We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is clean ... staff service inconsistent ... the hotel appears to have a bulk arrangement with Virginia Railway Express layover conductors who congregate en masse in lobby in the morning. That is OK, but for some reason, the breakfast is also regularly frequented by a number of Metropolitan Police Officers. The police are fine of course, but the place looks like an armed camp and makes it appear that the location is dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbins_T-AP-183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your experience with us and expressing your concerns regarding your recent stay. We take great pride in offering our guests a clean, comfortable, safe environment when they are with us. We are sorry to see that is not the impression you had. The police officers do so much for the community and their station is a block away, we offer them breakfast as a special thank you for their service. We apologize that these items you mentioned made you feel uncomfortable in any way, that was not our intention to give our guests the impression they were not safe. Thank you again for being our guests, we hope you considering returning to the Fairfield Inn in the future so we can show you a better stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    61
    43
    9
    16
See reviews for
62
47
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for three nights in May 2013. Everything was as you would hope for breakfast was good with super friendly staff. Only downfall was the location. All taxi drivers we had told us how unsafe the neighbourhood was and not to go out at night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests; We appreciate your selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC/ New York Ave as your place to stay. Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the compliments for our staff, hotel and services. We cannot change the location of our hotel or reputation of the area, we know the taxi drivers mention this more as the fact it is a heavily populated area in a downtown city and they want our guests to be aware of their surroundings, we understand how that can be misunderstood and make anyone uncomfortable. If given the opportunity to return to the DC area, we do hope you consider our hotel for accommodations once again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our daughter's college orientation (and the 50th anniversary of the march on Washington) with a family of six. The suite we had boasts two tv's, two queen beds, a full size pull out sofa and a free (if you call down AFTER check in) roll away. Plenty of space to stretch out and you also get a mini fridge and microwave. Took the shuttle from union station back to hotel once with no issues. Breakfast was average, lacked meats (except turkey sausage).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for being guests of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Ave. We greatly appreciate the 5 star review and are delighted to see that you all had a wonderful stay and hearing the accommodations and amenities were a perfect fit for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's not in the best, safest neighborhood, but we stayed there for 2 nights to catch nearby concerts and the location for that purpose was good. Good price on Expedia. The rooms were much more comfortable and clean than expected, wifi was free although we could never actually connect (had to use wifi hotspot on our phones) and the hot free breakfast was much tastier than it looked (oh man it looks horrible lol) although it's only served until 9am on weekdays, 10 on weekends. I loved that there was free hot coffee in the lobby 24-7. They do have a pool but it's the size of a rich man's bathtub. Workout room looks satisfactory but never used it. They charge $15/night to park there. Front desk staff VERY nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandorasInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guests; From all of us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Washington DC, New York Ave, thank you for being our guests. All feedback is welcome as it allows us to see where we doing well and where improvements are needed. We are pleased to see overall the hotel staff and services exceeded your expectations and you had an enjoyable time as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We are already fans of the Fairfield after the great service we got near Denver. The service here was fairly comparable, but the shuttle service was seriously lacking.

Everything else at this hotel was as we expected - the room, the service, the breakfast - but the shuttle was a nightmare. They had a shuttle schedule and sign-up, but they didn't really use it. As a result, it wasn't difficult to get into Union Station from the hotel, but it was "hit-or-miss" coming back. On our first day there, (expecting to take the shuttle from Union Station), we ended up late, and standing up the entire way - against Uniform Traffic Code. We waited for the shuttle, but there was no way to tell who was waiting for what, and, when our shuttle arrived, it seemed like everyone was there for this lone shuttle. A madhouse ensued.

Part of the problem does not belong to the hotel. That part of the problem belongs to poor planning by the city which has a variety of tour buses all picking up and dropping off at Union Station in the same lane the shuttles do. There are two more lanes, but one is reserved for taxis, and the third for civilians dropping off or picking up. The resulting congestion and confusion has to be seen to be believed. It is probably a better option to just pay the $14.00 and take a taxi back to the hotel. The shuttle in is probably safe.

After that, the hotel is just fine. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the value is as good as you will find in the D.C. area. Just note that it's a couple of miles outside D.C. proper, and there really isn't much worth seeing or doing in the area. The only restaurants are fast food, or gas station, and there are absolutely no attractions within easy walking distance of the hotel.

One good thing is that a number of local restaurants serving a variety of food will deliver to the hotel free of charge, and they'll even do it late. One of those is "Z Z Pizza, 202-986-0002" that I will also review. Just know that if you can't get dinner in town for whatever reason, ZZ can bring you salads, vegetarian, (even hummus), dessert, milk shakes, pasta, burgers, subs, buffalo wings, and just about anything else you need to tide you over until breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not count entirely on the shuttle service for transportation. They'll get you to Union Stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We appreciate the feedback and for taking the time to write detailed reviewed. Thank you as well for the compliments for the hotel and staff, we take great pride in delivering exceptional service and we are pleased to see it showed during your time as our guests.

The great feedback you provided regarding the shuttles pick up will help us and future guests. The last thing we want is our guests to be inconvenienced if our shuttle cannot get to them. We will make note of this so we can properly inform our guests in case of unforeseen delays.

We hope to be your choice hotel again when you return to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and I must say that when I walked into the room I was amazed. The room decor is absolutely beautiful. Only issue we ran into is that there were not enough chairs at breakfast and many of the guests had to take their breakfast back to their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time as our guest. We apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast time and appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We will look into other options when we have larger groups in house, so everyone can sit down and enjoy their breakfast . It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fairfield Inn by Marriott on New York Ave in DC. Excellent place to stay. Customer Service was Great, rooms nice and clean, room size nice,beautiful bathrooms,comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast better than most w/hot Belgian waffles and turkey sausage (a plus for me&my family). Conveniently located within 10-15min of major mall,convention center,and memorials! !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabMuh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations from the service to the location and everywhere in between. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time you are in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
167 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
806 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Address: 2305 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1905
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with newly refreshed guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service at limited times to Union Station Metro. All rooms are equipped with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business and Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing