We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pictures look better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #34 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The pictures look better...”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in August, so the city wouldn't be as crowded considering we got every year for the Fourth of July. Walking in, the lobby is small and dark. We requested an early check in, and got there at 12 pm. They said to check back with them at 1pm. The room ended up being ready at 2pm. The hallway was small and dark, and the room was extremely small. There was no ice bucket in the room so you had to request it to the front desk. This also meant we would have to tip the employee who delivered the icebucket, which wouldn't be necessary if there was an ice machine on one of the floors. The people at the front desk said that the hotel was spy themed, but you can't see it as I thought everything was just black and white and colorless. We happened to have a fish tank in the room, and the water was dirty and the fish haven't been fed. We asked the front desk for some fish food and cleaner water, but no one ever arrived. Also, we heard about the complimentary public bike the hotel had, and planed to ride it to the White House. Turns out, they only had one bike available for the whole hotel. The pool on the roof was freezing, even though it was 90 degrees outside. Also, we went out to the city and came back at 1 pm and the room wasn't even cleaned! There wasn't even a desk in the room... This was by far over priced and the worst Kimpton hotel we have ever visited. We are also Kimpton in touch members, who book Kimpton hotels often. I would advise you to stay at the Kimpton hotel polomar at DuPont circle. The best hotel I have ever seen!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi Katya I,

Thanks for your review.

I am so sorry your stay went so painfully, ouch. Check-in time is guaranteed at 3PM, but I see we could only get you in at 2PM after you arrived. As for the ice-machines, we are coming up with a solution for the coming year that will hopefully remedy this issue. I do appreciate all the feedback and will do our best to learn from it.

Please contact me if you have a moment to discuss. Would love to chat more.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    475
    165
    49
    27
See reviews for
259
518
84
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights during a trip to NYC and DC. After the bustle of NYC it was great to stay at Donovan House and relax. The rooms are beautiful, very modern and cool. The service is great - the staff really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The hotel does a free wine and snacks hour which is a great way to socialize with fellow travelers. The rooftop pool is great - nice beds also. Really good value place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joostvanhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi joostvanhout,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like overall a great stay. I appreciate you highlighting the staff. They do go out of their way for our guests. #genuinecare

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I decided to take a chance and go with the "Express Deals" on http://Priceline.com, i will almost always do this from now on. I was able to get the The Donovan House for $101/per night. I couldn't have been happier with the service and location. Harold Harold Han, the assistant front-end manager was excellent. He upgraded my room and add a nice bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberry (it was an anniversary). The location was only a couple of blocks from the White House and everything else was easy to get to. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEscalante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi AlexEscalante1,

Thank for your review.

WOW, what a deal! Nice job grabbing it while it lasts, typically our rates are much higher. Couldn't agree with you more about Harald, he's great.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

What can I say?!? Kimpton just keeps on raising the bar! This is now my favourite Kimpton experience. The service is amazing, very attentive and friendly. First hotel staff to remember my name.

The room reminds me of our home. Chic furniture and white walls. We like the bed, shell-like shower, tub. Pool is small but still swimmable. For wine hour, there are whites, reds, and sake. Nice touch with a recycling bin in the room.

Great location. Walkable to the Mall and good restaurants. View of Thomas Circle is desirable.

A special thanks to Agent Cleopatra for making our stay memorable! You are the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi Gifu,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review.

Agent Cleopatra is one of our Top Secret Agents. She does a great job keeping our guests on mission.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My girlfriends and I chose the Donovan House for a staycation Bachelorette weekend. It had everything we wanted - fun rooms, a pool and a restaurant that would accommodate a party/dinner. We spent the day at the rooftop pool (it gets REALLY busy on nice days, so get there early during prime season). It was rainy in the morning, so we scored a coveted cabana spot. We had some snafus with our room reservation (which is why this review doesn't get 5 stars), but the floor manager was able to correct it after the front desk employees fumbled through a non-explanation as to why our room wasn't ready at 5pm...

The real highlight to our trip was the accommodating staff at Zentan. I organized a dinner in one of their "birdcage" rooms (a circular table partitioned off by curtains) and our waiter was absolutely fantastic. The service was perfect and the food was delicious (we talked about the tofu appetizer for days afterward). After dinner, the staff cleared all of our gifts and party items away to our rooms and we went out. Great, fun stay and perfect for what we were looking for!

(Ps - if you ask, they'll have a goldfish bowl sent to your room)

Room Tip: There are some rooms that face an apartment building courtyard - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Kate G,

Thanks for the review.

Sounds like a great staycation. Sorry for the confusion with check in. Sounds like the team in Zentan did their part and made up for it.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overall, this hotel is very fru fru -- meaning the staff are very focused on looking cool, often at the sacrifice of basic service elements of a hotel.

Examples include:
1) the worst pool bartender known to man. He offered nothing and knew nothing. Between is texting people he'd look up to do his job occasionally. This guy was more focused on his cool pool job than providing service.

2) the pool upstairs was full of chair hogs. Good luck finding a chair.

3) hungry? Not gonna eat at this hotel during the day on weekends??? We ordered jimmy johns for lunch. Bartender said he didn't know if room service was open..... No offer to check for us, which it wasn't.

4) room. Very modern, but clean. Also waited until 3pm for a room. Ridiculous, given our friends we checked in with had a room immediately???

I think Kimpton could stand to send their Quality folks to this hotel to check standards. Good location, but way to hung on themselves...

To be objective, it probably is Ok for most - but we just don't do fru fru.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi bryan5150,

Thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear about your experience at the Rooftop Bar. We're never to cool, to be uncool. I'll speak with the staff up there. Regarding the pool, we don't have a hard policy on when people have to get our of their chairs. It's very popular up there, so I understand if it's hard to find a seat. Lastly, check in time is guaranteed for 3PM. Seems like your friends may have had the good luck of a few available rooms prior to 3PM.

Appreciate it again,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
368 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Spent one night here and got a great rate bidding on Priceline for $92. Always an added bonus when being a Kimpton In-Touch Member gets you free internet and a $10 credit on the mini-bar. Valet was $40 but convenient.

Room was small, but comfortable and swank. Good location for walking to many attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Did not get up to the rooftop bar. They had a complimentary wine hour in the lobby for happy hour. I would be happy to get this hotel again on Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi relayer,

Thanks for your review.

Great deal and a great stay. You've got to jump on those specials as they don't come often.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing