We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #33 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“No attention to details”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I wanted to love the Donovan Hotel, I really did. I've always been attracted to the cool, hip decor of the Kimpton's boutique hotels from afar. And this past weekend, I decided to take the plunge.

The good: The location is phenomenal for easy access to everything in the city. There is a curbside valet. The lobby decor and room decor is cool. Nice view from room. Four USB ports and two desktop outlets, is a win. The rooftop pool has a spectacular city view. The cocoon shaped shower with rainfall spout. That's it.

The bad: No attention to details! The valets seemed to have a lot of trouble understanding the instructions, do not park my car. I was taking the keys with me as we were dropping our bags into our rooms and leaving within 10 minutes of check in. We were asked for our keys twice after making this statement. And again by two different people while walking back to our car to leave, after coming from our room.

Arriving in the room, we immediately began to inspect the digs. I have always been a fan of the fully stocked mini fridge. Although the rates for each item were ridiculous, I'd still prefer to have it as an option for those middle of the night cravings. I quickly discovered that I would not be using this fridge for my cravings as several of the soda cans and liquors were covered in some sticky substance. (perhaps a soda spilled by a previous resident) The hotel should be cleaning, if not replacing the contents of the fridge after each guest leaves.

On our first evening at the hotel (Saturday, May 24th/ Room 703), my son decided he would like to see the pool. It was late, as we'd just arrived back from dinner. I explained to my son that the pool closed at 7, but that I would let him view the pool from the closed door. We were a bit surprised when we arrived to the 14th floor and there was a bit of a party atmosphere. My intention was to let my son view the pool then return back to our room. There was a very rude manager working the rooftop who barked at my family and I "the rooftop is at capacity and you wouldn't be able to bring him up here anyway." The last time that I checked, hotels should give their guests the utmost respect and hospitality at all times. A better comment would have been "I'm sorry madame, but we've reached capacity for the evening function. I see that you have your child with you. Children are welcome to visit the pool from 10 am to 7 pm. We hope that you will return tomorrow" If proper hospitality cannot be given, then the person should not be working in the hospitality industry.

Sunday morning, an un-uniformed maid attempted to give our room service. We denied entry.

Later Sunday, after returning to our room, we noticed that our room had been serviced. All of our towels were removed and replaced... leaving us with no wash cloths. This is the first time that I have EVER had room service remove all washcloths from the room and not return with others.

We decided to try our luck again with the rooftop pool at approximately 5 p.m. This time, we did not have our child in tow. We arrived to see plenty of chairs/cabanas for relaxing. What we did not find were towels. I had to call the lobby, from the pool, in order to have additional towels brought. What I also saw appeared to be an abandoned mini bar area. Why would there not be a bartender to service the rooftop hotel pool? The final straw for the rooftop pool were a particular guests' children. While I was lounging poolside, three children arrived to the pool and decided to cannon ball repeatedly into the water. The first time, the parent sheepishly apologized. The tenth, Eleventh, and TWELTH times, the parent failed to acknowledge, so I moved away from the pool. Although the blame ultimately lies with the parent who was unwilling to control their children, the pool should definitely have a sign or rules posted that instruct guests not to "cannon ball" into the modest sized pool.

We did have several drinks at the rooftop bar/lounge. These were prepared well. The "hot plate" of Ramen Noodles, was delivered cold.

We went back to our rooms to order the room service and I was poisoned. The restaurant decided to put meat into a non-meat dish. I am a pescatarian and I continue to be sick from this negligence. (full review here: yelp.com/biz/zentan-rest…)

There were several other details that the hotel just missed the mark on. The sinks drain way too slowly, which is disgusting considering that they're a modern square flat shape. This means when brushing your teeth and spitting you can expect to see the residue for a good 5 minutes before it washes down.

The elevators are too tight/small (I wear a size 6 for reference, so I'm not very large) The space felt confining with 4 people sharing the elevator with one luggage bag each.

Overall, I would not choose to stay at this location again. There are too many areas in which the hotel is neglectful of its responsibilities to patrons.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laureniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Laureniam,

Thank you for your review.

We truly value your feedback as it allows us to improve our product and services. I would like to personally apologoize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your review is shared with our team to make sure that those kind of experiences are not happening in the future.

We are looking forward to having you back with us for more enjoyable stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    469
    164
    50
    27
See reviews for
257
515
84
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April 2014.
Advantages of staying at this hotel
-rooms are large,clean, comfortable and well designed
-the location is great, 10 minutes walk to the White House, 15 min to the Washington Monument and 30 min to Lincoln Memorial
- 20 min walk from the Union Station(if you came by train from NY)
-free WiFi for Kimpton In touch members
We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Corner king executive rooms have great views facing Thomas Circle Visit Washington in April (before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anivasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Anivasy,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and pointing out all the great locations that are in a walking distance from us. I also love all the beautiful pictures you have posted on tripadvisor.

We are so looking forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of those modern, beautiful boutique hotels, and it has a beautiful rooftop bar (amazing views), hipster lounge, and perfect location. The pool is really only for looking at, so don't expect to go swimming here. It's also a great location with several top restaurants within walking distance. Rooms are a little small with no bathtub, but that's what I expect at an urban boutique hotel. My only complaint was that the elevators were horribly slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for a great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We got bumped from a sister hotel in DC on a trip for my birthday and honeymoon. It was really disappointing but the Donovan House turned that all around. After being bumped to a double room, they upgraded our room the second night to an amazing junior suite with soaking tub, great view, provided a sweet card, champagne and dessert. This turned it all around and I would recommend them for special occasions as well as your other visits to DC.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeAnOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Congratulations on your wedding. We are so happy to turn the negative experience to positive one. We hope to see you back for your anniversary celebrations....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Before I arrived I received an email from the manager confirming my request for a room on a high floor with two beds away from the elevator. When I got to the hotel the room I was first given hit two out of three -- a king bed! Called the desk and they immediately took care of the problem and gave me two coupons for breakfast! The room was nicely appointed - my daughter especially liked the translucent "cocoon" showers that come into the room. The roof deck pool is a great spot for coffee in the morning or a drink at night.

While we do prefer the Kimptons nearer to Dupont (in order: the Palomar and Madera) this was a nice change.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hotel during your most recent visit to Washington, D.C. area. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival; thrilled to hear that it was resolved to your satisfaction. We can't wait to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was smallish, but still more than adequate, with enjoyable modern decor, a very comfortable bed, and a clean, recently-updated bathroom. Good value for this area of D.C. Parking is pricey - nearby lots are more reasonable if you're willing to do a little searching and walk. The fitness center is small, but I mostly had it to myself in the early morning and I was able to do a basic workout and cardio.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel during your visit to Washington, D.C. area. We are looking forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has wonderful rooms that are large and well designed. The rooftop bar is a treat and very relaxing. Another great kimpton. The only downside is the gym which is small and could use better or more varied equipment. Clearly a hotel which I would stay in again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elif H, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you back with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing