to do in DC I would have picked another hotel... it has no bearing on the hotel itself but the location sucked its dirty and depressing everywhere... although I guess if you wanted you could walk across the street to Checkers or 7-11, but it took forever to get anywhere we wanted to go, the traffic like never lets up around DC... EVER! We stayed in DC to be closer to all the things we wanted to do. That was pointless. Its also near a lot of run down areas, and massive industrial buildings that are all being built slowly or are falling to pieces... And we had to use our GPS for everything and because of the barrier in the middle of the road you have to go like 2 miles in the opposite direction to get back on the street you need to be on.
*Parking is $15 a night just to be in the parking lot... in addition to all the other taxes and fees DC adds to everything it takes our $119 a night rate to like $155...

If we ever go to DC again we will stay in Alexandria or Arlington somewhere in VA on the outskirts of DC.

Room Tip: I recommend the higher floors... the walls are a little on the thin side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvanglkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest; We appreciate you sharing your personal experience with us. We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful detailed review and will share your review and compliments with the team. We pride ourselves on service with a smile and making our guests feel right at home, we are delighted to see we met that goal with you.

We know there are other choices in and around Washington DC and we'd like to say thank you for selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC/New York Ave as your place to stay. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We understand that we are not a good fit for some due to the location but we appreciate your business and thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We brought our kids to Washington DC. On a budget we stayed here. We had two rooms attached. It was great for the price. Not far from the city at all. Took our car and parked at Union Station for the day and took mass transit from there. The rooms were clean and the morning breakfast was great. Staff was so nice. Pool was small but so what. Kids loved it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your wonderful review. We are proud of every star we receive from our guests and thank you for giving us 5! We are pleased to see that you and your family had a great stay. We appreciate the compliments on the service, value, cleanliness, breakfast and glad your kids had fun at the pool. That's a great tip to let our guests know they can park at Union Station for the day, thanks for passing that on. We do have a courtesy shuttle that runs on a limited schedule to and from Union Station, if you'd like to leave your car with us next time. Just sign up for the shuttle upon arrival and we'll take you there and bring you back. Our last pick up is at 8:00pm during the week, we do not have a mid day pick up though.

Thank you again for your business. It was our pleasure having you and your family with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Pros - lobby was big, good breakfast

Cons -Key card did not work to our room on 5th floor. Once problem was fixed went to room and it wasn't clean. Tv had sound, but no picture. The whirlpool didn't work. Shuttle was available to Union Station, but had no afternoon hours available. I had trouble believing this is a category 5 hotel for Marriott.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rls241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest; I'd like to thank you for sharing your review with the hotel. All guest feedback is important and welcome as it helps us focus on the areas that need improvement and lets us know where we are doing well. Thank you for bringing to our attention that the TV and whirlpool wasn't working properly so we can have maintenance make the necessary repairs. The courtesy shuttle does run several times daily on a limited schedule, we found a majority of our guests were in town during the day so we stopped offering mid day services, we apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused you and your family. Our goal is always provide excellent service and we did not live up our high standards with your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not 100% enjoyable and you were faced with many difficulties as our guest. Thank you again for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I would like to compliment Kerry for answering all of my questions about the facility before I decided to stay here. She was patient and explained what I could expect from my stay. I was very impressed and decided to stay. When I arrived Carolyn greeted me with a smile, welcome and all the details of the services offered by the hotel. I felt at home. Kerry also came out of her office to welcome me, too! The room was very spacious and very clean. I slept well. The next morning, I had a healthy breakfast and was greeted by Chris as I left to enjoy my day in DC. I will definatly stay here again and will recommend to family and friends. Thanks, Kerry and the rest of the staff for making my stay such a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take great pride in our hotel and providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority. We are so pleased that you mentioned you felt like you were home! We strive to make our guests feel right at home and we couldn't be happier that it showed from the moment you called to after your arrival as well. I will certainly pass along the wonderful compliments you shared with Keri, Carolyn and Chris and thank you for recognizing their customer service personally. We look forward to welcoming you back one day and thank you again for the 5 star review and for chosing to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC/New York Ave. It was our pleasure having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
167 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
806 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Address: 2305 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1905
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with newly refreshed guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service at limited times to Union Station Metro. All rooms are equipped with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business and Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing