We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #33 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway?”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Looking for a D.C. hotel for a weekend getaway? I recommend that you try out the Donovan House.

The Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel, is a great choice for first time D.C. travelers. Maintaing the high standards of the Kimpton Chain, this hotel goes above expectations.

I've actually had the opportunity to stay at the Donovan House twice.

Most recently, I've been there to see the cherry blossoms in all their glory.

The rooms are very modern and sleek. Our room had a wonderful view of the roundabout. The light came across our window perfectly in the late evening as well as kissed our foreheads when we awoke in the morning.

I recommend asking for a room on a higher floor so you can see more of the square/roundabout.

The roof top bar is very chic and worth a visit. If weather permits, I suggest sharing a few drinks with a friend or lover while watching the sun set.

Unfortunately, I've never had the chance to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. I hear that it's very good and highly recommended.

So, if you're looking for a chic hotel at a reasonable price, I suggest checking into the Donovan House.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a great view of the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsettingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for the great comments and we are glad you were able to see the Cherry Blossoms! Next you come back, please try our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    475
    165
    49
    27
See reviews for
259
518
84
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I would have to say overall the hotel is quite nice. My room was very clean and nicely appointed. There is a ridiculously large flat screen TV, 55" if that appeals to you. As a business traveler I don't think it was what I look for necessarily, as a hotel becomes your home away from home. A small, dark, crowded lobby is not welcoming or what I like to find after a long day at work. There is complimentary coffee in the mornings and wines, in the lobby, each day. That is a nice thing to have.

There is a beautiful rooftop area with a bar and some eating options. It is very trendy and happening. If you are in town on vacation it might be a really nice spot to stay. Front desk staff were generally very friendly. When I inquired about returning for multiple stays the individual helping me was not at all proactive, he should have simply given me the sales person's contact information, or put them in touch with me. When I had followed up in the evening, this same person was still working and had clearly done nothing to get me answers about staying in the coming weeks.

Here is one unusual observation, I saw one very tall man just about reaching the ceiling with his head in the elevator lobby. If you are much taller than 6 feet, you might find the ceilings low!

Room Tip: I have stayed at this hotel twice, the first time they put me on the second floor and my room smelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaw489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Andreaw489,

Thank you for your review!

I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

Please come back to visit us soon...

Cheers,

Elif H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I loved being greeted no matter the time by name everytime I entered the hotel, the staff asked how the stay was each and every time. The young gentlemen at guest services were great and gave that added touch. I loved the cocktail hour and selection. I am not one for heights, however the top floor which is where the pool is (pool closed seasonal) had a bar and lounge area with a great view of the local city sky. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family and infact we are already talking about booking our next trip with this hotel again. Great Staff, Great Price and overall amenities and location for the city were wonderful.

I enjoyed the warm welcome, the friendly staff, the complimentary cocktail hour. I enjoyed our room; it was not small at all in my opinion (other than needing more drawer space), the shower was very unique and bathtub keeps the water warm (beware).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Joshua S.

Thank you for your review!!!

We are so glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. It always makes us so proud to see great comments about our staff.Loving it!!!

Please come back and join us soon...

Elif H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Upon arriving to the Hotel I was met by Brittany who had a very nice smile on her face. I asked her if there were any upgrades I could have. She said that I was already upgraded to a little bit larger room but I went a little further and asked for the best upgrade telling her I'd be happy to pay for it. She said there was a huge corner room with great views and she'd check into how much more it would be. When she came back she said "We're going to upgrade you for free Mr. Dorman" I couldn't believe it, it's always a fight at most Hotels and usually they say no there are no upgrades available even though the hotel isn't even close to being full. It wasn't ten minutes that I was up in my room in AWE of the view and the sheer incredibleness of it, that Brittany knocked on my door and had a bottle of wine and a cheese plate in her hands. She handed them to me and proceeded to tell me how important I was as a guest here and this was for me?? Really, wow I will be coming back here for sure!! Best experience at a hotel so far. BTW- the room is great, huge TV, gorgeous views, centrally located in DC with a great shower and bath!!

Colby D

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbydorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Colby D.,

Thank you for your review.

Wow! What a great surprise you had. Brittany is awesome and always there to surprise and delight our guests. I am very glad to read that you had an overall great stay.


Please come back and join us in the future again.

Cheers,

Elif H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Room is big and really nice! Breakfast is great and was for free although we didnt book it (got vouchers when we arrived). Parking garage is very pricy (around 25$ per night), however this is average for the area.
Location is great, subway close, but white house etc. is in walking distance!

Room Tip: Room with street view (it is not too loud)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Chasi,

Greetings from Washington, D.C.

Thank your a great review!!

We hope to see you in the future as well....

Cheers,

Elif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed with friends here for 3 nights. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the rooms were clean, the location was great.

What lowers my review from very good to average is the following:

The shower had no pressure. It was a tiny rain shower flush with the ceiling which felt like a drizzle. It was impossible for us to wash our hair in this so we had to find a Blowdry bar nearby. The engineer told us that was the shower pressure throughout the hotel. Strike one.

Second was the absence of a service elevator. As a guest in a somewhat upscale hotel, I would not expect to ride the elevator with maintenance men pushing giant carts. This happened every day of my stay.

Lastly upon check in we were told the connecting rooms we were promised didn't exist in the formation we asked for. After discussion this miscommunication for at least 15 minutes they realized it did exist and we got our rooms.

This hotel has a lot of potential. If they could just address these issues it could be a great hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Laydz,

Thank you for your review!

I am so sorry to hear the troubles you experienced with during your stay. Unfortunaly we did have some challenges with our water pressure and I can only imagine how inconvenient it was for you. It is also dissapointing to hear that you were not honored with the requested room type at first.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. We would love to have you back with us.

Cheers,

Elif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We traveled to Washington last week with our children and the hotel was disappointing - the double room with queen size beds was very small - smaller than it looks on the photos - you almost got claustrophobic Could not recommend to stay on this hotel...except you want tiny room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KatrinOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
KatrinOlga,

Opps, sorry to hear that size of our double bed room was not comfortable for you. Most of the downtown city hotels have the similar type of layout due to the location, but of course it is not an excuse.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you.

Cheers,

Elif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing