We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheeky little place with great friendly staff :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #32 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cheeky little place with great friendly staff :)”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It had been a while since I last stayed at a Kimpton property so while I was expecting an older hotel and knew about the free "wine hour" I wasn't sure what to expect for this property. The location is actually very good, just being about a 7-10 minute walk from the nearest Metro stop (yes, it's safe at night) and next to a picturesque monument/square across the street.

The check-in staff was friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming (I think his name was Aaron??). This is the way that hotel check-in's should be where they point out where the elevators are and give you other important information. My room faced the back street (not 14th street) and I had a nice view of the monument from the large pane windows but didn't hear too much street noise. The room was 70's funky but in a nice more modern way. The bathroom, while not large was clean and functional----one note, if you're sharing a room with a friend you don't know too well the showers here have an opaque curved wall that faces into the room. You can't see the person but you probably can see the outline/shadow so be aware of this.

The bed was very comfortable and while there was plastic furniture around I didn't feel that it came across as cheap or worn. The mini-bar had a nice array of snacks and wasn't way overpriced like most hotels (at $4 for a small bottle of water it's not cheap either!). I was able to walk around to different sites and neighborhoods both at night and in the day without any difficulty. There are a number of bars down the street (south) of the hotel but most of the restaurants directly nearby seemed as if they catered to the office crowd (breakfast/lunch). I didn't get a chance to try the hotel restaurant but there was a wait most times to get in and most people seemed satisfied when coming out.

All in all, this is a wonderful surprise of a hotel and I would recommend it even though it's not close to the major sites if you are okay with walking (the White House was about a 15-20 min walk away) or taking cabs.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
HI Manico,

Thanks for your review.

I appreciate the detailed comments about your stay. Seems like an awesome experience with our staff and Hotel. Looking forward to your next review!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    475
    165
    49
    27
See reviews for
259
518
84
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the Donovan House for a friends wedding and we loved it! This is a modern hotel that's very up-to-date with fun amenities (zebra and cheetah print robes anyone??). The shower is a cocoon style and the bathroom is enormous. The room had a comfortable king size bed and the windows were floor to ceiling.

They offer free wine in the lobby in the afternoons and in the morning there is free tea, coffe and hot chocolate...complete with marshmallows!

They are super pet friendly and will take dogs of all sizes. While we left our fur-baby at home, I heard that any dog checking in will get a welcome bag with a bone in it!

One downside: the parking is expensive...$42 a night! I suppose this is standard for downtown D.C. though and I wont hold it against them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caracbeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi caracbeara,

Thanks for your review!

You're right, we're 100% pet friendly! You got a chance to experience some of the very best that Kimpton has to offer. One note in regards to parking, I agree it can be pretty high, but we do set our prices based on our neighboring Hotels. Unfortunately, parking space is rare in DC, much less any downtown hotel.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A very nice hotel, great location and good service. Rooms seem a bit tired and would expect the price range for DC to be more like $150-$200. Anything above $200 and you will feel the price to the quality of the rooms is not in line. My only complaint would be the black out drapes do not keep the light out. So if you need a dark room to sleep, skip this one. Beds are ok, but at $300 I expected more plush and more comfortable. Shower has an overhead (in ceiling) shower head with low pressure. Large bathroom sink, but no way to fill the basin for shaving as the drain does not close. Restaurant is great and of course the lobby is nice. My first room was on the second floor with all the meeting space and fitness room etc. I moved to the tenth floor and would suggest a higher floor and non-connecting if you are going to this hotel. Walls are a bit thin, and noise will bleed over more in a connecting room.

Great location and great staff. hope this helps.

Room Tip: Higher floor, non-connecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psresortlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi psresortlife,

Thanks for your review.

After reading your comments, I am very pleased to share that we are in the process of planning a major rooms renovation at the end of this year. We are working diligently to address many of the issues you stated in your review. If you have any other concerns that you would like to share, please contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowboatbeauty
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Nice room, clean, comfy bed, no complaints there but this is a serious one! We were there in the summer and there was a constant influx of people who used the pool, evidentally paid a day fee. It was jammed with people swimming, or rather couples standing around drinking and making out. I could not find a lounge chair, even going up when the pool just opened. Hotel staff offered to drive me to another hotel!? Weird. Sun and alcohol, bar on roof too, not a good mix. People were noisy, drunk until all hours of the night and constantly using patron's elevator, mainly because there are only two.
Called Kimpton and got the cold shoulder routine, not even an apology. If you like this sort of stuff great, it's just that the hotel doesn't advertise this and you should be warned. Other than that, nice location near a Metra and as I said nice beds, too.

Room Tip: Perhaps there would be less elevator activity for you if you stayed on a lower floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowboatbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi rowboatbeauty,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

Gosh, this is the first I'm hearing about these issues. We are very familiar with the issue regarding locals accessing the pool area last summer. We have a plan in place to address this issue for the coming pool season. I agree, not the best atmosphere for our paying Hotel guests. We actually do not offer passes for purchase. I am very sorry that no one followed up with you from Kimpton. Might you be able to contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com?

Let me know,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I were planning on seeing a friend play at a nightclub in DC over the weekend and figured that it would probably be wiser to stay overnight rather than to drive home - St. Patrick's Day weekend and all. We are "locals" so we're not really well-versed in the hotels in the area. We've stayed at a Kimpton hotel before so after researching several we chose this one based on it's location and cost. Because my husband is tall (6'6"), he likes rooms with enough space to move around comfortably, so we booked the king premier room - well worth the extra cost (see picture of view!). The hotel - in general - was great. The staff was very helpful upon check-in; it was happy hour (free wine!) and because our hands were full, the employee offered to walk over and get us each a glass of wine! Our room was on the 8th floor and was amazing. The bathroom was great - and included a great soaking tub in addition to the shower (see other picture). The pocket door could have had a bit of an easier handle, but that's just a personal preference. The room was great. The bed was comfortable. The view was great. And we didn't hear a peep all night. Definitely worth the money and we will definitely try to find a reason to stay again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on the king premier room. It's large (especially for DC standards), it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBMKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi CBMKTM,

Thanks so much for your review.

What an awesome stay! I love the King Premier's myself, they have great views of Thomas Circle and a totally affordable upgrade.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I and another couple booked a four day stay in DC at the Donovan. The location of the hotel was well situated within walking distance from most major sites.

Initially the hotel's very modern furnishings reminded us of something from a Star Wars set with glass chairs in the lobby and the unusual spiral showers in our bedroom. It is novel for sure, but the chairs in our small bedroom were somewhat uncomfortable.

Our TV didn't work during the first night of our stay, so the front desk had a staff person come up within a few minutes to try and fix it. He spent about 60 minutes trying before I told him to forget it. In the morning I notified the front desk that our room was noisy due to traffic (4th floor), the TV still didn't work and that we had no cold water (very hot only) in the shower. The front desk staff was great. They didn't miss a beat, quickly apologized and immediately upgraded us to a suite on the 12th floor where everything worked and there was no noise from adjacent rooms or traffic.

Everyone from the hotel staff was very polite and pleasant and appeared to make every effort to exceed our expectations during the balance of our stay. Overall, we had a great experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay on upper floors to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi Travelingallover,

Thanks for your review.

Wow, so sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. Seems like the Front Desk team really responded well and tried to make things up to you. Still feel terrible that you had to experience the Hot Water issue, which was out of our control, but I do want to make it up to you. Please email me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com so we can chat more.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Donovan House for our recent trip to DC. The location was perfect walking distance from all the "must see sights". The rooms are small but thoughtfully designed with an eye towards aesthetics. The attached restaurant Zentan was quite good with great sushi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mengledow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Hi Mengledow,

Thanks for the review.

We do have a pretty primo location, glad you took advantage of it. As for room size, we do offer a very diverse selection of upgraded room categories and suites. Check them out for your next stay!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing