We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great discovery”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A colleague was staying at the Donovan House so I stayed there instead of my regular hotel and I plan to return. I arrived late and the staff at the front desk were very welcoming -- a real change from the typical late night check-in. The rooms are overly modern but it is a good layout and the bed was comfortable. All of the staff are friendly and ready to offer assistance throughout my stay. Breakfast was served on time and lunch at Zenten was fabulous. It is worth returning just for the meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi gmlny,

Thanks for reviewing my Hotel.

Let's face it, they don't call it the graveyard shift for nothing. More often than not, you'll find zombies working overnight in Hotels. I am proud (and relieved) to say this is not the case at Donovan House. The team working overnight is awesome. They pride themselves on having quality interactions with folks that come and go on their shift. Glad you ran into them and didn't have to run away from them.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    478
    166
    49
    27
See reviews for
262
521
85
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

As a loyal "Kimpton-ite" I have to say this was a disaster from the start. A room so poorly lit we had to use our cell phone flashlight apps to see the clock buttons, housekeeping which regularly didn't show up until we called the front desk well after 4:00 in the afternoon, elevators so slow we used the stairs every time (thank God we were on the second floor!), tv didn't work properly, no safe (they brought one from another room, which did nothing to help us feel they were securely fastened), ran out of coffee leaving my husband waiting for 15 min while they "refilled" the pots. They never returned and the, by this time ensemble amassed, walked to the nearest Starbucks! A rooftop bar and pool, which considering the hot, humid weather would have been wonderful.....BUT they were both over crowded and dirty. Pool water was actually murky and green colored.....YUCK! My husband summed it up pretty well. He said if this was his first ever stay with Kimpton, it would also be his last.

However, on a positive note (yes, there is one) the location was good and the front desk staff, bell staff, restaurant wait people, etc., were all super helpful and typical Kimpton good employees. I think they were really trying to make lemonade out of well.....you know.... These cheerful people are the ONLY reason they got a "poor" rating instead of bad, bad, bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneS910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi there SusanneS910,

Thanks so much for your review.

Yikes, seems like we really blew it. After reading your comments, I too was disappointed and can understand how you feel. Being a 9-year Kimpton Employee, I care deeply about my guests and their experiences at my Hotel. I like to believe that all of my staff feels the same way and I plan on sharing your feedback with them. Hopefully we can make things right for the next guest. If you have time, could you reach out to me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com?

I hope we can connect soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family and I stayed there for a week and enjoyed the stay. At first the room was not ready a 3 as promised but the staff quickly took care of the problem. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The only issue I had was the slow elevators that the staff and customers both use but that was minor. The staff was incredible professional and they could teach other hotels how to run a business. I would not hesitate taking my family there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi drayh,

Thanks for reviewing my Hotel.

You know what, problems happen in our business. What separates the men from the boys (or dogs from the cats), is how we handle the problems. Seems like the team here did a great job. Loved this so much I just shared with my entire Hotel.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed one night at the Donovan House and had a fabulous time. They are conveniently located at 14th and L, on Thomas Circle. Very modern and hip boutique hotel. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lovely suite since we are Kimpton Intouch members. Great walking location or Metro. Front desk staff are great and very good service. Wine hour from 5-6 is fabulous, and they make sure your glass is never empty! Although it is quite a walk, we went to the National Mall to see the parade and fireworks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanU57586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for reviewing my Hotel JanU57586.

Glass half full......or always full! Our Manager's Evening Hosted Reception is pretty cool. As you know, being a Kimpton InTouch Member pays.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

There are many hotels in the area and we have stayed at them all. It's only the Donovan House that feels like you are "coming home". What a friendly yet professional crew they have there. We were able to check in early and even received an upgrade. Wow! We had a beautiful end room/suite with fantastic views from the floor to ceiling windows. We went to the rooftop to check out the scenery and to sip a Pimm's Cup from the bar. We love the contemporary style of the Donovan House and the great location. Kimpton hotels are phenomenal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi SPKinVA,

Thanks for reviewing my Hotel.

Wow, seems like a great stay. You had so many positive and cool things to highlight in your review. I wanted to especially thank you for giving a shout out to my staff. They really do care.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed one night for a quick getaway and loved it! We were late checking into our room because of a traffic jam, but the staff made us forget all the stress. :) When we arrived, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room with a gorgeous view of Thomas Circle, and the lady at the front desk gave us two vouchers for free drinks at the rooftop bar. It sounds like a small thing, but it was so thoughtful and just what we needed. The room was beautiful, the room and furniture were gorgeous, and the rooftop bar has amazing views. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenB643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Hi Ellen B,

Thanks so much for your review.

Great stay. Sounds like you ended up with a view in one of our King Premier Rooms. They're my personal favorite.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Donovan house is a smaller unique hotel right in the middle of the D.C. Area. It was busy upon checking in, the room was beautiful dead center on Thomas circle. At first the service seemed to be a little stretched with the amount of guests arriving, but when I went down to talk to John at the front desk, he went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. These guys know how to treat their guests. Really enjoyed it, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Hi DZ123,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor Review.

A Hotel is nothing without people that care. I feel confident that all of my staff does. Glad you experienced this.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Loews Madison Hotel
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing