We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great rooftop pool and pool bar. Very nice contemporary rooms. Great location. Good restaurants near by, Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks in walking distance. Clean rooms, clean hotel. We encountered a small problem with our stay and the management bent over backwards for us. We will definitely return. This hotel values customer service. We heard some negative things about the room service food. We can assure you it is outstanding. Peeking chicken, Miso soup, edamame, and sea bass were outstanding. Can't say enough how nice nagging by the pool bar was.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and it was fine. However I imagine the 14th floor may be noisy with peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougbrit2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi dougbrit2222,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor Review.

Seems like a great stay highlighted by awesome service. Who told you our In-Room Dining was no good? Child please...it's great!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

So most of us know how swanky and mod this hotel is. The rooms are great, hotel service is good, etc. - but what you might be surprised to learn is that there is a gorgeous rooftop bar that's open to guests and non guests. There's a pool, 2 bars and plenty of places to lounge and overlook the city. Sadly the only downfall during our visit was the poor service at one of the bars. The bar was not overly busy and yet we waited an extremely long time for our drinks and one of our friends was not even acknowledged as he attempted to order a drink. He was repeatedly overlooked and no one even addressed with him a simple "I'll be with you in one moment." He felt ignored. It's a shame that this soured our experience there. It really is a beautiful place to visit and I would normally rate this hotel higher - but it all boils down to service.

Room Tip: Visit the rooftop bar and pool for cocktails!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank See_Chris_jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi See_Chris_jetset,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like you really enjoyed the experience, but unfortunately the service at the rooftop bar was a let down. Care to share a little bit more with me via email at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com? Hope to hear from you.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here one Saturday evening with family and friends. The hotel is a Kimpton and they have found their groove with this property. It is not a big hotel. The location is conveniently situated on Thomas Circle in downtown DC (14th & Mass)....within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, sites, and metro stations.

The staff was very engaging, welcoming and focused; from the doorman, to the valet parking attendant, to the front desk and to the housekeeping person who helped us out with a roll-away. If you have a dog and want/need to bring them along....do it! The staff and hotel is very welcoming to your pet and they offer dog beds and bowls for your room. We had room 809 which is right on the edge of the building overlooking Thomas Circle....very helpful for your dog's walks and needs. Get as high up as you can so you can benefit from the view.

The hotel offers a 50% parking discount if you come and park a hybrid vehicle!! That's a $22.50 savings....not bad. The roof top pool is just for guests during the day and at night is open to the pubic for drinks and fun, but not swimming. The view from the roof is a very good north view so don't expect to see the traditional DC monuments but it is a big panorama and a pleasant one.

Our rate was very reasonable, roughly $200.......good by DC standards especially given the location.

So, if you are looking for a smaller, nicely located, and friendly hotel, give the Donovan House a try. You should be pleased......especially if you are bringing a furry friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi CGCx,

Thanks so much for your review.

L O V E'd the details in your review. Great stuff. After reading your comments, I imagine you will be back soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great stay, great staff, and great atmosphere! Wine reception in lobby was very nice and staff was able to point out some great restaurants where we ended up eating and having a great dinner. Pool was empty when we checked in and were able to have snacks and drinks.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi Bob S,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor Review.

Sounds like a perfect stay. I hope to have you and the family back soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We got this hotel through a good deal on hotwire. It was a great location for us and a great hotel. Kevin at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. A friend of mine and I were doing a spa day and shopping with our daughters for their graduation/off to college trip. there were hair dyers int he room and all but one time, when we asked for ice it came in minutes - one time it took longer and I called the front desk and I could tell they were not happy about the delay and got it taken care of right away. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was great! The only negative is that parking is outrageous at 45 per day. Also, they don't have many rooms with two double beds - they accomodated us, which was great but the second floor is a bit noisy inthe am since it is used for meetings but it's not terrible, I would just try to get a higher floor nect time. Other than that, I woudl stay there again.

Room Tip: HIghest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaYa4_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi YaYa4_VA,

Thanks for your review.

Seems like Kevin really left an impression. How couldn't he? Tall, friendly, funny, caring......did I mention we're fans of Kevin too? Appreciate the note about parking as well. It can be pricey, space is just so limited in a Downtown Area.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have to start that the staff does its best to help the guest feel welcome in such a deplorable corporate hotel. Attractive amenities, such as the roof top pool, are not open to guests if an outside patron has rented out the whole rooftop. This was the case during our whole stay talking with other well paying guests of the hotel. To top it off, no maid service, unless requested, and the most basic amenities such as a bathroom fan and a towel hook, are not any where to be seen. I have stayed at many hotels around the world and I will never stay at a this corporate hotel again, this is by far the worst in service for the money. But again, the staff does its best to hide the poor service that this chain offers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi Anou,

Thanks so much for your review.

I am so sorry that you've had such a disappointing stay. Can we maybe touch base at some point? I feel terrible and hope to make it up to you.

Looking forward to it.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'm not sure where all these rave reviews came from but they couldn't be further from the truth. First impression was the lobby was tiny, dark , dingy with no ambience at all. After arriving at the Hotel at 11am there were no rooms ready for us yet so we grabbed some lunch across the street and the receptionist told us she'd call when room was ready, NO ONE called and we arrived back at Hotel @ 130 and room was ready! Room was ok, nothing to rave about. The shower pod may look cool but is tiny and because there is no door my legs were freezing every time I showered, a draft was blowing in. We had a King bed which consisted of 4 baby size flat pancake useless pillows....everything about this place screamed "CHEAP". We went up to Rooftop Pool Bar to have a cocktail and it was smaller than a backyard pool, so annoying & unless you get there when it first opens there are no seats. This is where I met a lady and chatted with her about Donovan House & she went on to tell me she bid on Priceline for her room and payed for 3 nights what we paid for 1 which was over $220! As you can imagine, I was extremely annoyed. But it became clear as to the types of people that were staying there. We will never stay here again & definitely wouldn't recommend it. Back to the FABULOUS "W" Hotel we go, we should never have tried this place, it's a weekend we will never get back and not even the customer service or lack of could make a difference. Don't even get me started on the "continental breakfast" just don't do it, don't stay here. Go to the W Hotel, it's amazing, everything about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ausgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi augirl75,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review.

Sorry to hear about your experience being so poor, especially considering the 1-Star review we received. Check in time is set at 3PM, but someone still should have contacted you when the room was ready. All of our room products are up to Kimpton standard, but I do appreciate your comments. Lastly, just to speak to our rate structure, a longer length of stay at times can generate a more favorable rate. However, our rates never drop as low as described in your review. It might be possible that the guest you spoke with was sharing the room with someone else?

I appreciate the comments.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £132 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing