We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice rooms in a great location. The gym is all that keeps it from 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has wonderful rooms that are large and well designed. The rooftop bar is a treat and very relaxing. Another great kimpton. The only downside is the gym which is small and could use better or more varied equipment. Clearly a hotel which I would stay in again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you back with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am a big fan of the Kimpton chain, but for me at least, sometimes it all gets to be a bit much. That's why I loved the Donovan House. It's minamalist, spare and cool, not at all garish as the other properties sometimes strike me. The rooms are spare, elegant and comfortable.

If you are a parent who relishes that moment when you are on business travel and you open a hotel room door to a clean room that isn't filled with the implements and detritus of child-rearing, this is the hotel for you. No clutter, nowhere.

The location is great, easily walkable for both most of the CBD and both DuPont Circle and the new 14th Street/U Street/Logan Circle nightlife district.

Didn't try the restaurant, but saw that it was well-reviewed by the Washington Post. The rooftop bar is cool.

Room Tip: Go higher to get separation from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redclayprodigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for rating us the best Kimpton in DC. We are so glad you enjoy the Hotel and location!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been unhappy with my recent Kimpton stays, but I tried this place as a last chance. Great rate, great room, really great staff. Grab the $1 breakfast deal if it's available -- a steal for the area. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a king and slept comfortably and diagonally. Had room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for allowing one more chance and we are thrilled we one you back to Kimpton. Please come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at the Donovan May 9-11. Brittany at the front desk was fantastic. Her level of service is why I stay at Kimpton Hotels. I did have reservation issues both days of my stay due to using an earned free night - but other than that glitch - the stay was superb! The hotel is swanky and have a fun decor. Great location.. Chris at the Zentain bar/restaurant was also great - they truly have an awesome staff here. Lou, our breakfast server was great also.

Overall another great Kimpton experience!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MattandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We will definitely celebrate Brittany, Chris, and Lou for you enjoying another great Kimpton experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here with my wife April 12-15 during Cherry Blossom Festival. Nice boutique hotel in downtown ~4 blocks from the White House. Location is great! Stayed in a king premier room which was quite spacious ~500 sf. Bed was firm but comfortable. Bathroom was modern and nice but the sink/vanity area was small and cramped. Was initially concerned about noise as we were facing Thomas Circle but room was very quiet! Did not get any significant traffic noise or even noise from adjacent rooms. Zentan restaurant - Asian fusion restaurant on lobby level was excellent. Has complimentary wine reception daily from 5-6 pm but we did not partake as we were out and about each day. Free wifi for Kimpton Intouch members (free to sign up). CVS pharmacy just across the street which was nice for any small items you need or forgot to bring. We walked everywhere - felt quite safe around this part of town. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Room was not ready at checkin which was slightly annoying but they made up for it with a complimentary late checkout. Got a great deal off Jetsetter.

Room Tip: King Premier rooms are spacious and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rho1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your visit during the Cherry Blossom Festival. We are happy you enjoyed the room and the restaurant as well. Come back again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel over the Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The rooms were very comfortable, modern (very neat "seashell" showers) and clean. Lobby had plenty of seating for the wine hours in the evenings which were a great chance to unwind at the end of the day and meet some new people. Staff were incredible (shout-out to Brittany), going above and beyond for us (helping co-locate rooms, included some "extras" for us after a couple things were missing). Looking forward to a return trip at the end of June and will definitely try to stay here any time I am in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdntraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are so glad you had a great weekend and enjoyed our wine hour. We very much look forward to your trip back in June!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

"Sunshine came softly a through my, a window today" - so sang Donovan* And so it did in my comfortable room in Donovan House, where I really enjoyed my stay on a business trip. There are lots of reviews here so my list of strong points , in no particular order, is:
1) Stylish, spacious room 2) Excellent work desk - lots of sockets and good wi-fi 3) Comfortable bed 4) Efficient quiet AC 5) Large wall mounted flatscreen TV 6) Full size iron and board 7) Evening drinks in lobby 8) Great location - easy walk to restaurants and down to White House.

There are some areas which could be improved on - the breakfast is OK but the selection is not extensive; the reception desk area is small and quickly overcrowded at check out; the shower is beautifully designed but water pressure is low.

However the plus points far outweigh the minor failings. Would definitely stay again when next in in DC.

*In case you are too young to know, Donovan is a Scottish born singer songwriter ; these are the opening lyrics of Sunshine Superman, which reached No.1 in USA back in '66 (when I was a child, I hasten to add).

Room Tip: Go high for a good view of the circle; and you get free wi-fi immediately if you sign up to the Kimp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonovanGM, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for your list of 8 items that inspired this posting. Truth be told, the Hotel was named after William Joseph Donovan or "Wild Bill" as he was known. He is best remembered for being head of the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) which was the precusor to the CIA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
548 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
2,196 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,171 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#93 of 142 in Washington DC
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £100 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing